Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Royal rum

Rate Ron Zacapa Royal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


38 Ron Zacapa Royal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by John Marius from Norway with 17 ratings

Sammenlignet med Zacapa XO er denne hakket bedre, men ikke helt verdt prisforskjellen.

Posted over 3 years ago by Maweis from Spain with 26 ratings

Collecting bottles of Zacapa to enjoy them in good times

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

Full body with long aftertaste! tested against XO and it is huge difference and bottle is super exclusive. Highly priced (250 Euros) but still must have👍🏻 the best rum for me so far. Zacapa deliver strongly with this bottle.

Posted over 2 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

A bit hard - ok nice rum but too expensive. The XO is a fine alternative.

Posted over 3 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 66 ratings

We tasted the Zacapa Royal against the white and black label, the XO Anos as well as the Eldorado 25 1986 and Eldorado 1980. The Zacapa scores only in one: with the exceptionally beautiful bottle, the content for this price a joke, he is Spicy and strong though the Zacapa typical flavors harmonize with a pleasant not exaggerated sweetness. The my view after predominant young years dominate and let the Royal in the ratio look quite old. Absolute No. 1 at both testers was the black label, then the Eldorado 1980, then the white label, the Eldorado 1986 and then still the old XO Anos. Only in comparison with an XO Solera is the Royal one tick beser and at a 3 times price, simply ridiculous.Sorry for my perhaps bad english--))

Posted over 3 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

virgin cane honey. half dry.
it is a 30 years solera rum. it was finished in french limousin oak.
the first thing I mentioned is the low amount of sugar. and thats great! I think less then 15g/l (its more dry then the limitada 13)
vanilla. cherry. peach. caramel. leather. almond. bitterness. woody. very long aftertaste. not a crowd pleaser. for a sweetend rum it is very good. much too expensive.
if you like sweet rums, thats not for you!
8/10.

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed two glasses of Ron Zacapa Royal in Auckland NZ. Very nice high end bottle and label design. Dark mahogany color. Sweet notes mixed with plenty of oak from French Oak Cask maturation and a massive amount of vanilla to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Mild burn at the end being so sweet. Just ever so slightly smoother than Zacapa XO with 4 times the price.

Posted about 1 month ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

Tasted the Royal in comparison with 2019, Aniversario 30, Edition Negra and XO.
It tastes like the old zacapas. Very intensive, sweet and fruity, with wooden aromas.
It's not as good as the Aniversario 30. The 30 is more mature, more wooden and more fruity in the taste.
It's also very expensive, if you wanna drink something similar go for the 2019 edition.
It's not as fresh as the xo. XO has a very nice balance between the matured and the young rums.
But Royal is more intensive, heavy and almost to sweet in my opinion. A good rum but too expensive for me.

Smell: caramel, sweet wood, dry fruits (raisins, plums, date), fig, tropical fruits
Taste: caramel, sweet and toasted cask (wood), dry fruits (date), spice
Finish: caramel with barrel and dry fruits

Sweetness: 4/5
Fruits: 3/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 4/5

Aged: 8 to 30 years
Casks: Le Bois du Roy oak barrels

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Nothing special, .

Posted 3 months ago by Kicki from Sweden with 3 ratings

It was the tastiest mildest Zacapa rum I have ever tasted

Posted 3 months ago by Lukasz from Poland with 18 ratings

Rum distilled from molasses syrup, very dark. He aged in a thirty-year-old salt-cellar and was then finished in limo oak barrels. In the nose a lot of chocolate, cherries, cherry, bird cherry, raisins, prunes, pineapple, coffee, cocoa. The taste is a lot of sweetness - blackcurrant liqueur, cherries in chocolate, peach syrup. And skin, gently sherry. Creme de cassis in the finish plus yeast, cherry jelly, delicate as sherry, do not feel the power of alcohol.

Posted 4 months ago by Hedlund from Sweden with 36 ratings

Den här är riktigt god men inte så pass mycket godare än XO så att det motiverar det dyrare priset.

Posted 4 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

- ve vůni je okamžitě poznat typickou Zacapu, nasládlá, čokoláda, kokos, citrusy a dřevo
- chuť nasládlá, 45% je znát, ostřejší, závěr dřevitější, jemně nahořklý a částečně čokoládový

Posted 4 months ago by Brian Casali from Italy with 13 ratings

A total and complete rhum. Extra-dark colour and a sweet, balanced taste

Posted 5 months ago by Foglialuce from Italy with 4 ratings

Good but nothing special, is too similar to XO, not complex, lightness in deep. For delicate palates

Posted 8 months ago by pocasi from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Zatim nejlepsi zacapa co jsem pil. Plna a dlouho trvajici chut. 10/10

Posted 8 months ago by Janne68 from Sweden with 13 ratings

Säger inget mer om den mer än att den är kunglig. Sen att Zacapa XO är snäppet godare, men båda får en 10:a

Posted 8 months ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 80 ratings

...due to the fact I have bought the bottle, yet not have tried.

Will review my posts once I have.

Cheers :)

Posted 9 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Pleasure starting with aroma, goes over complex taste and ending in long aftertaste. But the differences vs XO you can tell only in direct comparison. Royal is a bit sweeter and a bit more complex with longer aftertaste. But the differences are so small, that it can't justify the double (or even more) price.
Anyway you should try the sample...

Posted over 1 year ago by Dimitris from Greece with 68 ratings

Taste 8,3/10. This is similar to Zacapa Centenario XO but less sweet (i would like little more sweetness, this is the limit for me) & same time little smoother-cleaner taste, less additions than XO, shophisticaded-balance and little bit more aged - intense creamy & touch dry...overall some better quality than Centenario XO. But same time less sweet from what i like so for me this is somewhat equal to XO in taste... Any way for this price dont buy it... waste your money. The taste is powerful with nice light cognac complexity & smell....

Posted over 1 year ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

Very nice taste indeed. But the price on this rum is a joke. Drank rum that taste better than this for a much better price. Rum for hotshots who drives BMWS and has no friends. The bottle shape suits old ladies.

Posted over 1 year ago by Josef Janicek from Czech Republic with 1 rating

Výsledný rum má krásně plnou vůni i chuť čokolády, pečeného kokosu a mandlí. Závěr je pak správné dlouhý, nasládlý, exotický. Vážně královská lahev.

Posted over 1 year ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

As all Zacapa's more on the sweet side, but if thats what you are looking for then this is worth of having even with this price.

Posted over 1 year ago by Tom from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

láhev - obal 10/10 bottle
vůně 17/20 smell
chuť 30/35 taste
jemnost 14/15 smooth
cena/výkon 0/20 much for money
71%

Vyvážená chuť s lehce dřevitou vůní, pije se dobře, bez pachuti, nebo špatné dochuti. Bohužel ničím nezaujme, to je ale u Zacapů tradice. Rozhodně nedoporučuji kupovat celou láhev.

Posted over 1 year ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 183 ratings

Hvis denne ikke var så dyr, ville jeg give den højere rating, men hvis man sammenligner med Ron Zacapa Centenario XO, så er det en skuffende oplevelse. Ville til enhver tid vælge tre Centenario frem for en Royal. Eftersmagen forsvinder hurtigt.