Posting your rating...
Angostura 1787 15-Year rum

Angostura 1787 15-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

7.5/10 (45 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
1
4
7
18
9
2

Rate Angostura 1787 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


45 Angostura 1787 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

07cd014d917dd09a8565d0abb027e4b6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 days ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 17 ratings

Der Angostura 1787 ist eine Melasse Blend welcher mindestens 15 Jahre in Eichenfässern gelagert wird. Er soll aus reinen Premium Jahrgängen bestehen. Der Rum hat 40% Alkohol und es ist wohl auch Zucker beigefügt. Der Mahagoni farbende Rum kommt in einer schicken Flasche und Verpackung hat jedoch einen untypischen Schraubverschluss.

Im Glas gibt der Rum schnell intensive Fassnoten frei, welche auch ohne die Nase direkt in das Glas zu halten, gut und deutlich wahrnehmbar sind. Es ist klar, das es kein Rum ist der sich versteckt. Es sind auch süße Karamel und Vanille Noten wahrnehmbar. Bein Trinken wird zuerst die Vanille deutlich. Mit einer guten Portion Süße. Es folgt eine fruchtige Note. Kandierte Äpfel. Holznoten begleiten die Kompositionen. Im Abgang bleibt die fruchtige Note mit karamelligen Anteil, welche durch Eichenholz Noten eingefangen wird. Die Holznote bleibt durchaus präsent. Der Rum ist Ausdrucksstark und Komplex, gleichzetig aber fast schon überladen mit schweren Noten welche drohen sich gegenseitig zu erdrücken. Ein Drahtseilakt für den Rum und den Genießer.

Ist der Angostura 1787 ein Premium Rum? Ich denke schon. Für ca. 65Euro gibt er einen komplexen Ablauf von Aromen welche gut harmonieren. Er hat einen sehr vollen Körper und die vanillige Süße ist nur etwas zu dominant. Andere Premium Rums sind hier durchaus eleganter und filigraner. Ich finde es aber gelungen. Es ist ein Rum der aufdringlich ist. Nicht für jeden, nicht für zwischendurch und auch nicht für Einsteiger. Ich persönlich mag und genieße den Rum als anspruchsvolle Ergänzung zu meinen eher trockenen Rums. Der Angostura 1787 ist die logische Weiterentwicklung des 1824. Geschmacklich einer meiner persönlichen Favoriten.

The Angostura 1787 is a molasses blend which is stored in oak barrels for at least 15 years. It should consist of pure premium vintages. The rum has 40% alcohol and it is probably also sugar attached. The mahogany-coloured rum comes in a chic bottle and packaging, however, has an atypical screw cap.

In the glass, the rum quickly releases intense barrel notes, which are easily and clearly perceptible even without holding the nose directly into the glass. It is clear that it is not a rum that hides. There are also sweet caramel and vanilla notes perceptible. While drinking first the vanilla becomes clear. With a good portion of sweetness. A fruity note follows. Canwed apples. Wood notes accompany the compositions. In the finish remains the fruity note with caramelized portion, which is captured by oak notes. The wood note remains quite present. The rum is expressive and complex, like- but almost overloaded with heavy notes that threaten to crush each other. A tightrope act for the rum and the connoisseur.

Is the Angostura 1787 a premium rum? I think so. For approx. 65Euro it gives a complex process of aromas that harmonize well. He has a very full body and the vanilla sweetness is just a little too dominant. Other premium rums are quite more elegant and delicate. But I think it has succeeded. It is a rum that is intrusive. Not for everyone, not for in between and not for beginners. Personally, I like and enjoy the rum as a sophisticated addition to my rather dry rums. The Angostura 1787 is the logical evolution of the 1824. One of my personal favorites.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

When I try a new bottle of Angostura, I'm always a bit exited, cause I feel there's big variety in taste among there labels. The 1787 is no different, with a unique profile in the range.
The nose surprises me, and the first thing that comes to my mind is Caroni. It has full, sweet notes of butterscotch, candied, baked banana and vanilla, but also an unmistakable note of that deep, tarry and oaky petroleum. The composition is very inviting and mouth watering. In the mouth the rum feels balanced and opens sweet with toffee, banana and dried prunes, going into oaky and slightly petroleum like caroni notes, but not in a overpowering way. Overall it's a sweet rum, that could perhaps have been more exiting with less sugar and slightly more %alc., but that's probably mood dependent, and I still enjoy this one quite a bit actually (8,5).

