Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 18-Year rum

A sugar-free 18-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed neat or on a rock, with a peel of orange.

Rate Flor de Caña 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


388 Flor de Caña 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Bon rapport qualité prix, il est très doux. Un note de vanille et de chêne, le tout caramélisé. Par rapport au 12 et 7 ans, est qu’ il le prix? Pour les vrais connaisseurs oui, sinon le 12 fait l affaire.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Reddew from United States with 53 ratings

But I kept trying it and it got better. It sat on the shelf a few months, but it grew on me. I don't know if I will buy another bottle though...

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mathias Rönnblom from Sweden with 3 ratings

A bit of sweetness and too much alcohol was my first impression. Followed by.. Nothing. Aftertaste non existant.

Posted almost 5 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

Eye

Dark Brown, Amber, Golden

Nose
Kind of sweet (not so much as other rums), Smooth (can't smell any alcohol), woody, some honey, vanilla, chocolate, fruits.

Taste
so smooth, bit of sweet at the begin, bit bitter ending, definitive wood, vanilla, spicy, unctuous, dense, matted, delicious.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

Very nice indeed; easy to drink neat.
smells of smoke and oak but balanced nicely.
Relatively inexpensive for an 18 year old.
If they had this in Ontario; I would drink it all the time.
But since I had to travel to Quebec to get it; it will probably be brought out just for special occasions.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Flor de Caña Centenario 18 års er lidt skarp i smagen.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

...but not my kind of rum. Cannot really put my finger on it... Perhaps I should give this rum one more chance..?

Posted about 5 years ago by Ben Mitchell from Australia with 18 ratings

Delicate and smooth, a crime to drink any way but neat. Please savour!

Posted about 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

To much smokey dry oak and alcohol taste. Not that sweet and short finnish as the flavours disappears to fast.

Posted about 5 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

Je m'attendais a beaucoup mieux avec un 18 ans, peu de longueur en bouche.
le final est mieux que sur le 12 ans, mais quand même trop sec et "raide" pour moi.

Posted about 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

superb rum really nice balanced nice and smooth rum

Posted about 5 years ago by Benjamin from France with 12 ratings

Repéré par les récompenses du festival de miami. Grosse déception. Robuste, même trop à mon goût. Les saveurs ont du mal à s'exprimer face a la force de l'alcool. Je n'en reprendrais pas.

Posted about 5 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

Smooth, highly aromatic, great for sipping. At the same time, its marketing is either almost invisible or just non-existent. Kind of a shy brand. You have to guess by yourself what does it stand for.

Posted about 5 years ago by Lanier from Belgium with 11 ratings

A very nice rum, but not so much different that the 12 years.
It has a soft, smokey oak, dry taste.
A little deeper, richer and more complex than 12 years.
A must have for my collection.

Posted about 5 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

smooth. Good wood and light flavor with a hint of caramel finishing spicy and semi-"hot".

Posted over 5 years ago by rgauthier from United States with 4 ratings

A good rum for a modest price. I'm a big fan of the Flor de Cana family and this one does not disappoint. Great flavors and easy to sip.

Posted over 5 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Herkomst: Nicaragua
Abv: 40%
Fles: 25cl tube
Aroma:karamel, bloemen,.tabak
Smaak: zacht, droog,.zoetig tabak, karamel
Nasmaak: droog. karamel, kruiden.

Wel een lekker rummetje, maar niet veel beter dan de 12 jaar.

Posted over 5 years ago by Orion from United States with 19 ratings

Beautiful golden color. It is very oaky with minimal sweetness. Not much afterburn. Short finish as the flVor disappears quickly from the mouth. I personally like rums with a little more sweetness. Not a bad rum but not on my upper tier and I am glad it was a present.

Posted over 5 years ago by Phil Miller from United States with 4 ratings

Well balanced scents of oak and molasses. A pleasure to sip straight up.

Posted over 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

If you liked the 12 don't bother getting this. It is drier and not as well balanced. It is smooth and not as sweet rum, you get strong taste of smokey oak flavours.

Ifyou're a whisky lover starting to have an interest in rum then this is a rum you will like. Actually the whole range of this brand is a slow and steady graduation into the world of rum. It is not a bad bench mark either really.

Posted over 5 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

Obviously even better then the 12yrs old one, more depth,even less afterburn,rich aromas. Sadly is quite pricey but its woth every cent

Posted over 5 years ago by murf from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

i was expecting great things from this but it just didn't do it for me. I haven't given up on it yet though....

Posted over 5 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

Nose: Not much
Feel: Smooth. Almost no burn
Taste: Really dry and oaky. I'm really enjoying finding this after going though some overly sweat duds. Subtle flavours on the back end too. Rind and molasses but not too strong.
Presentation: I have it in the new bottle which I like much more than the old one.
Cost: 37USD duty free.

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

Medium dry sipper, smooth with a very slight burn.

Posted over 5 years ago by Bryan Sprang from Denmark with 21 ratings

Great depths in colors with an oaky / spicy after burn! Enjoy neat and maximize your rum experience!