Posting your rating...
Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year rum

Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year

El Salvador | Aged

7.3/10 (34 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
2
8
13
4
3

Rate Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


34 Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

Subtle notes of wood, a hint of vanilla and cacao, soft undertones of coffee and a dash of brilliance that resembles the sweetness of fresh sugarcane juice.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Beats me. Right after opening there is little to no nose except for a scent I can only describe as wet cardboard. After 10 minutes that is mostly gone and apart from vanilla and oaky notes I get something that reminds me of a sweet perfume rather than a drink. Not bad but I have to push myself start sipping this. It tastes better than it smells and though way too smooth for my taste at least the Cihuatan has enough character to stay upright. The taste remains more perfume than specific fruits or flowers, the alcohol 'bite' is just enough to help not noticing the sugar too much.

At the end I get, like another reviewer also mentioned, vague notes of (slightly scorched) PVC. All in all too sweet and otherwise not my style of rum. They go here for €45-50 and I see nothing to justify that.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 182 ratings

For me to decide between a 7 and a 7.5 on my scale. .Straight up sweet with minimal after-burn. A waste to mix it.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2654 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Cihuatan 12y with my buddies while in Germany. Plain standard bottle wrapped in a flimsy cardboard box. Golden color. Since its all sugarcane method plus added vanilla flavors, its really not my cup of tea. In general terms its not bad, but why waste time when you have SO MANY better rums out there...

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Diferențe clare față de mai tânărul "frate". Gust mai bogat și aftertaste remarcabil

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 220 ratings

First note is the lime to your nose. It reminds me of Revolte rum and of caipirinha.
It's like this rum was stored in clay barrels. There is not much wood influence in the blend.
I know this flavors from very young blends, but this one should be 12y old.
I could imagine it's around 5-7y old, there is not much rum inside that is 12y old. Or the dilution was too high, but if there is no added sugar, it's quite mild.

The taste is a little bit more complex than the nose, with some more flavors. But still young and watery with very thin flavors. Lime is the dominant aroma, caipirinha, vanilla, some young wood and a little bit stainles steel are in the blend. Maybe this rum was chilled in a steel pot?

Nose: lime, stainles steel, citurs, some vanilla (quite simple)
Taste: watery, lime, caipirinha with a sour note and some sweetness, vanilla
Middle: lime, stainles steel, vanilla, sugar cane
Finish: spice, lime, some young wood, vanilla

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 2.5/5
Value (39€): 2/5

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by tesibaer from Germany with 8 ratings

Nice nose with sugar cane, pineapple, oak and some spices. On the palate you can taste the added artificial sugar, also with spices, oak and sugar cane as well as pineapple. In the finish, some oak with tannins, spices and extra sugar crumbs. Most likely old, often used barrels were used. I don't particularly like the rum, it's too straightforwardly sweet.

Schöne Nase mit Zuckerrohr, Ananas, Eiche und etwas Gewürzen. Am Gaumen schmeckt man den zugesetzten, künstlichen Zucker, auch mit Gewürzen, Eiche und Zuckerrohr sowie Ananas. Im Abgang widerum etwas Eiche mit Tanninen, Gewürzen und extra Zuckerkrümeln. Wahrscheinlich wurden überwiegend alte, oft benutzte Fässer verwendet. Mir gefällt der Rum nicht besonders, er ist zu geradlinig süß.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 176 ratings

barva: světle zlata
vuně: vanilka, karamel
chut:silnější palení, burbon, karamel, lehce koření
koupit:ne
doporucit: ne
7,5

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 113 ratings

from El Salvador
Nose: very nice, spicy and fruity
Palate: very untypical but still pleasant, reminds a little bit on maple syrup, but is not too sweet. Unfortunately, it was only a sample, would like to taste some more...
(Cal 19 day23)

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Kasper Meijer from Switzerland with 30 ratings

Both these rums are such a good deal. Very tasty and so cheap. Could definitely sell for lot more. Bought them in El Salvador as a package.