Posting your rating...
Rhum JM 2003 rum

Rate Rhum JM 2003

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Rhum JM 2003 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 7 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

I’m used to sipping agricoles and loves the grassy, aggressiveflavors. This one is harsh ina different, more fusel alcohol way. I’m not sure the aging went well. Aggressive oak, thin, harsh. Still a decent rating because of how flavorful it is. It lingers in your mouth for a long time after

Posted 10 months ago by Antonio666 from Italy with 6 ratings

Not as complex as 1999 and 2000 version, but nevertheless a great way to spend your evening :)

Posted 10 months ago by James from United States with 20 ratings

I bought this bottle without looking at the rating or reviews so was excited to try it. I did, however pull up the rating and review in the hotel and was disappointed in what this rhum received and worried that I just blew a stack of cash. I poured a generous amount into a cup with ice and inhaled the aroma. Smell was complex and appealing. And the taste, the taste surprised me with a good smooth draw full of flavor. I pulled out banana and coconut, among others. Not my top drink but dang good and worth the money.

Posted about 1 year ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

The grass and harshness are quite subdued in there, so lets call it floral scent. Not my favorite thing, but does not offend either.

Posted over 1 year ago by Sousou85 from France with 36 ratings

Nez accentué sur le bois.
Note boisé et final vanillé.
Très bon rhum agricole.

Posted over 2 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Leeftijd: 12 jaar
Land: Martinique (AOC)
Abv: 44,8%
Kleur: goudbruin/koper
Neus: kaneel, koriander, fruitig, vanille
Smaak: droog, licht vegetaal, noten, eiken, tabak, fruitig.
Afdronk: eik, fruitigs, lang.

Prima vieux argricole.

Posted over 2 years ago by xavier from United States with 17 ratings

Not really my taste, a little bit too alcohoolic. Let the mouth dry and not really tasty until you swallow it and breath

Posted over 2 years ago by Javier FK from Peru with 30 ratings

Recibir como regalo un ron agrícola como JM es un desafío interesante pues no es fácil conseguir ron agrícola en Perú. Como me suele pasar, al principio el agrícola me es muy alcohólico pero que poco a poco permite ir saboreando los tonos frutales, de madera que le da esa personalidad al ron agrícola. Muy interesante.

Posted over 2 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 82 ratings

Wonderfull bouquet, vanilla and a bit oak. Strong but no burn, oak, mint, fruits.
Longlasting with a bit pepper and spices.
Great stuff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Last drink for the night. Just finished a back-to-back test between Rhum J.M. Vintage 2001 and 2003. What a big dilemma the Rhum J.M. Vintage 2003 really is. Nice and powerful smell, dry like a desert, but what an explosion of flavors and such a smooth finish. Rhum Agricole's are not my cup of tea in general terms, but if you like dry rums, then this will be an easy 9 score for you. After well over 300 aged rums later, it will be a 6 score for me due to super dryness which is very typical for the Rhum Agricole.

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

Man. This stuff. It smells like butterscotch and grass, and tastes like....candy and leather and grass and coconut and...everything. Maybe one of the most perplexing, layered rums I've tried.

Posted about 3 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

This rum has a healthy dose of character. The nose is dense with oily leather, vanilla, prunes, banana and a hint of grass. In the mouth the grassy note becomes more pronounced, alongside fat and slightly peppery oak, but still retains the fruit and vanilla from the nose. I really like this rum. It's not to demanding, but packs enough taste to satisfy completely with one glass.

Posted over 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Distilled in 2003, bottled at a perfect 44.8%. My bottle is number 0417. If I were to make a rum cake I just might take the plunge and use this, but then again it's just too good not to sip. The nose is flat out lovely, pound cake, vanilla oak without the bourbon and a slight whiff of orange. In the mouth it's equally lovely with a densely rich linger. Pepper, leather, licorice, mocha toffee.... absolutely fantastic.

I'm going back to get another bottle of this while it's still available.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Strange feeling after tasted this rum, it's a very nice agricole rum with flavor of banana and coconut. The sugar cane is not too present and the woody flavor is pleasant but it's like the rum is locked up and refuses to express himself. Nice vanilla note on the finish. Real rate : 7,5

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

It's strong and a little bit too alcohoolic but it's ok. Great flavour, long aftertaste, fine notes of dried fruits.