Posting your rating...
El Pasador de Oro XO rum

El Pasador de Oro XO

France | Aged

Les Bienheureux El Pasador de Oro XO is a made from a combination of Guatemalan rums, which are aged anywhere from 6 to 15 years in oak barrels. Additional aging takes place in France in Cognac casks.

8.4/10 (97 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
7
41
32
12

Rate El Pasador de Oro XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


97 El Pasador de Oro XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

5127a0a071c06ed74d1eb5b42bc8b847.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Xavier from France with 6 ratings

Un de mes rhums préférés. Beaucoup de finesse. De légères notes boisées et vanillées avec une belle longueur en bouche. Un excellent rapport qualité / prix

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

According to various internet sources this is a blend of various Guatemalan rums aged anywhere from 6 to 15 years in oak barrels then are aged some more (cannot determine the time frame) in Cognac casks in France.

An interesting backstory.

However not much information given on the rather plain label.

Let's continue...

The hue of the rum is a rich dark amber...a brownish amber. Dark caramel perhaps. It has a very appealing odor (again, my weak point since I am unable to distinguish odors well...I just say it's a nice odor or not).

Nice legs as I swirl it in my snifter.

The flavor is quite intriguing. Definitely a smooth sipping rum. A little oiliness causes it to stick to the tongue well allowing the flavors to settle. It has some pepperiness to it but does not have much of a tannin bitterness although the oak notes are clearly present albeit subtle. A nice caramel and vanilla undertones. No real burn. Instead there is a nice warmth that builds for a bit in the back of the throat and then fades ever so slowly. If the info I found is true and the rum is finished in France in Cognac casks then I understand why it has this subtle sweetness that almost borders on sugaring but plausibly isn't.

Clearly a sipping rum with a nice complexity to it. Excellent rum for the price IF you can find it.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 436 ratings

I tried this side by side with the El Pasador de Ora Gran Reserva, and it was surprisingly close. But I give that one the edge, as it was a tad smoother and tastier. If price matters to you, get this one, because it's close to the Gran Reserva. Otherwise, get that one.

Smells and tastes of a sweet caramel, spice, oak, and tobacco. Like the Gran Reserva, this one too is just shy of a '9' to me.

71c030a13380a20f0b6aa426b50a1489.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by RubZ from Canada with 11 ratings

Smooth, tasty, colorful, beautiful, this Rum make you just want one more all the time. My personal favorite

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

Well over 2,500 aged dark rums enjoyed and El Pasador de Oro XO was such a massive positive surprise and what a value! Bought it from the local Total Wine for $38 and it rivals the Diplomatico price-quality ratio. El Pasador de Oro XO is very smooth, no burn at all and contains plenty of exciting flavors and with a price tag of less than $40, it is also an amazing value.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 8
10/100 Color of this rum 8
15/100 Nose test 11
20/100 Palate test 17
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 15
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 15
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 89

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: Estimated 16 gpl. A smooth but uncomplicated rum that makes for an easy sipping experience. Oak, vanilla, caramel are all present and accounted for in this blend and are very well balanced. I detect some orange peel and perhaps some baking spice and a bit of nuttiness. No big explosion of taste, but a nice long warmth that has no harsh edge to it. This rum is aged in Cognac casks and that explains the orange and spice flavours. To me this rum is a cross between a Plantation and a very light Zacapa rum. I like it and it's a good value. With a bit more complexity it would be rated in the 9 range. If you see it, I recommend you pick up a bottle. You will be happy with it.

F4f90824a2e528fa6afd495a4a5d29b3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 37 ratings

The nose was sweet, the body was thin and wasn't full.. it was to smooth, like that of lil to no after taste, disappearing like a scotch into the back of the throat. For the price of $33 it was right and better then most at the price range.. I can't figure out the flavors even when I continued to clear my pallet.. I will pair it with different items to see what flavors I can pull out.. it's sweet though.

Update: I revisited this after tasting Cartavio XO and getting my Glencairn glasses. It's Eve better, smooth as can be. Definitely deserves a purchase and a try, more than once.

2a6e206ea8029f2e08e56101c107573e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

A very similar class of Rum to Papa's Pilar or Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva. On the sweeter end of the spectrum but very good in its complexity.

7fc810d1c7dd138a8cd0a91b7ecabb96.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 187 ratings

un rhum complexe veilli en fut de cognac. assemblage entre 8 et 15 ans lui donne un gout de canelle, de fruits exotiques et boisé. vraiment excellent et près a défier les rhum prestigieux.

15aa70c944d2c9469e99a18b7214e3e3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

Vůně skořice, mušk. Oříšek, kakao, rozinky, chuť pomeranč marmelada, karamel, vanilka, skorice, tabak very good

26d873495a654ecaf0da9fb6ca6db7ca.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

This rum is not available in my country. I bought this and some other rum by online shopping from France.
I'm glad I bought this rum !
It is very smooth, and moderato sweetness, and has midium body. Their balance is just right.
I recommend try this rum.