Posting your rating...
Hamilton 86 Demerara rum

Hamilton 86 Demerara

Caribbean | Aged

7.2/10 (30 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
15
8
2

Rate Hamilton 86 Demerara

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

30 Hamilton 86 Demerara ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

This is a great tiki mixer. Cut grass, molasses and licorice. Dry which is perfect for keeping the ‘sweet’ down. The proof is spot on and comes through.
Perfect for those that like their tropical floating cocktails on the dry side.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

No less a luminary than Beachbum Berry has said that Ed Hamilton's Guyana 86 proof is "One of only 6 rums that a Tiki enthusiast will ever need." It is indeed fantastic. Reminds me a bit of Gosling's combined with a very funky Jamaican influence: lots of burned chocolate, smoky caramel, and dried fruit. No added sugar or other sweeteners. Compare this with El Dorado 12 and 15, both also from Guyana but heavily sugared and flavored. I like this rum straight up because it's so flavorful and complex and dry. Looking forward to trying it in cocktails in the near future. It's hard to find but if you do, snap it up!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Scott T from United States with 121 ratings

I would like to clarify something a prior reviewer posted - you should NEVER expect ANY sweetness from ANY rum, only if sugar is added post-distillation will a rum be sweet. El Diorado rums - especially the 12 and 15 year - have TONS of added sugar. This rum did not "age out the first run molasses characteristics", it actually perfectly showcases those characteristics without hiding them behind a wall of added sugar. So all you get is a smoky, intense leathery Demeraran rum. Only aged "up to 5 years" so not the greatest sipper, definitely has some rough edges, but fantastic in mixed drinks. Has become one of my go-to rums in Mai Tais.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 181 ratings

The Demerara barrels not as flavorful as I would have hoped. A bit too much afterburn for me. I'll try it in Tiki and reevaluate my rating.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 87 ratings

What you get for $20 is astounding. This is my favorite demerara rum, even when pitted against the El Dorados. Incredible smell on entry - think rich layers of toasted caramel nougat with cinnamon spice. Similarities appear on the palate: the absolute flavor explosion, the masterful progression on the palate, and that fantastic lingering, caramel-spice finish sets this rum apart from so many others. I could sip this all day and find more to appreciate about it, especially as it mellows in the glass - that richness only amplifies and grows in complexity.

Bottles of this go fast in my bar, as it has become essential for so many of the cocktails I mix. It pairs excellently with allspice dram, fruit, and citrus. The Hurricane I make with homemade Fassionola uses this rum by default, and is well-loved by guests.

An absolute necessity for the shelf. Highly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by dl3000 from United States with 7 ratings

Very smooth, with all the smokiness and caramel tones one expects from a quality demerara rum. Great as a sipper or in classic tiki cocktails, but I think this rum really shines in a rum old fashioned. A must have for any rum enthusiast

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Sweet without being cloying. A tiki drinker MUST have.

Small 621e696e 569f 4f12 a55a b39bbb717650

Posted 22 days ago by geroji from United States with 26 ratings

Love the tobacco, chocolate, and cherry notes that make this bottle great. It’s a great sipper, and great for the price.

Ffffff

Posted 30 days ago by eadrn from United States with 49 ratings

I'm a big fan of demerara heavy rums. I also prefer it as a simple compared to standard white sugar in most drinks. As such, I'm a big fan of this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Mujuru from United States with 64 ratings

Nose: Burnt caramel, creme brûlée, brown sugar, rubber, cola

Palate: very smooth, caramelized sugar, oak, cola gummy bears, burnt sugar, dark chocolate, smokiness

Finish: short finish, medium burn, not overwhelming, oak, burnt sugar

So this rum comes from the same distillery that produces El Dorado. However, unlike those premium lines this is a pure rum with no added sugar. In other words this is an original demerara. This a wonderful example of the original, traditional style of rum from Guyana as it is originally produced before the premium market. On the nose you get burnt caramel, creme brûlée, brown sugar, rubber and something like cola gummy bears. Fascinating. Once you take a sip you get a wonderfully complex mix of flavors on the tongue. It is an extraordinarily smooth sip despite having 0g of added sugars. In fact this is probably the smoothest pure rum I have ever had. As the rum spreads through your mouth you get Caramelized Sugar, Brown Sugar, those cola gummy bears, a nice bite of oak overlaid by smokiness and a mouthful of dark chocolate. The finish is fairly short with a medium burn but it is not overwhelming at all. Minutes after putting the glass down the taste of burnt sugar and oak lingers in your cheeks. In some respects its like El Dorado 15 with the sweetness dialed down, but not removed...which in a way makes sense, since it is the same underlying rum. I am not a purist by any means, but I can't decide which of these I like more. Considering I got a full 750ml bottle for $17 and the ED15 costs $40, this is nothing short of amazing. I am so glad I got an extra bottle of this. I think I will be keeping this one around - especially since by all accounts it ranks as one of the best mixing rums of all times. I am impressed. Well done Mr. Hamilton.

Nose: 8
Palate: 8
Aftertaste: 8
Smoothness: 8
Versatility: 10
Price: 10

Total: 8.6

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by DougDoesNotCare from United States with 38 ratings

I've only tried Pusser's as far as Demerara rum goes to this point. This has wonderful dry brown sugar notes. Demerara and oak notes meld with vanilla and spice on the back end. The finish is nice, long, and delightful.