Posting your rating...
Cihuatan Reserva Especial 8-Year rum

Rate Cihuatan Reserva Especial 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


46 Cihuatan Reserva Especial 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Martino from Belgium with 61 ratings

Première gorgée vanillée suivie par le caramel, café, une légère touche de cuir. Tanins fumés dûs au baril de chêne intrigue la langue créant une finition agréable.

Posted 5 months ago by Zane from Norway with 47 ratings

Smell very neutral, the taste is a direct vanilla but not over sweetened. It bites the nose and the throat. It’s. Simple rum - likable but not something that my tongue will remember for long after. From 24 rums selection with S.

Posted 6 months ago by JT from Norway with 34 ratings

lukter mye vanilje og litt sjokolade. God ettersmak med mye vaniljesmak og veldig søt. Mild ettersmak.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Cihuatan 8y with my buddies while in Germany. Plain standard bottle wrapped in a flimsy cardboard box. Golden color. Since its all sugarcane method plus added vanilla flavors, its really not my cup of tea. Quite a strong burn at the end with the added vanilla is an interesting mixture.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 135 ratings

First burn is a bit too strong and covers what comes after. Excellent balance with tones of dark chocolate.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Arome de ciocolată, dulceag cu aftertaste suficient pentru un rom "tânăr"

Posted 6 days ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

This attractive rum pours medium amber in colour; aromas of toffee, vanilla, oak and chocolate. Vanilla and toffee on the palate make way for a medium-bodied and smooth, viscous finish. It was a favourite while rum tasting at work today.

Posted 21 days ago by Nudo1985 from Norway with 6 ratings

Sweet and vanilla like smell. With a explicit initial taste of vanilla and with hits of fruits. Might come of as a bit synthetic in its taste due to its overt sweetness. But nevertheless a nice rum. Defenetli going to have a look at some of its loger aged variants :-)

Posted about 1 month ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

At the price of about $18 it is great. Between a 7 and 8 but gets 8 based on price. It f as fairly smooth with vanilla taste.

Posted about 1 month ago by Kasper Meijer from Panama with 29 ratings

Both these rums are such a good deal. Very tasty and so cheap. Could definitely sell for lot more. Bought them in El Salvador as a package.

Posted about 2 months ago by Fco_ignacio from Mexico with 7 ratings

I found this rum to be a little too sweet for my taste. I mainly identify vainilla flavors but the sweetness over comes everythibg else. Having said that it is not bad at all, I can easilly drink it as a dessert rum after a good dinner, not my favorito though.

Posted 3 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 37 ratings

Overly sweet, almost impossible to use it in a cocktail, maybe to sip as dessert but not one that you would drink a whole night.

Posted 4 months ago by drsunilbhalla from Canada with 4 ratings

I enjoy the flavor and the after taste immensely
The cost to quality ratio is favorable too
I don’t know why it’s not rated higher overall

Posted 5 months ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Was not expecting this one to be very good, especially at it's price point. It actually can stand as a a sipping rum with some light burn but interesting flavors of molasses and vanilla. Also wors as a flavorful mixing rum.

Posted 5 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 53 ratings

I had many trips to Cuba and always enjoyed Havana Club 7 yo. Up until now I did not try anything else except Cuban rum. Once I've brought from there Santiago de Cuba 11yo and have found it so smooth and delicius compared to HC. Since then I've discovered world is full of different rums ). Had tried 12 of them so far. And I will rate them comparing to HC as the base rated 6.

Posted 7 months ago by FRANCIS AMAYA JUAREZ from El Salvador with 1 rating

This rum has caramel and vanilla flavors, a very good choice for mixed drinks

Posted 7 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

I prefer this one over his older 12y brother. In taste you can feel o lot of vanilla, coffee and dark chocolate. Rum is very smooth with almost no burn.

Posted 7 months ago by Chavelo from Greece with 11 ratings

Very well balanced, easy to drink on its own and or for a fancy quality Cocktail. The balance between quality and pricing is perfect.

Posted 7 months ago by je_farley from United States with 100 ratings

A wonderful aroma with just a hint of burn when you first open the bottle. On the younger it has a bit of an almost candy taste with that touch of burn. It works but there is a slight aftertaste that was not expected.

This is an excellent mixer with the flavors blending best with a citrus though very good with coke or ginger ale. Think is would be great with coconut water.

The slight funk probably makes this a perfect candidate to try in some tiki concoctions or your favorite blended cocktails.

This will be a keeper in my bar...

Posted 7 months ago by Rudi from Poland with 10 ratings

At this price, I think you can find better products, but nonetheless Cihuatan 8 is a very drinkable rum. It comes with (I think) a bit of dossage, but nothing that will take away it's merit. As the first rum from El Salvador, all I can say is that these Salvadorean gentlemen are doing a fine job. Looking forward to trying the 12 years next week.

Posted about 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Definite vanilla bouquet. Can still taste the vanilla when drinking, though not as much. When mixed, a little aftertaste that I can’t place and it is just a bit unpleasant. Might be a 6.5. More sampling needed.

Posted about 1 year ago by RumSalas17 from United States with 3 ratings

Good choice for the parties in SoCal and much better than the run we are used to.

Posted over 1 year ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Merci à Bruno qui m a offert la bouteille. Un rhum très doux au goût de vanille, caramel vers la fin, mile et orange.

Posted over 1 year ago by SylvieG from Belgium with 23 ratings

Salon du Rhum Spa 2018 - très bon assez vanillé (achat)