Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 18-Year rum

A sugar-free 18-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed neat or on a rock, with a peel of orange.

Rate Flor de Caña 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


388 Flor de Caña 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Bon rapport qualité prix, il est très doux. Un note de vanille et de chêne, le tout caramélisé. Par rapport au 12 et 7 ans, est qu’ il le prix? Pour les vrais connaisseurs oui, sinon le 12 fait l affaire.

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott from United States with 38 ratings

Very sweet at first..smooth at the end..but strong alcohol taste...the 12 is much better

Posted over 3 years ago by Peete from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

Libila se mi lahev, barva, docela solidni recenze, proste velka ocekavani. Realita nic moc vune, nastesti se casem a teplem trochu lepsi, chut malinko stiplava, nevyvazena, neni to spatny rum ale uz se k nemu nevratim.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mr. Rum Guy from United States with 23 ratings

Nice bottle and presentation. I drink the 18 over ice. It's not my fav but i don't mind spending up for what i love. I don't love spirits i have to mix stuff with. The 18 is in white oak and i honestly prefer bourbon barrels. I really like the 25 vs the 18. Anyhow a good sipper.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bigc65 from United States with 1 rating

I'm on my third bottle since I've moved to Costa Rica a month ago. This is a great rum to sip with a cigar it is not a 10 merely due to comparison to it's 25 year counterpart. It is not as smooth as the 25 but not as spicy as the 12th. It has a very Carmalee taste with a very nice finish. For the price it is very difficult to beat.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Unai from Spain with 45 ratings

Un ron que a pesar de que me guste mucho se me hace quizás algo fuerte.

Posted almost 4 years ago by jim from United States with 31 ratings

This rum was well liked by several in our group. But I must confess it was not my favorite of all we have tried in the last 6 months. There is not much left in the bottle, so proof enough it was enjoyed.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Laurent Folichon from Belgium with 37 ratings

EN BOUCHE
Ce rhum est riche d'arômes, complexe, sec et corsé avec des notes de chocolat noir, de caramel, de noix grillées et d’épices.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marco from Netherlands with 45 ratings

A rum that has it all. Dark brown in colour, A nice scent, sweet, wood and all come together really well. A smooth and well balanced rum wich every rum lover must have tried at least once in his live. Trust me,, go out and buy a bottle!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jonas from Denmark with 10 ratings

This is a fairly good rum. You can drink it without a problem and its get better if you let it breath 10-15 min. before you drink it.

Posted about 4 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

C est un bon rhum sucre avec des notes de tabac de cuir sur un fond vanille.mais pour moi il manque de puissance et un peu plus de complexite.un bon rapport qualite prix toutefois.pour 36 e il vaut le coup.note 7.9.

Posted about 4 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

But not the greatness I was hoping for. Is a little rougher than expected for an 18 year old Rum.

Posted about 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Un rom mai simplu dar aromat. Fara pretentii in gama de pret in care se incadreaza corect. Ar putea fi o alegere buna pentru incepatori. On the rocks sau mix.

Posted about 4 years ago by Derek from Canada with 12 ratings

For an 18 year old rum, I was expecting more. I like my rum neat, and well... although I have just got into my first bottle... it is not something I'm going goo goo for. It's is ok out of the gate... goes down with a bit too much burn for it's age and doesn't finish all that well... for my liking. Don't get me wrong, I'm not going to give it away... but when it's done, I won't be rushing out to get stocked up. I'll be fair, give it time and change my review if it grows on me. For now, a solid 6.

Posted about 4 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

Make no mistake, this is an excellent rum but rarely do I find an 18 year old rum that I don't prefer as a sipper or just with an ice cube. Flor de Cana 18 year old rum is not a solera method and that makes it distinctive. It's a beautiful golden color. It is dry and not sweet. It leans a little toward the bourbon side, just a little. For this reason and a very strong alcohol aroma I couldn't enjoy this as a sipper. I mixed it with a bit of seltzer water and a couple of ice cubes. Then I found it delicious. The oak is the distinctive taste with vanilla also present. The flavors are not strong. It has very subtle flavors. This maybe because I mixed it but drinking it neat all I could taste was oak and smell strong alcohol. I did try letting it sit and breath. To be clear, I really did enjoy drinking this but only after watering it down a bit. I think there are better rums for $50 BUT if somebody gave me a bottle of Flor de Cana as a gift, I would receive it enthusiastically.

Posted about 4 years ago by DonDanD from Switzerland with 69 ratings

..........................................................................

Posted about 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Very nice color. Mild nose with sweet essence. Very smooth taste with very little burn and nice soft finish. Very enjoyable - I would definitely buy this again.

Posted about 4 years ago by Andreas Hedin from Sweden with 9 ratings

En helt okej rom som är ganska stark om man inte har i en isbit

Posted about 4 years ago by Luc from Canada with 8 ratings

Un bon rhum sur glace. Je l'essayerais peut-être avec du Perrier

Posted about 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Well, it's been left too long to mature in the barrel shifting the whole balance of flavour to a disappointing level.
It's interesting, a complex dry flavors and a very interesting length.

Posted about 4 years ago by Sean Kerby from United States with 1 rating

Tasted side by side with an independent release of a single-cask from the same distillery bottled cask-strength with no additives. 18 year distillery release is watered back to 40% abv, obviously colored with caramel and likely sweetened. Juice is disjointed with the alcohol not well-integrated and a linear, slightly spicy profile with a short finish. You get what you pay for I guess. Blackadder bottling by contrast was complex and well integrated despite its 60+% abv. Shows that the distillery can make good rum, but the 18 year old I can barely give away.

Posted about 4 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

A great rum has a flavour that A: agrees with your palate and B: isn't found in any other rum. FdC 18 (and it's little brother the FdC 7) has that quintessential delicate warm nutty-butterscotch-caramel FdC undertone which I've always loved. I could easily pick it out of any line up while blindfolded. If you are a fan of the FdC 7, you'll definitely like this one (The FdC 12 is a different beast with a different flavour profile). It's dissapointing to me how many reviewers here favour some heavily sugared rums over a more honest, more adult drink like FdC 18, but to each his own, I guess. A final note: yes, the FdC 25 is slightly better but it is also almost 3x (!) as expensive. So this is the one that's always on my shelve.

Posted about 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Flor de Cana are interesting rums in the fact they get worse the older they are. The extra dry is amazing for a white rum being super smooth and well bodied. Now something interesting happens as flor ages. It becomes harsher and more abusive to your pallet. Why or how I don't know but this rum isn't that good. There is nothing really eventful about it. Straight it shows to be just another one of those super dry oakey earthy rums that scolds your tongue with heat. In diet coke it is pretty good, it's not a bad rum per say it's just well not worth the price. If you enjoy this taste try Kirk and Sweeney, Mount Gay or any of the Ron Abuelo's. Those share similar tastes but exceed fdc-18. So final verdict is flor de Cana bad? No not really, but it's kind of generic earthy taste with a high price tag so if you're in the market for something exotic and different tasting this isn't your bottle.

Posted about 4 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Beaucoup d'arôme, très bon rhum à boire sur glace. :)

Posted about 4 years ago by andrea from Italy with 17 ratings

ottimo rum con spiccati sentori di legno e caramello che però no da quella sensazione di zucchero percepita in altri rum tipo lo zacapa