Posting your rating...
Hampden Estate Gold rum

Hampden Estate Gold

Jamaica | Aged

5.8/10
22 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
5
9
2

Rate Hampden Estate Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

22 Hampden Estate Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Klaus from Germany with 61 ratings

Belanglos. Kaum Nase. Geschmack weich, langweilig, kein Profil.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

Well, this is my last Hampden. I have given this distillery a fair try. While I appreciate that it is not sweet and is distilled with care, the flavor is terrible. Very harsh and unbalanced. Not a sipper. Just a glass of unsavory contrived funk. Tried to mix it and that spoiled banana rot carries through. No complexity, no smoothness and no balance. Too much bite and rotten bananas. And this is NOT cheap. Never again Hampden.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

Jamaican traditional style rum with a lot of esters. But if you let it breathe for a while... It's really smooth with a nice aftertaste. Great base for homemade pinnapple rum.

Small 1612468679129

Posted 7 days ago by Montana from Germany with 47 ratings

A light sweet and oily smell, some Esther. The taste is at first light sweet, then it gets sharper, quite nice. The finish is rather short.

Ffffff

Posted 13 days ago by rumtrinker from Germany with 27 ratings

This is not a smooth rum. I like it for that reason.

Nose is medium funky, some mulled wine spices, a little bit of vanilla, some over-ripe fruit, a little bit of alcohol.

Taste is quite sharp at first, but still sippable. Clean funk (the non-muddy variety), spices, quite a lot of vanilla, some sweetness. Finish is dry and funky. Not overly complex, but not boring.

I really like this stuff as a mild, funky sipper. It is OK on ice, but I prefer it neat without ice. A few drops of water increase the taste.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 32 ratings

It's a Jamaican rum of the typical funky Wedderburn style. It's only very lightly aged, if at all, but nonetheless very aromatic. But as you can imagine, the colour must be artificial. Hampden argued that consumers expect a certain golden colour for this type of aromatic rum, so it's meant to be a sign meaning "I'm aromatic!". Of course that is unnecessary for the true connoisseur. What I somewhat disliked about this rum, that is, why I didn't really find it that wonderful, was a dry, almost Scotch whisky-like nuance.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by CJ1999 from United Kingdom with 84 ratings

I don’t thinks it much hype. It’s a nice smooth vanilla rum. Nothing unique about it but I’d quite happily sip for the evening

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 484 ratings

5his was released when Hampden was trying to rebuild the distillery image alongside the rum fire ...as a rum on its own its delicious young funk rum but is a poor representative of this distillery.

Notes of oak , chocolate and funk

Probably the only Hampden rum u wouldn't buy again.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 124 ratings

If you are big fan of Jamaican pot still - you can try to sip this, the middle of the taste profile is smooth enough, but the nose is maybe too overpowering and the aftertaste is too strong as the alcohol is young. This is primarily a decent Jamaican mixer, full of esters, nose of ripe bananas and apples, taste matches nose with pretty straightforward and uncomplicated fruity tones, mainly bananas, with a short and biting finish. The bananas nicely stick out in rum and coke.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 80 ratings

First impressions; a case of rotting oranges stored in between a burning tyre-factory and a leaking petrochemical plant. After 10 minutes that is all cooled down to a light and very fruity scent with oranges and pineapple, apples and a hint of banana. Hardly any vanilla or oak (well, it is young) but with some molasses.

On the palate prune becomes dominant, it really tastes a lot like one of my favourite Slivovices. It all goes down very pleasantly, almost sweet (which it is not actually) with an unexpected smoothness after all the initial scents. More funky than Appleton Estate's signature blend but at the same time much more easy going. Halfway between a shot and a sipper with addictive qualities, though I guess this is a bit of a love or hate rum.

Should have gotten a 7,5 and as I think an 8 is a tad too much, I will give it a 7.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by András Péter Balogh from Hungary with 41 ratings

Good, but it didn’t become my favorite. You have to leave it a lot in the glass and after that its aromas will open, but unfortunately it is a bit thin and harsh to my taste. I can recommend it for cocktails and long drinks.