Posting your rating...
El Pasador de Oro XO rum

Les Bienheureux El Pasador de Oro XO is a made from a combination of Guatemalan rums, which are aged anywhere from 6 to 15 years in oak barrels. Additional aging takes place in France in Cognac casks.

Rate El Pasador de Oro XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


95 El Pasador de Oro XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

According to various internet sources this is a blend of various Guatemalan rums aged anywhere from 6 to 15 years in oak barrels then are aged some more (cannot determine the time frame) in Cognac casks in France.

An interesting backstory.

However not much information given on the rather plain label.

Let's continue...

The hue of the rum is a rich dark amber...a brownish amber. Dark caramel perhaps. It has a very appealing odor (again, my weak point since I am unable to distinguish odors well...I just say it's a nice odor or not).

Nice legs as I swirl it in my snifter.

The flavor is quite intriguing. Definitely a smooth sipping rum. A little oiliness causes it to stick to the tongue well allowing the flavors to settle. It has some pepperiness to it but does not have much of a tannin bitterness although the oak notes are clearly present albeit subtle. A nice caramel and vanilla undertones. No real burn. Instead there is a nice warmth that builds for a bit in the back of the throat and then fades ever so slowly. If the info I found is true and the rum is finished in France in Cognac casks then I understand why it has this subtle sweetness that almost borders on sugaring but plausibly isn't.

Clearly a sipping rum with a nice complexity to it. Excellent rum for the price IF you can find it.

Posted about 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I tried this side by side with the El Pasador de Ora Gran Reserva, and it was surprisingly close. But I give that one the edge, as it was a tad smoother and tastier. If price matters to you, get this one, because it's close to the Gran Reserva. Otherwise, get that one.

Smells and tastes of a sweet caramel, spice, oak, and tobacco. Like the Gran Reserva, this one too is just shy of a '9' to me.

Posted over 2 years ago by RubZ from Canada with 11 ratings

Smooth, tasty, colorful, beautiful, this Rum make you just want one more all the time. My personal favorite

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Well over 2,500 aged dark rums enjoyed and El Pasador de Oro XO was such a massive positive surprise and what a value! Bought it from the local Total Wine for $38 and it rivals the Diplomatico price-quality ratio. El Pasador de Oro XO is very smooth, no burn at all and contains plenty of exciting flavors and with a price tag of less than $40, it is also an amazing value.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 8
10/100 Color of this rum 8
15/100 Nose test 11
20/100 Palate test 17
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 15
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 15
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 89

Posted about 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: Estimated 16 gpl. A smooth but uncomplicated rum that makes for an easy sipping experience. Oak, vanilla, caramel are all present and accounted for in this blend and are very well balanced. I detect some orange peel and perhaps some baking spice and a bit of nuttiness. No big explosion of taste, but a nice long warmth that has no harsh edge to it. This rum is aged in Cognac casks and that explains the orange and spice flavours. To me this rum is a cross between a Plantation and a very light Zacapa rum. I like it and it's a good value. With a bit more complexity it would be rated in the 9 range. If you see it, I recommend you pick up a bottle. You will be happy with it.

Posted about 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 38 ratings

The nose was sweet, the body was thin and wasn't full.. it was to smooth, like that of lil to no after taste, disappearing like a scotch into the back of the throat. For the price of $33 it was right and better then most at the price range.. I can't figure out the flavors even when I continued to clear my pallet.. I will pair it with different items to see what flavors I can pull out.. it's sweet though.

Update: I revisited this after tasting Cartavio XO and getting my Glencairn glasses. It's Eve better, smooth as can be. Definitely deserves a purchase and a try, more than once.

Posted about 3 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

A very similar class of Rum to Papa's Pilar or Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva. On the sweeter end of the spectrum but very good in its complexity.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

un rhum complexe veilli en fut de cognac. assemblage entre 8 et 15 ans lui donne un gout de canelle, de fruits exotiques et boisé. vraiment excellent et près a défier les rhum prestigieux.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

This rum is not available in my country. I bought this and some other rum by online shopping from France.
I'm glad I bought this rum !
It is very smooth, and moderato sweetness, and has midium body. Their balance is just right.
I recommend try this rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

Among the best i’ve tried so far. Beatiful brown wooden color and spicy aroma, i like that is not sweet like many other Guatemalan rums, this one is truly fantastic, highly recomended!

