Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 18-Year rum

Flor de Caña 18-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 18-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed neat or on a rock, with a peel of orange.

7.4/10 (413 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
9
10
48
114
160
49
15

Rate Flor de Caña 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


413 Flor de Caña 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Bryan Sprang from Denmark with 21 ratings

Great depths in colors with an oaky / spicy after burn! Enjoy neat and maximize your rum experience!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 31 ratings

Admittedly a little disappointed in this one. Not bad once it opens up for about 15min but, with all of the other choices available, I just don’t find myself reaching for this bottle very often.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jay Waikiki from United States with 1 rating

The nose isn’t too harsh & after 2 sips notes of toffee, caramel & silky finish never disappoints. Would have it in a daquiri or even a mai tai but preferred is probably neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

Compared 18 yr vs 12 yr. Both smell extremely similar, the 12 tastes a touch bit sweeter and is slightly more rough, the 18 tastes a little bit more buttery and slightly more smooth but they are very close. I like the 18 better than the 12. I like diplomatico exclusiva better than both.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Davejohn from Canada with 31 ratings

I have been a fan of Flor de Cana for many years, however I had not previously tried their well aged products.
The presentation is very refined; the bottle is impressive, but not over stated, and the label is relatively simple, yet it provides all of the required information.
The pour is pretty much as it appears in the bottle, having a deep amber tone.
The nose is quite mellow and is not over powered by alcohol.
There was nothing particularly wrong with the first taste, it was just a bit disappointing because of the limited flavor palette. I sensed only molasses and oak.
The swallow left a light, lingering alcohol burn in the back of the throat.

Having read that this rum should be allowed to sit for 5 minutes and swirled in the interim, I did so.
This made no difference to the nose, however there did seem to be a mild increase in the flavour expression.
Overall this rum is smooth enough and easy to drink, however the limited flavour palette was a real disappointment. Given how good the less mature Flor de Cana rums are I was expecting more. At this point I think that I will be sticking with Gran Reserve 7 as the premium Flor de Cana in my liquor cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

Supersoft on the tongue, week taste of walnuts, leaves you dissatisfied, maybe next time..

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 159 ratings

OK but nothing special! Nose and afterburn is nothing to write home about but taste is OK mostly because it’s not as sweet as many Spanish styled “Ron”,

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Dino from Canada with 2 ratings

One of the best rums I've ever had in all my travels.. planning a trip to Nicaragua just to be closer to this amazing rum

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Dieter from Netherlands with 7 ratings

For me, a wonderful experience, i love this rum, what a smooth and wel balanced rum, still not difficult to drink, great rum, i love it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by C. F. from United States with 29 ratings

Exceptionally average rum for me. A little sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Matje from Netherlands with 23 ratings

Een 7,5 is precies juist voor mij. Ik heb nog de oude fles en deze is al jaren niet meer aangeraakt. Vandaag weer geprobeerd, erg lekker kruidig maar zoals vaker genoemd mag de alcohol eerst wat vervliegen voor de smaak het best tot z’n recht komt.