Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Royal rum

Ron Zacapa Royal

Guatemala | Aged

8.4/10
49 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
10
14
14

Rate Ron Zacapa Royal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

49 Ron Zacapa Royal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Fredrick from Sweden with 10 ratings

7/10 2017 Stockholm Paladar
Tasted the Royal once before on a Zacapa tasting. Really liked it then. But that was after tasting the whole Zacapa sortiment leading up to the Royal. Anyways, tried it now again as a dessert sipper. N I must say that I was disappointed. There was a to strong fruit taste for me. Its good the don't get me wrong. But not my flavour.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Per71 from Sweden with 60 ratings

A nice smooth rum, a little milder on the nose then Zacapa 23.
But that is basically it.
More then 3 times the price then Zacapa 23, thats why the lower rating...

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Rumes from United States with 1 rating

Excelent aftertaste, Smokey, oxigenate well to dissipate it’s strength (45).

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 10 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 153 ratings

It is more dry than expected. You can feel the alcohol at first sip it sticks. But then it start open up. Try to heat it up in your hands for few minutes, and it then gives its fully potential. Interesting blend and a big applaus to Zacapa Master blender, Lorena Vasquez.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Tommy Deblieck from Belgium with 9 ratings

Als zacapa liefhebber mocht hij niet ontbreken in m'n collectie. Dure maar mooie fles. Jammer dat de extra centjes niet overvloeien in de smaak.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Chavelo from Greece with 23 ratings

For the price you can have 2,3 or even 4 bottles of higher quality liquid in other rums. Very good packaging and Marketing

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Alas from Puerto Rico with 77 ratings

Sweeter than zacapa 23, but less sweet than zacapa xo. Complex aroma and taste begins with fruit notes (cherry?) and slight burn on finish similar to z23 but lighter. There’s a slight char/smoke to it as well.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 433 ratings

Very nice high end bottle and label design. Dark mahogany color. in my opininion, is too overrated.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 370 ratings

First of all: you need a Glencairn glas for tasting. The nose is much better in this glas.
In a rum tumbler it's not concentrated. And it needs 30min in the glas.
If you drink Zacapas take your time.

Tasted the Royal in comparison with 2019, Aniversario 30 and 2014 edition.
It tastes like the old zacapas. Intensiv, sweet and fruity, with wooden aromas.
It's not as good as the Aniversario 30. The 30 is more mature, more wooden and more fruity in the taste.
It's not as fresh as the XO. XO has a very nice balance between the matured and the young rums.
But Royal is more intensive and heavy.
It starts with caramel, burned sugar and dry fruits. The herbs are less present (same in Zacapa 30). The taste is not as heavy as 30 or Negra, but it's quite elegant. In the middle as it became warm I thought at some point, it's a little bit too sweet. From the sweetness I would say it's at the tip of the iceberg. Then I get some heavy flavours of the toasted cask (wood), but not as much as in the 30th.
I notice also a hint of cherries, this goes in another direction than other Zacapas.
The finish is not very spicy and sweet with caramel, barrel (wood) and dark fruits (not much herbs left).

A elegant and sweet Zacapa but too expensive for me.
2019 is more younger and also heavy, but has more mandarine in the taste. I think it's a good alternative. Buy the 2019 edition now, some years later it will be as expensive as royal I think.
Would rate it with 92 points.

Smell: caramel, herbs, sweet wood, dry fruits (raisins, plums, date), fig
Taste: caramel, burned sugar, herbs, sweet and toasted cask (wood), cherries, dry fruits (date), some, spice
Finish: long, sweet, caramel with barrel and dark fruits

Sweetness: 3.5/5
Fruits: 3/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 4/5
Intensity: 3.5/5
Value (180€): 2/5
Experience level: professional

Aged: 8 to 30 years
Casks: Le Bois du Roy oak barrels

My favourite Zacapas Top 10 (I never tasted the old black label, Platino, straight from the cask and 2013, 2015 edition):
1. Aniversario 30
2. Royal
3. XO
4. Edicion Negra
5. Limitada 2019
6. Limitada 2014
7. Centenario 23
8. Ambar 12

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Nothing special, .

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kicki from Sweden with 3 ratings

It was the tastiest mildest Zacapa rum I have ever tasted