Posting your rating...
Hampden Estate Gold rum

Hampden Estate Gold

Jamaica | Aged

5.6/10
19 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
4
7
2

Rate Hampden Estate Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

19 Hampden Estate Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

nothing really great.....but not too bad one .....

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

Well, this is my last Hampden. I have given this distillery a fair try. While I appreciate that it is not sweet and is distilled with care, the flavor is terrible. Very harsh and unbalanced. Not a sipper. Just a glass of unsavory contrived funk. Tried to mix it and that spoiled banana rot carries through. No complexity, no smoothness and no balance. Too much bite and rotten bananas. And this is NOT cheap. Never again Hampden.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

Jamaican traditional style rum with a lot of esters. But if you let it breathe for a while... It's really smooth with a nice aftertaste. Great base for homemade pinnapple rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by CJ1999 from United Kingdom with 85 ratings

I don’t thinks it much hype. It’s a nice smooth vanilla rum. Nothing unique about it but I’d quite happily sip for the evening

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 471 ratings

5his was released when Hampden was trying to rebuild the distillery image alongside the rum fire ...as a rum on its own its delicious young funk rum but is a poor representative of this distillery.

Notes of oak , chocolate and funk

Probably the only Hampden rum u wouldn't buy again.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 119 ratings

If you are big fan of Jamaican pot still - you can try to sip this, the middle of the taste profile is smooth enough, but the nose is maybe too overpowering and the aftertaste is too strong as the alcohol is young. This is primarily a decent Jamaican mixer, full of esters, nose of ripe bananas and apples, taste matches nose with pretty straightforward and uncomplicated fruity tones, mainly bananas, with a short and biting finish. The bananas nicely stick out in rum and coke.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 75 ratings

First impressions; a case of rotting oranges stored in between a burning tyre-factory and a leaking petrochemical plant. After 10 minutes that is all cooled down to a light and very fruity scent with oranges and pineapple, apples and a hint of banana. Hardly any vanilla or oak (well, it is young) but with some molasses.

On the palate prune becomes dominant, it really tastes a lot like one of my favourite Slivovices. It all goes down very pleasantly, almost sweet (which it is not actually) with an unexpected smoothness after all the initial scents. More funky than Appleton Estate's signature blend but at the same time much more easy going. Halfway between a shot and a sipper with addictive qualities, though I guess this is a bit of a love or hate rum.

Should have gotten a 7,5 and as I think an 8 is a tad too much, I will give it a 7.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by András Péter Balogh from Hungary with 41 ratings

Good, but it didn’t become my favorite. You have to leave it a lot in the glass and after that its aromas will open, but unfortunately it is a bit thin and harsh to my taste. I can recommend it for cocktails and long drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by laurent from France with 50 ratings

Thought it is probably not intended to be a sipping rum it is very drinkable and shows the usual flavours of the Hampden distillery, in a lighter style than usual of course. No doubt it will be an interesting mixer but if it is a good occasion to try the Jamaican style by the way.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 83 ratings

Ni la botella ni el color son prometedores.
En nariz la intensidad de fruta y barniz son remarcables.
En boca muy simple, nada especial. Básicamente con muy poco sabor y gracia. Lamentablemente lo que se encuentra en nariz no se encuentra en boca. De la línea Hampden el malo sin lugar a dudas pero también el mas barato. Pero comparando con otras marcas sigue siendo un ron mas que decente.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2727 ratings

Rum tasting in the Finnish wilderness with my good old friend continued with Hampden Estate Gold. Rather nice bottle and label design. Light golden color. Glue and rubber hits you straight in the face. Nasty burn with these Jamaican rums.