Posting your rating...
Hamilton 86 Demerara rum

Hamilton 86 Demerara

Caribbean | Aged

7.1/10 (26 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
15
5
2

Rate Hamilton 86 Demerara

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


26 Hamilton 86 Demerara ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

A dark and heavy rum, thick and sweet smoky flavour, and a nice long aftertaste. I didn't love it at first, it took a few tries before I enjoyed it properly.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

No less a luminary than Beachbum Berry has said that Ed Hamilton's Guyana 86 proof is "One of only 6 rums that a Tiki enthusiast will ever need." It is indeed fantastic. Reminds me a bit of Gosling's combined with a very funky Jamaican influence: lots of burned chocolate, smoky caramel, and dried fruit. No added sugar or other sweeteners. Compare this with El Dorado 12 and 15, both also from Guyana but heavily sugared and flavored. I like this rum straight up because it's so flavorful and complex and dry. Looking forward to trying it in cocktails in the near future. It's hard to find but if you do, snap it up!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

I would like to clarify something a prior reviewer posted - you should NEVER expect ANY sweetness from ANY rum, only if sugar is added post-distillation will a rum be sweet. El Diorado rums - especially the 12 and 15 year - have TONS of added sugar. This rum did not "age out the first run molasses characteristics", it actually perfectly showcases those characteristics without hiding them behind a wall of added sugar. So all you get is a smoky, intense leathery Demeraran rum. Only aged "up to 5 years" so not the greatest sipper, definitely has some rough edges, but fantastic in mixed drinks. Has become one of my go-to rums in Mai Tais.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 182 ratings

The Demerara barrels not as flavorful as I would have hoped. A bit too much afterburn for me. I'll try it in Tiki and reevaluate my rating.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

What you get for $20 is astounding. This is my favorite demerara rum, even when pitted against the El Dorados. Incredible smell on entry - think rich layers of toasted caramel nougat with cinnamon spice. Similarities appear on the palate: the absolute flavor explosion, the masterful progression on the palate, and that fantastic lingering, caramel-spice finish sets this rum apart from so many others. I could sip this all day and find more to appreciate about it, especially as it mellows in the glass - that richness only amplifies and grows in complexity.

Bottles of this go fast in my bar, as it has become essential for so many of the cocktails I mix. It pairs excellently with allspice dram, fruit, and citrus. The Hurricane I make with homemade Fassionola uses this rum by default, and is well-loved by guests.

An absolute necessity for the shelf. Highly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by dl3000 from United States with 7 ratings

Very smooth, with all the smokiness and caramel tones one expects from a quality demerara rum. Great as a sipper or in classic tiki cocktails, but I think this rum really shines in a rum old fashioned. A must have for any rum enthusiast

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

Sweet without being cloying. A tiki drinker MUST have.

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by sebastospud from United States with 10 ratings

Plenty of burnt brown sugar with a hint of something earthy or almost maraschino liquor-like. Really lovely.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by pgrace (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

This is a very thick heavy molasses rum. Old school tiki drinks adorn this.

Tastes of dark raisins dark chocolate molasses and some charred wood

Great for the OG trader Vic Mai Tai

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by blowpez from United States with 14 ratings

Absolutely incredible black rum. Bought this because I kept reading that it was a tiki bar staple and they weren't kidding. This black rum is bursting with sweet caramel & brown sugar notes that adds a wonderful depth of flavor to any cocktail. Its on the sweeter side (without being too sweet) but tastes much more bold and natural than other black rums. I would argue that this could be drank on its own. Will definitely be buying more of this.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Pmrp from United States with 8 ratings

This was my second Demerara rum after El Dorado 15. By comparison, this one is significantly less sweet and complex, but perhaps a bit more on the funky and smoky side. Great in a Dark & Stormy, so I’m hopeful it will work well in other cocktails too. Much easier to sip than expected, although not how I’d typically reach for it. Looking to explore this one a bit more...