Posted over 1 year ago by George from United States with 13 ratings

Lovely (including elegant bottle and packaging) smooth elixir with a not-so-faint distinct cognac bouquet, palate and finish. Still, maintains the engaging complexity that makes rums from Central America so distinct from most Caribbean styles. A treat made for enjoying slowly. Worth the tab.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joe from United States with 37 ratings

Different in every way than the Grand Reserve. Bigger, bolder, darker, dryer, complex(er), better(er).

Posted over 1 year ago by Michael David from United States with 10 ratings

Similar to Zacapa Xo, but at 1/3 of the price. The best bargain rum!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 24 ratings

Very enjoyable for the low cost of under $40. Better than a lot of other rums that are more expensive. It's hard to peg a better value than this one right here!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ryan from Canada with 21 ratings

The box and bottle have a certain presence to them that add to the experience unlike the plantation rums I have had, save maybe the XO. I taste a nice blend of vanilla and oak. It tastes juuust sweet enough, but not artificially so. The flavour comes right away and is very direct yet not harsh. The flavour melts more quickly than you would want it to just to give rise to a gradual build of the burn. Right before the finish would become harsh, it starts to fade, leaving the faint memory of the flavour behind. Quite pleasant despite my general distaste for oak flavour.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

This is up there with kirk and sweeney 18 and 23 as far as bang for the buck. Maybe not as smooth but very balanced. The 23 borders on being over aged and oaked. El pasador is perfectly sweet. I'm not a fan of dry rum like seale's. To me a rum should have some sweetness. Some go a little over board with this such as diplomatico and el dorado. This hits the "sweet" spot.

Posted over 2 years ago by BigMarcus from United States with 8 ratings

Not only is this RUM incredibly delicious! It is ultra smooth. Beautiful in color and presentation (bottle). But why it deserves a 10 is the price point!!! I dare you to find ANY RUM as smooth, tasty, and refined under $40??? Sure there are worthy contenders. But none that are as overall palatable as this fine gem from Guatemala! I have about 10 absolute favorites and this is in my Top 5 easily! It is not as complex as say Don Pancho 18yr Reserva Especial or my absolute favorite: Plantation XO 20, but again, for the money, there is none better!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 131 ratings

An exceptionally smooth and aromatic XO rum finished in ex-Cognac casks. Similar to Plantation 20th , this is a wonderful sipping rum and will be on my top shelf.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Smooth, very sweet, sugar added for sure. Slight marmalade taste also a hint of cola flavor. Nose seems like there is some young rum in the blend. Interesting and a solid choice for many but no longer a favorite of mine like it used to be.

Posted about 3 years ago by Cubanismo from United States with 1 rating

Incredible value ( $36 in Texas ) very fine sipper !...nose; Soft dark Caramel , tropical ripe fruits , very soft wood and light whisper of licorice...palate; delicious very yummy ripe peaches, honey comb, sweet mango a touch of tart , mild but pure vanilla oak to round off flavors in mid palate , Finish ; very velvety with ripe apricot and a pinch of fresh grated cinnamon....aftertaste has a touch of sweet sautéed orange zests ..., and very light anis ....delicious at room temperature ( 75-80 F) , even better if let sit a little in glass , no mix, no water , no ice !

Posted about 3 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Paid $36.99 at Total Wine in DE. Has a sweet nose and deep amber color. You can taste the finishing of this rum in cognac casks. Very smooth and sweet, very little burn. A nice dessert rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

Superbe rhum dans sa finition en fut de cognac, long en bouche très suave avec un final riche et puissant. Un rapport qualité prix imbattable...

Posted 3 days ago by Edwwa from Lithuania with 23 ratings

All "Pasadors" are great sippers. Recommend for all

Posted 4 days ago by JosephCharles from Canada with 6 ratings

Au nez, parfum de fruits, de chêne brûlé, de chocolat et de vanille.
En bouche, sucré, fruits mûrs intenses, caramel, chocolat, vanille et un peu de bois brûlé.
La finale est d’une belle longueur.