Posting your rating...
Hampden Estate Gold rum

Hampden Estate Gold

Jamaica | Aged

6.1/10 (15 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
3
6
2

Rate Hampden Estate Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Hampden Estate Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

32a2a11d5c36f67d26da8866e0517085.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Jamaican traditional style rum with a lot of esters. But if you let it breathe for a while... It's really smooth with a nice aftertaste. Great base for homemade pinnapple rum.

031c1c2b99f70b2a2db23160950a0574.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 49 ratings

First impressions; a case of rotting oranges stored in between a burning tyre-factory and a leaking petrochemical plant. After 10 minutes that is all cooled down to a light and very fruity scent with oranges and pineapple, apples and a hint of banana. Hardly any vanilla or oak (well, it is young) but with some molasses.

On the palate prune becomes dominant, it really tastes a lot like one of my favourite Slivovices. It all goes down very pleasantly, almost sweet (which it is not actually) with an unexpected smoothness after all the initial scents. More funky than Appleton Estate's signature blend but at the same time much more easy going. Halfway between a shot and a sipper with addictive qualities, though I guess this is a bit of a love or hate rum.

Should have gotten a 7,5 and as I think an 8 is a tad too much, I will give it a 7.

92b6cd0d9a6848f27814658a06db5832.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by András Péter Balogh from Hungary with 41 ratings

Good, but it didn’t become my favorite. You have to leave it a lot in the glass and after that its aromas will open, but unfortunately it is a bit thin and harsh to my taste. I can recommend it for cocktails and long drinks.

A02aa8722f5b9774a93ce2ba13de0e10.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by laurent from France with 42 ratings

Thought it is probably not intended to be a sipping rum it is very drinkable and shows the usual flavours of the Hampden distillery, in a lighter style than usual of course. No doubt it will be an interesting mixer but if it is a good occasion to try the Jamaican style by the way.

D2e2cda246db0f0c222c194351bc47b3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 83 ratings

Ni la botella ni el color son prometedores.
En nariz la intensidad de fruta y barniz son remarcables.
En boca muy simple, nada especial. Básicamente con muy poco sabor y gracia. Lamentablemente lo que se encuentra en nariz no se encuentra en boca. De la línea Hampden el malo sin lugar a dudas pero también el mas barato. Pero comparando con otras marcas sigue siendo un ron mas que decente.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2650 ratings

Rum tasting in the Finnish wilderness with my good old friend continued with Hampden Estate Gold. Rather nice bottle and label design. Light golden color. Glue and rubber hits you straight in the face. Nasty burn with these Jamaican rums.

Baf73d02967442688b390be66cdfb885.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

A funky gold I wouldn't write how about. It'll do, it'll do.

Ace2c206005e85d7d4685d2e4651ac98.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Mlady jamajsky rum, intenzivna vona prezretych bananov, estery, surovy, este ho skusim trosku rozdychat, zatial najviac za 6. V daiquiri je však super, stále je ho cítiť takže +1

6133272c7c87519e4e3bd69c460febf8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 59 ratings

This is young jamaican pot still rum.
Hits you with a load of esters and brine, smoke, overripe citrus, fresh grassiness, unripe banana. Not much molasses flavor, as in Myers or Smith&Cross.
Finishes dry and with some alcoholic kick.
Has caramel colour but i dont mind.
Overall is quite drinkable on its own if you are into high ester light jamaicans.
As a mixer, really kicks ass, i recommend making planters punch or triumvirate punch(smugglers cove) with this.
Brings really nice bright punching esters, fruity citrusy flavours and delicious brinyness to your tiki cocktails.

5286588835ea591212b76f9398f64506.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Daniel Nyvlt from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

High ester rum, very tarry and smoky with a lot of black olives (brine) and salty liquorice. Great rum for peated whisky freaks. Ardbeg Ten for 1/3 of the price. Definitely not for sweet rum lovers!