Posting your rating...
Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year rum

Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year

El Salvador | Aged

7.1/10
40 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
3
9
15
4
3

Rate Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

40 Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Chavelo from Greece with 23 ratings

Well round balance of quality, taste and not so easy to find. Real Craft product

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

Subtle notes of wood, a hint of vanilla and cacao, soft undertones of coffee and a dash of brilliance that resembles the sweetness of fresh sugarcane juice.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 4 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 217 ratings

Had just a sample for this tasting so it’s just a first impression, but there will not be any further testing.
Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12 is produced by distillery Licorera Cihuatán in Cihuatan valley, El Salvador.
It’s a Solera probably with a quite young average age in my opinion.
The sugar mill Ingenio La Cabana provides the molasses used in Ron de El Salvador Cihuatans rums. The rum is produced on a multi column still and then aged in ex-bourbon barrels before bottling at ABV 40%.
The only aroma that was detectable was alcohol, bad alcohol. In mouth and palate it didn’t taste that bad instead vanilla dominates, but it was also possible to recognize caramel. The short finish tasted the same. It’s sweetened but not overly, I read somewhere that it was 19g/l.
Can’t recommend this rum.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by hugorollo from Sweden with 9 ratings

A strange rum and in my opinion not a very one good.

Nose is kind of bad and smells like very strong alcohol and some other bad smell that I don’t know what it is.
On the palate it’s the classic vanilla and sugar taste, but it also tastes like they have mixed it with perfume or something.
A chemical taste in my opinion.
Short finish.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 76 ratings

Beats me. Right after opening there is little to no nose except for a scent I can only describe as wet cardboard. After 10 minutes that is mostly gone and apart from vanilla and oaky notes I get something that reminds me of a sweet perfume rather than a drink. Not bad but I have to push myself start sipping this. It tastes better than it smells and though way too smooth for my taste at least the Cihuatan has enough character to stay upright. The taste remains more perfume than specific fruits or flowers, the alcohol 'bite' is just enough to help not noticing the sugar too much.

At the end I get, like another reviewer also mentioned, vague notes of (slightly scorched) PVC. All in all too sweet and otherwise not my style of rum. They go here for €45-50 and I see nothing to justify that.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

For me to decide between a 7 and a 7.5 on my scale. .Straight up sweet with minimal after-burn. A waste to mix it.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2727 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Cihuatan 12y with my buddies while in Germany. Plain standard bottle wrapped in a flimsy cardboard box. Golden color. Since its all sugarcane method plus added vanilla flavors, its really not my cup of tea. In general terms its not bad, but why waste time when you have SO MANY better rums out there...

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Diferențe clare față de mai tânărul "frate". Gust mai bogat și aftertaste remarcabil

Small v%c3%bdst%c5%99i%c5%beeks

Posted 12 hours ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 138 ratings

Docela prijemny rum na posezení s přáteli. Je cítit po dřevu, jablkach, cukru. Neurazi ani nenadchne.

Small 20150131 222157

Posted 3 months ago by finnjf from Denmark with 27 ratings

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by davevr from United States with 4 ratings

Notes of vanilla. Easy on the finish. Very pleasant nose. Little burn.