Posting your rating...
El Pasador de Oro XO rum

El Pasador de Oro XO

France | Aged

Les Bienheureux El Pasador de Oro XO is a made from a combination of Guatemalan rums, which are aged anywhere from 6 to 15 years in oak barrels. Additional aging takes place in France in Cognac casks.

8.2/10 (126 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
13
52
43
12

Rate El Pasador de Oro XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

126 El Pasador de Oro XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

According to various internet sources this is a blend of various Guatemalan rums aged anywhere from 6 to 15 years in oak barrels then are aged some more (cannot determine the time frame) in Cognac casks in France.

An interesting backstory.

However not much information given on the rather plain label.

Let's continue...

The hue of the rum is a rich dark amber...a brownish amber. Dark caramel perhaps. It has a very appealing odor (again, my weak point since I am unable to distinguish odors well...I just say it's a nice odor or not).

Nice legs as I swirl it in my snifter.

The flavor is quite intriguing. Definitely a smooth sipping rum. A little oiliness causes it to stick to the tongue well allowing the flavors to settle. It has some pepperiness to it but does not have much of a tannin bitterness although the oak notes are clearly present albeit subtle. A nice caramel and vanilla undertones. No real burn. Instead there is a nice warmth that builds for a bit in the back of the throat and then fades ever so slowly. If the info I found is true and the rum is finished in France in Cognac casks then I understand why it has this subtle sweetness that almost borders on sugaring but plausibly isn't.

Clearly a sipping rum with a nice complexity to it. Excellent rum for the price IF you can find it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Gerome from United States with 40 ratings

The nose was sweet, the body was thin and wasn't full.. it was to smooth, like that of lil to no after taste, disappearing like a scotch into the back of the throat. For the price of $33 it was right and better then most at the price range.. I can't figure out the flavors even when I continued to clear my pallet.. I will pair it with different items to see what flavors I can pull out.. it's sweet though.

Update: I revisited this after tasting Cartavio XO and getting my Glencairn glasses. It's Eve better, smooth as can be. Definitely deserves a purchase and a try, more than once.

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by Jannino from United States with 25 ratings

Hints of chocolate and caramel on the nose and palette. Smooth

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by davevr from United States with 4 ratings

A great drink for shipping. Wonderful full flavor. And so mellow! Really love it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Bezdyk from Russian Federation with 1 rating

Perhaps when I try a rum from a more expensive price category, I will change my attitude to this rum, but so far it is the best.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by louis12 from Canada with 2 ratings

You can taste the différent style of rum inside and the french ending! I love it!!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by pgrace (PREMIUM) from United States with 32 ratings

This one is full of butterscotch.
Both on the nose and on the pallet.

Nice light oily texture

Smooth with the slightest heat on the finish.
Lingering taste of vanilla cream and a bit of candy corn.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Titomm from Canada with 64 ratings

Excellent rum, just a little "thinner" than the gran reserva. Complex, peppery/oaky still sweet. A great sipper and good price/quality ratio. I would strongly recommend it. Nice long warm finish.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 4 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 237 ratings

Nothing wrong with this one had several bottles from TW and will have another. Smooth well aged rum medium depth and linger, some sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Caverns from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

I picked this up as I was passing through Calgary airport.
I really like the bottle and label design. Pouring from this bottle made me feel far more sophisticated than I actually am.
Quite an intense alcohol burn to the nose when you first sniff from the glass, but once it's had a chance to breathe, it's a joy to drink.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Vůně skořice, mušk. Oříšek, kakao, rozinky, chuť pomeranč marmelada, karamel, vanilka, skorice, tabak very good