Posting your rating...
Don Q 2005 Limited Edition rum

Rate Don Q 2005 Limited Edition

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


28 Don Q 2005 Limited Edition ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

I tried the new Don Q 2015 at Rumfest London 2016, it's nice and spicy - just like I've come to expect from Don Q. It's a little less harsh than some of the other from this line and easy to sip on. Slightly sour tangy finish and lingers with an oily feel. Definitely not a bad rum, but also not super unique either.

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I'm not a fan of this rum, as it has too much bourbon for my liking, and it's too dry.

To me it's just a bourbon rum. Too much bourbon and not enough traditional rum flavor.

Posted over 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

A lot of similarities to the old Cockspur 12, but not many to Mount Gay XO. Dry, cinnamon spicy, with a touch of wood.

Posted about 2 months ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 61 ratings

Amber colour in a clear bottle gives nothing away at first, but the Don Q emblem on the top eludes to a touch of quality. The aroma is slightly of honey, but depends the mystery even more giving nothing else away. The taste is extremely smooth. A brief glimpse of that honey that the aroma promiced is followed by a subtle but lingering okay/nutmeg flavour and a bit of spice on the edge of the tongue before finishing with a bit of warmth as it goes down. This is one to cherish and sip slowly.

Posted 5 months ago by Swisslet from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Tasty enough drunk neat with no ice, but nothing too special.

Posted 11 months ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

Typical Don Q , this Rum is light and a little Dry. I taste the wood, Oak, bananas and vanilla. OK sipper, great mixer

Posted 11 months ago by Marco Rubin from Switzerland with 37 ratings

Für den Preis sehr guter single barrel,...............

Posted about 1 year ago by Schnatterer from Switzerland with 20 ratings

I prefer the 2007 vintage since it has more flavour... But 2005 is a very nice whiskey blend rum as well.

Posted over 1 year ago by Mipresser from United States with 11 ratings

I taste the wood, bananas and vanilla. A good choice for a long-time bourbon drinker like ne.

Posted over 1 year ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 173 ratings

Delší dobu jsem se odhodlával k ochutnání.
Výsledek je poměrně dobrý rum, ke každodení konzumaci.

Není to typicky stařený / aged rum jak by většina čekala.

Suší rum, výraznější chuť. Bez přidaného cukru.
Není sladký.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I was hesitant to buy this one based on many reviews comparing it to bourbon.Yes, it is a dry rum with no added sugar, but it is nothing at all like a bourbon. With me hating Don Q Gran Anejo, this was another barrier to keep me from trying this one. So I told myself that it's only money and priced at $36 US, so I brought this puppy home. I was anticipating a 7 rating.

The aroma is uncharred oak. The taste is pure rum with very little flavor because it is dry. The after taste is where it shines. My goodness! It is uncharred oak combined with flavors of pure rum with no after burn. That after taste just lingers. This is the third rum that I tried today and lucky me, all three rated as an 8! (I don't count Don Q Gold that I rated early this morning as a 4 because the price difference is huge...I hate the term price point because it sounds like toast points).

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Initially, a nice flavor. Not a strong oak or molasses flavor. Went from a 5.5 to 6.5 on my scale when I finally caught the molasses.

Posted about 2 years ago by Carles Latorre from United States with 15 ratings

I bought it for my collection, tried before, not a big fan, but my OCD makes me buy stuff for my collection I don’t really need though, like the 2007 I just bought

Posted about 2 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

Had just a little but tasted nice, definately one to go get myself!

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Last drink for tonight was a Don Q Signature Release Single Barrel 2005 edition. Hard to find bottle. Very light golden color. Woody notes to the nose. Very much whisky like to the throat. Not a typical flavorful aged rum in my books, but will be very good for a whisky lover.

Posted over 2 years ago by jimbo_bear from Aruba with 19 ratings

I like this one. Maybe a little to dry for my taste but overall a nice (not too) sweet tasting rum. The rum has a beautiful color.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

Not too sweet, spicy with a hint of oak. Very pleasant nose that only got better with a few drops of water.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Very nicely don Don Q. Most of their line contains rums meant for mixing and that is it but their vintage single barrel rum product offers a really nice rum to be enjoyed straight out of the bottle. Catch it if you can because they are selling out fast. At only 3000 bottles distributed in the US, believe, they won't last as the 2007 vintage is already available. Priced between $38-$50, it isn't a cheap rum by any stretch of the imagination, but well worth it in my opinion. Great for rum collectors to add to their collection as well as those who seek a complex and smooth rum to enjoy time and time again!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

Un vrai 10 ans, un prix ridiculement bas pour ce rhum qui va à coup sûr devenir collector !

Posted about 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

I had first tried the 2007 vintage and got a hold of this one later, it's much different overall. This is lighter in color and tastes a bit younger IMO but that may not be the case. It's not ur typical light sweet alcohol background that you would expect from Don Q, there is a bit more bite and the finish is like a Bajan rum with a banana/coconut tropical fruit like flavor. It reminds me of Doorly's 8 year. The 2007 in comparison is more like a Spanish style rum with prominent oak tannins in the way of Pampero Anniversario RE or even Ron Del Barrilito. This is good natural rum. Update: still good and fruity woth some apple like flavor, there is some kind of funk i don't love tho.

Posted about 3 years ago by Denis from Czech Republic with 14 ratings

Velice průměrný rum. Nemá žádnou výraznou chuť. Neurazí, ale nenadchne.

Posted over 3 years ago by Celia Miner from United States with 30 ratings

Pleasant aroma and finish, but not the best I've had.

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

To be honest I went through a few tasters in my Rum cent calendar recently, and I can't quite remember the details of this one. But it must have been pleasurable with a mixer (coke)

Posted over 3 years ago by Libette from United States with 1 rating

This rum doesn't have any bells and whistles, is just a very elegant and smooth rum, just the way it should be.