Posting your rating...
Flor de Cana 18-Year rum

Flor de Caña 18-Year Centenario Gold Rum is produced in Chichigalpa, Nicaragua. The rum is crafted using column stills and is then aged for 18 years.

The 18-year variety is the oldest rum produced by Flor de Caña, a brand owned by Grupo Pellas and founded in 1890 Francisco Alfredo Pellas. A 5th generatino Pellas family member still runs the company today.

Rate Flor de Cana 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


388 Flor de Cana 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Bon rapport qualité prix, il est très doux. Un note de vanille et de chêne, le tout caramélisé. Par rapport au 12 et 7 ans, est qu’ il le prix? Pour les vrais connaisseurs oui, sinon le 12 fait l affaire.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tony from Canada with 22 ratings

I've gone through more than a few cases of the 12 yr, finding it to be a great social rum. Tried the 18 on several occasions and still have a bottle in the (home) cabinet. Strangely enough, I've always found the 12 year to be slightly smoother than the 18, but to each his own.

Posted over 3 years ago by Thor Grønbæk from Denmark with 24 ratings

Tja - det er en rom - men det er ikke Whau oplevelsen der kommer springende ud af flasken. Dufter fint men smagen er nok en "smagssag"

Posted over 3 years ago by Alex from United States with 2 ratings

It's not a bad rum but I would put it more in the $30 price range than the $55-60. It has a sizable bite for 18 years of age. Strong caramel aftertaste, most other flavors and the entire nose is lost to the alcohol smell.

I would say, "age it for another few years" but I'm unwilling to spend the outrageous sum of $125 to try it with 25 years on it!

Posted over 3 years ago by Martino from Belgium with 61 ratings

Bouche riche, sèche et corsée avec des notes de chocolat noir, de caramel, de noix grillées et d’épices. Un final long avec des saveurs de chêne, de vanille et de noix.

Posted over 3 years ago by Patrick from Switzerland with 24 ratings

In my collection, the description follows later. I have to taste it again (but I know, that it is a great rum).

Posted over 3 years ago by Dennis from Canada with 5 ratings

try this room. of you like amber rums this one will impress you. smooth from start to finish. excellent value. worth every penny

Posted over 3 years ago by Maik22 from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Chuť ostřejší čokolády. Příjemná lehká vůně a barva.

Posted over 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Un corps léger, un peu trop pour le prix à mon avis, mais demeure très agréable.

A light body, a little too much for the price in my opinion, but still very nice.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ole Gerkensmeyer from Germany with 13 ratings

Very smooth taste, rounded and well balanced, small boots of tobacco and citrus fruits

Posted over 3 years ago by Miguel from Uruguay with 40 ratings

Un 18 años que mantiene una excelente relación calidad/precio. Muy buena textura, coloración caramelo intenso, sabor y aroma sumamente agradable. Recomendable opción para ocasiones especiales.

Posted over 3 years ago by Hans Erik from Denmark with 56 ratings

En ganske god Rom men den mangler noget sødme har ellers en dejlig eftersmag

Posted over 3 years ago by inupiko from France with 15 ratings

On sent trop l'alcool ça attaque le nez. Néanmoins parfumé et convenable pour boir au quotidien. Encore un très bon rhum pour les loups de mers.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ludo Marley from Netherlands with 41 ratings

Het merk Flor de Cana heft een reputatie hoog te houden met haar producten, kwaliteit is iets wat men verwacht van het merk en met deze 18 Year Old editie wordt niemand, misschien de concurrentie, teleur gesteld.

Een donkere en rijke rum met mooie rode tinten erdoorheen en een prettig aroma van leer en rook vullen de kamer bij opening. Subtiele hints van nootmuskaat, piment en hazelnoot zijn subliem gemixt in de karamelachtige smaak, een waar meesterwerk wat betreft uitbalancering van de ingrediënten.

De smaak is vrij droog met een duidelijke aanwezigheid van het eikenhout met hier en daar een vleugje van kruiden en karamel. De afdronk is glad en blijft niet te lang hangen, zoals ze dat in het Engels mooi zeggen heeft deze rum een “clean exit”.

Geschiedenis
In het oosten van Guatemala, 751ft boven de zeespiegel, ligt het stadje Zacapa.

Opgericht in 1876 als een bruisende spoorweg stopt, de bevolking werd al snel gezelschap gehouden van reizigers uit de hele wereld, nagelaten erfenissen zijn nog steeds te zien in de lokale familienamen.

In 1976, bereikte de stad zijn honderdjarig bestaan. Om deze historische gebeurtenis te vieren, Guatemala’s premier-rum producerende bedrijf besloot om iets speciaals te produceren. Bij het benutten van deskundige kennis die is opgedaan gedurende vele jaren, werd een unieke rum geproduceerd: Ron Zacapa Centenario.

Posted over 3 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Tasted. Drag racer. Fast kick on start and fast in way down. Could be sipped all night long until tomorrow. Nice rum mollase but strong taste. More fruity taste with nuts and nutmeg with rather strong rum alcohol taste.

Posted over 3 years ago by Remi from France with 39 ratings

Souvenirs du Nicaragua. Excellente bouteille. Dommage qu'elle soit vide

Posted over 3 years ago by Mikoomi from Switzerland with 2 ratings

the colour is goldy.. the flavour will keep in your mouth and you have a taste of fruits

Posted over 3 years ago by vvv from Czech Republic with 22 ratings

Definiltly not a sweet rum.. even stornger taste of wood than 12yo. version.

Posted over 3 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Lovely colour in the glass , i can detect natural sweetness with vanilla , caramel and definite oak in the balance. Its a dry rum that needs to breath for a while to dissipate the alcohol vapours but then it reveals itself as a true 18 yr with (hopefully) no added extras. I enjoyed the 12 yr and am enjoying this with an ice cube. Will give the 25 yr a go next. Also good value down here at the bottom of the world !

Posted over 3 years ago by Christopher Church from Canada with 4 ratings

I like having a glass of this on ice Friday after work with a nice cigar. This is my go to rum and it never disappoints.

Posted over 3 years ago by Edward Martens from Canada with 30 ratings

A nice amber colour. Less sweet than its relatives the Flor de Cana 5 an 7. First and prominent flavour of Carmel, molasses and strong oak. I enjoyed sipping this with my sons at a recent special occasion and will have to get another for the cabinet.
Best enjoyed neat

Posted over 3 years ago by Patrick from Canada with 30 ratings

4 once,One ice cube... Let it stand 5-10 minutes...the taste is very rich. no after bite.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Es un con gran sabor a maderas, medianamente dulce. Buen ron para tomarlo en ocasiones especiales.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

this one i love. good price and very good rum. dry rum.
all the things you can image of (dry molasses) rum is in here. fruity notes, caramel (hint of), vanilla (hint of), a light body for easy moments (thats great). smooth. mild. long aftertaste. wooden elements in the back. great stuff!

Posted over 3 years ago by Markus from Finland with 13 ratings

Haastava paketti joka kuitenkin alkaa maistua paremmalta, kun rauhassa maistelee. Annan toisen mahdollisuuden.