Posting your rating...
Hamilton 86 Demerara rum

Hamilton 86 Demerara

Caribbean | Aged

7.1/10 (24 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
14
6
1

Rate Hamilton 86 Demerara

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


24 Hamilton 86 Demerara ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

B45809a17bafe1c7b71e0eb4e822dc0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Dark and syrupy flavor without having a syrupy mouthfeel. Pretty sweet, but nothing I wouldn't expect from a Demerara. Certainly try a 2oz pour if you see it.

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

No less a luminary than Beachbum Berry has said that Ed Hamilton's Guyana 86 proof is "One of only 6 rums that a Tiki enthusiast will ever need." It is indeed fantastic. Reminds me a bit of Gosling's combined with a very funky Jamaican influence: lots of burned chocolate, smoky caramel, and dried fruit. No added sugar or other sweeteners. Compare this with El Dorado 12 and 15, both also from Guyana but heavily sugared and flavored. I like this rum straight up because it's so flavorful and complex and dry. Looking forward to trying it in cocktails in the near future. It's hard to find but if you do, snap it up!

5bbd9ca275891e24bc9dcf6802217abe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

I would like to clarify something a prior reviewer posted - you should NEVER expect ANY sweetness from ANY rum, only if sugar is added post-distillation will a rum be sweet. El Diorado rums - especially the 12 and 15 year - have TONS of added sugar. This rum did not "age out the first run molasses characteristics", it actually perfectly showcases those characteristics without hiding them behind a wall of added sugar. So all you get is a smoky, intense leathery Demeraran rum. Only aged "up to 5 years" so not the greatest sipper, definitely has some rough edges, but fantastic in mixed drinks. Has become one of my go-to rums in Mai Tais.

A09ef3ba12319215824b4d095e0acd79.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 174 ratings

The Demerara barrels not as flavorful as I would have hoped. A bit too much afterburn for me. I'll try it in Tiki and reevaluate my rating.

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

What you get for $20 is astounding. This is my favorite demerara rum, even when pitted against the El Dorados. Incredible smell on entry - think rich layers of toasted caramel nougat with cinnamon spice. Similarities appear on the palate: the absolute flavor explosion, the masterful progression on the palate, and that fantastic lingering, caramel-spice finish sets this rum apart from so many others. I could sip this all day and find more to appreciate about it, especially as it mellows in the glass - that richness only amplifies and grows in complexity.

Bottles of this go fast in my bar, as it has become essential for so many of the cocktails I mix. It pairs excellently with allspice dram, fruit, and citrus. The Hurricane I make with homemade Fassionola uses this rum by default, and is well-loved by guests.

An absolute necessity for the shelf. Highly recommended.

B71d0607147cfef3513eeb08b5eb0af7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by dl3000 from United States with 7 ratings

Very smooth, with all the smokiness and caramel tones one expects from a quality demerara rum. Great as a sipper or in classic tiki cocktails, but I think this rum really shines in a rum old fashioned. A must have for any rum enthusiast

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

Sweet without being cloying. A tiki drinker MUST have.

17f574a6ab1b65d7bbd640661b8178d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 14 days ago by Pmrp from United States with 7 ratings

This was my second Demerara rum after El Dorado 15. By comparison, this one is significantly less sweet and complex, but perhaps a bit more on the funky and smoky side. Great in a Dark & Stormy, so I’m hopeful it will work well in other cocktails too. Much easier to sip than expected, although not how I’d typically reach for it. Looking to explore this one a bit more...

8b8b5e1984c213b50b09a877c763069b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 15 days ago by mlevineisme from United States with 18 ratings

Really warming and complex. Funky. Not much of a lingering finish. Bitter dark sugar.

0af469abfd954e7cd9a81132dc65713f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Smovens from United States with 91 ratings

This is a very rich, Carmel, oaky, sweet rum that’s the pinnacle of simple demerara rums. Well balanced and not over oaked like many

43d9ff7e21c42aacbda755d03e4a263d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 23 ratings

This rum sold me on Ed Hamilton. Rich and complex, it is great for sipping or mixing. Mild notes of smoke, toffee and tobacco... it’s worth coming back to again and again.