Posting your rating...
El Pasador de Oro XO rum

El Pasador de Oro XO

France | Aged

Les Bienheureux El Pasador de Oro XO is a made from a combination of Guatemalan rums, which are aged anywhere from 6 to 15 years in oak barrels. Additional aging takes place in France in Cognac casks.

8.2/10 (126 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
13
52
43
12

Rate El Pasador de Oro XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

126 El Pasador de Oro XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

According to various internet sources this is a blend of various Guatemalan rums aged anywhere from 6 to 15 years in oak barrels then are aged some more (cannot determine the time frame) in Cognac casks in France.

An interesting backstory.

However not much information given on the rather plain label.

Let's continue...

The hue of the rum is a rich dark amber...a brownish amber. Dark caramel perhaps. It has a very appealing odor (again, my weak point since I am unable to distinguish odors well...I just say it's a nice odor or not).

Nice legs as I swirl it in my snifter.

The flavor is quite intriguing. Definitely a smooth sipping rum. A little oiliness causes it to stick to the tongue well allowing the flavors to settle. It has some pepperiness to it but does not have much of a tannin bitterness although the oak notes are clearly present albeit subtle. A nice caramel and vanilla undertones. No real burn. Instead there is a nice warmth that builds for a bit in the back of the throat and then fades ever so slowly. If the info I found is true and the rum is finished in France in Cognac casks then I understand why it has this subtle sweetness that almost borders on sugaring but plausibly isn't.

Clearly a sipping rum with a nice complexity to it. Excellent rum for the price IF you can find it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Smooth, very sweet, sugar added for sure. Slight marmalade taste also a hint of cola flavor. Nose seems like there is some young rum in the blend. Interesting and a solid choice for many but no longer a favorite of mine like it used to be.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Cubanismo from United States with 1 rating

Incredible value ( $36 in Texas ) very fine sipper !...nose; Soft dark Caramel , tropical ripe fruits , very soft wood and light whisper of licorice...palate; delicious very yummy ripe peaches, honey comb, sweet mango a touch of tart , mild but pure vanilla oak to round off flavors in mid palate , Finish ; very velvety with ripe apricot and a pinch of fresh grated cinnamon....aftertaste has a touch of sweet sautéed orange zests ..., and very light anis ....delicious at room temperature ( 75-80 F) , even better if let sit a little in glass , no mix, no water , no ice !

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

Paid $36.99 at Total Wine in DE. Has a sweet nose and deep amber color. You can taste the finishing of this rum in cognac casks. Very smooth and sweet, very little burn. A nice dessert rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

Superbe rhum dans sa finition en fut de cognac, long en bouche très suave avec un final riche et puissant. Un rapport qualité prix imbattable...

Small 3136f450 fba0 49d6 b236 49db4cd74120

Posted 11 days ago by RumGuy1 from United States with 41 ratings

Great value. The taste is extraordinary over an ice cube. Reminds me of a caramel apple with toffee notes. I didnt enjoy it neat.

Ffffff

Posted 12 days ago by Jojorhum from Canada with 3 ratings

Ce rhum est doux avec des saveurs d’agrume, ce qui en fait un liquide rafraîchissant. Il est bon mais est très peu complexe. Il ne faut pas mettre de glaçon dans votre verre, car il perd le peu de complexité qu’il a.
En bouche, je dirai que je perçois du butter scotch. Il est bien équilibré. La finale est belle mais peu persistante. Ce n’est pas un défaut, ça donne envie d’en reprendre vite :) Ce rhum serait parfait pour quelqu’un qui souhaite s’initier au monde du rhum tout en essayant un produit de qualité. Il faut souligner la beauté de la bouteille et de la boîte (ça fait glamour le bouchon en bois et les écritures dorées sur fond blanc). Présentation très sobre ! Bravo !

Small 2020 05 01

Posted 2 months ago by m keating from United States with 33 ratings

I admit to being partially biased to sweet Rums, and this is one. But only just. Maybe butterscotch or carmel. Yes, oak but so mellow. And so smooth, aged in French cognac casks. Warm finish that maybe does not last quite long enough. Love the thick bottomed bottle, hate the lable. This Rum tied for me with another of my favorites, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva. Not that they are the same but both are my go-to for a quiet sip, ice or not, both are my best affordables so far.

Small alien 200 200

Posted 2 months ago by Richard from Sweden with 72 ratings

Sweet with a spicy yet fruity taste, strong notes of plums. Kinda like drinking plum marmalade which just feels wrong

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jura from Czech Republic with 28 ratings

New recommendation from friend. Very good XO alternative to standard brands

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 3 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 90 ratings

Barcelo Imperial and El Pasador de Oro XO.
They are approximately the same price.
After quick introduction of both we had preferred Barcelo.
El Pasador is a bit weird on the nose and does not feel XO enough. Barcelo, indeed, is more solid, more man's stuff, classic dominican style.
At the end of the night 75% of Barcelo (score 8) and 20% of EP (score 7) are gone.