Posting your rating...
Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year rum

Rate Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


32 Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

8760735bc9ae11b6859ee1302bb8ae9a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by wArChiEf from Austria with 17 ratings

... but you don't taste it that much, I don't know how much was added - i guess not too much. For me it's a very harmonic and smooth rum.

4a1cd8b2edef975370e24730fbfb5097.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 417 ratings

Subtle notes of wood, a hint of vanilla and cacao, soft undertones of coffee and a dash of brilliance that resembles the sweetness of fresh sugarcane juice.

031c1c2b99f70b2a2db23160950a0574.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 45 ratings

Beats me. Right after opening there is little to no nose except for a scent I can only describe as wet cardboard. After 10 minutes that is mostly gone and apart from vanilla and oaky notes I get something that reminds me of a sweet perfume rather than a drink. Not bad but I have to push myself start sipping this. It tastes better than it smells and though way too smooth for my taste at least the Cihuatan has enough character to stay upright. The taste remains more perfume than specific fruits or flowers, the alcohol 'bite' is just enough to help not noticing the sugar too much.

At the end I get, like another reviewer also mentioned, vague notes of (slightly scorched) PVC. All in all too sweet and otherwise not my style of rum. They go here for €45-50 and I see nothing to justify that.

A09ef3ba12319215824b4d095e0acd79.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 175 ratings

For me to decide between a 7 and a 7.5 on my scale. .Straight up sweet with minimal after-burn. A waste to mix it.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2575 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Cihuatan 12y with my buddies while in Germany. Plain standard bottle wrapped in a flimsy cardboard box. Golden color. Since its all sugarcane method plus added vanilla flavors, its really not my cup of tea. In general terms its not bad, but why waste time when you have SO MANY better rums out there...

34b2952841d2cc3da388326806e91a40.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 209 ratings

Diferențe clare față de mai tânărul "frate". Gust mai bogat și aftertaste remarcabil

69fb36e55457d26566e311f68dee0c5c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 174 ratings

barva: světle zlata
vuně: vanilka, karamel
chut:silnější palení, burbon, karamel, lehce koření
koupit:ne
doporucit: ne
7,5

6593abd40ffa0f750370602dfd9f867c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 107 ratings

from El Salvador
Nose: very nice, spicy and fruity
Palate: very untypical but still pleasant, reminds a little bit on maple syrup, but is not too sweet. Unfortunately, it was only a sample, would like to taste some more...
(Cal 19 day23)

417173be6d8e9046a33c209c63c5f916.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Kasper Meijer from Panama with 30 ratings

Both these rums are such a good deal. Very tasty and so cheap. Could definitely sell for lot more. Bought them in El Salvador as a package.

10025d4670ff50de5c2b9a20aec4c8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

I have previously reviewed the 8-year from Cihuatan, which have plenty of good reviews, but didn´t quite fit my tastebuds. Sadly the exact same thing can be said about this one.

Nose: Clove, caramel, nutmeg, brown sugar and a small hint of banana
Taste: Caramel, coconut, oak, banana and vanilla with a very short watery aftertaste
Overall: I can see from the reviews on this side, that Cihuatan is a popular sipper and more power to you, but this is just to simple and boring for my taste.

8602a3766cdeccb85584013051b78c5b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

It Starts really sweet and after the sweetness i had strange plastic notes.
Has a really different taste but not my favourite