Posting your rating...
Angostura 1787 15-Year rum

Angostura 1787 15-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

7.5/10 (48 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
1
4
7
19
11
2

Rate Angostura 1787 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


48 Angostura 1787 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 239 ratings

When I try a new bottle of Angostura, I'm always a bit exited, cause I feel there's big variety in taste among there labels. The 1787 is no different, with a unique profile in the range.
The nose surprises me, and the first thing that comes to my mind is Caroni. It has full, sweet notes of butterscotch, candied, baked banana and vanilla, but also an unmistakable note of that deep, tarry and oaky petroleum. The composition is very inviting and mouth watering. In the mouth the rum feels balanced and opens sweet with toffee, banana and dried prunes, going into oaky and slightly petroleum like caroni notes, but not in a overpowering way. Overall it's a sweet rum, that could perhaps have been more exiting with less sugar and slightly more %alc., but that's probably mood dependent, and I still enjoy this one quite a bit actually (8,5).

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

Angostura is broad in the way that they produce its Rums, with big viarity you can find round and smoth products and some more dry oaky. This is long fiinish with some oak in it.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Neman3 from Canada with 73 ratings

My first ever Angostura and also first Brugal. Min 15yo vs up to 14. Both are smooth and easy to drink. Both are in perfect balance between dry and sweet.
Angostura is the good big surprise: very exotic fruits, flowers notes (and Angostura bitter? :)
Brugal has classic taste, a bit spicy or even salty.
100$ vs 50$. Angostura worth it's money.
Scored 9 vs 7

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 159 ratings

I don’t think that I have tested a rum with a taste comparable with this one before. I’m not sure what it is, maybe grapefruit or citrus. Anyway the Angostura has made it again. The 1787 is on their No 1 level.
I have now also tested the new No 1 (Ed3) and I must say it’s not coming up to the same level as the earlier No 1’s and the 1787.
Picture: My Angostura shelf

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Angostura 1787 claims to be a 15 year old rum, but unfortunately there are easily three dozen better 15 year old rums out there. In isolation the Angostura 1787 is not a bad rum at all, but far from great also. The 1787 is much better than the 1919 or 1824 rums from Angostura, but after well over 300 aged rums later, I'm not a big fan of the Angostura family of rums. 1787 barely scores a five for me, so it is way over rated rum in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted 13 days ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 52 ratings

Like a sweet apple cider. Ill keep this one in my top ten for now.

Ffffff

Posted 13 days ago by IBO from Slovakia with 110 ratings

Nie som fajciar a cigaru si dám len ojedinele. Napriek tomu som pri tomto rume chuť na "dymenie" dostal. Od tohto rumu som veľa nečakal a dostal som veľa. Krásna chuť,zadymeny,drevity, suchši. Pre mňa veľké prekvapenie,trafil sa mi do chuti.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

it is trying to be like classic rum, you can feel the oak sly, with karmel a bit, toffee, vanilla, cherry, long alcohol finish, also you will be hited by spice, paper or tabaco, or its just heavy oak :) do not recommend for beginners, even not worth to try for that price

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ole Christian Rønning from Norway with 9 ratings

This was a new experience. The first thought, when putting the glass under my nose, was pitch pine. Then some dried fruit and oak. Taste is a bit strong, smokey and spicey, but smoother in the aftertaste, and it lasts for a long time.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by hrh from Bulgaria with 22 ratings

Darker color and distinguishable presence. Smooth all the time yet specific one. Caramel flavour in in the body. Gets smoother in the aftertaste.