2cfa456c0ac2666124f76da5376a6a26.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

Angostura is broad in the way that they produce its Rums, with big viarity you can find round and smoth products and some more dry oaky. This is long fiinish with some oak in it.

0de57ac21f333116cebc3485bb67d97a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 152 ratings

I don’t think that I have tested a rum with a taste comparable with this one before. I’m not sure what it is, maybe grapefruit or citrus. Anyway the Angostura has made it again. The 1787 is on their No 1 level.
I have now also tested the new No 1 (Ed3) and I must say it’s not coming up to the same level as the earlier No 1’s and the 1787.
Picture: My Angostura shelf

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2643 ratings

Angostura 1787 claims to be a 15 year old rum, but unfortunately there are easily three dozen better 15 year old rums out there. In isolation the Angostura 1787 is not a bad rum at all, but far from great also. The 1787 is much better than the 1919 or 1824 rums from Angostura, but after well over 300 aged rums later, I'm not a big fan of the Angostura family of rums. 1787 barely scores a five for me, so it is way over rated rum in my opinion.

72b8bf1bd105d48a743ed2c3ab1763df.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

it is trying to be like classic rum, you can feel the oak sly, with karmel a bit, toffee, vanilla, cherry, long alcohol finish, also you will be hited by spice, paper or tabaco, or its just heavy oak :) do not recommend for beginners, even not worth to try for that price

Febc690377bdff2d008717815ae93350.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Ole Christian Rønning from Norway with 9 ratings

This was a new experience. The first thought, when putting the glass under my nose, was pitch pine. Then some dried fruit and oak. Taste is a bit strong, smokey and spicey, but smoother in the aftertaste, and it lasts for a long time.

F95a2a3d0be7e5b12e6c1c5628a336c3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by hrh from Bulgaria with 20 ratings

Darker color and distinguishable presence. Smooth all the time yet specific one. Caramel flavour in in the body. Gets smoother in the aftertaste.

A1fe2aa8ab593703e4f33edb37c79fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Initial nutmeg that leads you into tropical fruit farm filled with ripe fruits, soothing and comfort aroma of maple, liquorice, banana and passionfruit rising from the glass. Thought a tad of nasty brown sugar in the middle but still pleasant. Peach-ed marsala tea. (86/20)

P- Spices, toasty with coat of bitter sweet toffee. Floral and fruit nuances linger with canned fruits, apricot and peach of that sorts. Wee thin on body, a bit stingy as this supposed their very top range. (86/20)

F- Short-medium, remain waxy, buttery with mouthwatering spicy oak. Short of width, drowned with dilution. Could be better (85/19)

Body/Balance- 85/19

Weighted Rate- 78pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

9d29ae8541f3ba0528a1a5890344d5a7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Martino from Belgium with 61 ratings

Riche et subtil avec des arômes de mélasse et de vanille. Rond et onctueux sur des saveurs de miel, de fruits et de chocolat avec une finale longue et suave avec de belles notes de fruits.

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful mahogany color with almond pastry notes, butterscotch, coffee and caramel sometimes going to chocolate and dried fruit. On the palate are dried fruits such as grapes with woody notes. The final is long and dry. I never identified the caroni side explained by Martin Jeppesen on his comment. The tasting environment was noisy and polluted by food odors. Could be great to taste it again... ;-)