Posting your rating...
Don Q 2005 Limited Edition rum

Don Q 2005 Limited Edition

Puerto Rico | Aged

7.0/10
29 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
10
9
2

Rate Don Q 2005 Limited Edition

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

29 Don Q 2005 Limited Edition ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small img 5797

Posted over 2 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 193 ratings

Delší dobu jsem se odhodlával k ochutnání.
Výsledek je poměrně dobrý rum, ke každodení konzumaci.

Není to typicky stařený / aged rum jak by většina čekala.

Suší rum, výraznější chuť. Bez přidaného cukru.
Není sladký.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 400 ratings

I was hesitant to buy this one based on many reviews comparing it to bourbon.Yes, it is a dry rum with no added sugar, but it is nothing at all like a bourbon. With me hating Don Q Gran Anejo, this was another barrier to keep me from trying this one. So I told myself that it's only money and priced at $36 US, so I brought this puppy home.

The aroma is uncharred oak. The taste is pure rum with very little flavor because it is dry. The after taste is where it shines. My goodness! It is uncharred oak combined with flavors of pure rum with no after burn. That after taste just lingers. This is the third rum that I tried today and lucky me, all three started out as an 8! (I don't count Don Q Gold that I rated early this morning as a 4 because the price difference is huge...I hate the term price point because it sounds like toast points).

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

Initially, a nice flavor. Not a strong oak or molasses flavor. Went from a 5.5 to 6.5 on my scale when I finally caught the molasses.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Carles Latorre from United States with 15 ratings

I bought it for my collection, tried before, not a big fan, but my OCD makes me buy stuff for my collection I don’t really need though, like the 2007 I just bought

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 62 ratings

Had just a little but tasted nice, definately one to go get myself!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2746 ratings

Last drink for tonight was a Don Q Signature Release Single Barrel 2005 edition. Hard to find bottle. Very light golden color. Woody notes to the nose. Very much whisky like to the throat. Not a typical flavorful aged rum in my books, but will be very good for a whisky lover.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by jimbo_bear from Aruba with 20 ratings

I like this one. Maybe a little to dry for my taste but overall a nice (not too) sweet tasting rum. The rum has a beautiful color.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

Not too sweet, spicy with a hint of oak. Very pleasant nose that only got better with a few drops of water.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

Very nicely don Don Q. Most of their line contains rums meant for mixing and that is it but their vintage single barrel rum product offers a really nice rum to be enjoyed straight out of the bottle. Catch it if you can because they are selling out fast. At only 3000 bottles distributed in the US, believe, they won't last as the 2007 vintage is already available. Priced between $38-$50, it isn't a cheap rum by any stretch of the imagination, but well worth it in my opinion. Great for rum collectors to add to their collection as well as those who seek a complex and smooth rum to enjoy time and time again!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

Un vrai 10 ans, un prix ridiculement bas pour ce rhum qui va à coup sûr devenir collector !