Posting your rating...
Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year rum

Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year

El Salvador | Aged

7.1/10
40 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
4
8
15
4
3

Rate Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

40 Cihuatan Reserva Especial 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

For me to decide between a 7 and a 7.5 on my scale. .Straight up sweet with minimal after-burn. A waste to mix it.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by F_a_r_a_b_a_c_k from Sweden with 28 ratings

Helt ok rom men inget speciellt. Lite syrlig nästan, ovanlig eftersmak.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 332 ratings

First note is the lime to your nose. It reminds me of Revolte rum and of caipirinha.
It's like this rum was stored in clay barrels. There is not much wood influence in the blend.
I know this flavors from very young blends, but this one should be 12y old.
I could imagine it's around 5-7y old, there is not much rum inside that is 12y old. Or the dilution was too high, but if there is no added sugar, it's quite mild.

The taste is a little bit more complex than the nose, with some more flavors. But still young and watery with very thin flavors. Lime is the dominant aroma, caipirinha, vanilla, some young wood and a little bit stainles steel are in the blend. Maybe this rum was chilled in a steel pot?
Quite mild and thin overall, therefore 66 points.

Nose: lime, stainles steel, citurs, some vanilla (quite simple)
Taste: watery, lime, caipirinha with a sour note and some sweetness, vanilla
Middle: lime, stainles steel, vanilla, sugar cane
Finish: spice, lime, some young wood, vanilla

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 2.5/5
Value (39€): 2/5

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by tesibaer from Germany with 14 ratings

Nice nose with sugar cane, pineapple, oak and some spices. On the palate you can taste the added artificial sugar, also with spices, oak and sugar cane as well as pineapple. In the finish, some oak with tannins, spices and extra sugar crumbs. Most likely old, often used barrels were used. I don't particularly like the rum, it's too straightforwardly sweet.

Schöne Nase mit Zuckerrohr, Ananas, Eiche und etwas Gewürzen. Am Gaumen schmeckt man den zugesetzten, künstlichen Zucker, auch mit Gewürzen, Eiche und Zuckerrohr sowie Ananas. Im Abgang widerum etwas Eiche mit Tanninen, Gewürzen und extra Zuckerkrümeln. Wahrscheinlich wurden überwiegend alte, oft benutzte Fässer verwendet. Mir gefällt der Rum nicht besonders, er ist zu geradlinig süß.

Small img 5797

Posted 12 months ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 193 ratings

barva: světle zlata
vuně: vanilka, karamel
chut:silnější palení, burbon, karamel, lehce koření
koupit:ne
doporucit: ne
7,5

Small superstar

Posted 1 year ago by Taster from Switzerland with 115 ratings

from El Salvador
Nose: very nice, spicy and fruity
Palate: very untypical but still pleasant, reminds a little bit on maple syrup, but is not too sweet. Unfortunately, it was only a sample, would like to taste some more...
(Cal 19 day23)

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Kasper Meijer from Switzerland with 35 ratings

Both these rums are such a good deal. Very tasty and so cheap. Could definitely sell for lot more. Bought them in El Salvador as a package.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 149 ratings

I have previously reviewed the 8-year from Cihuatan, which have plenty of good reviews, but didn´t quite fit my tastebuds. Sadly the exact same thing can be said about this one.

Nose: Clove, caramel, nutmeg, brown sugar and a small hint of banana
Taste: Caramel, coconut, oak, banana and vanilla with a very short watery aftertaste
Overall: I can see from the reviews on this side, that Cihuatan is a popular sipper and more power to you, but this is just to simple and boring for my taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

It Starts really sweet and after the sweetness i had strange plastic notes.
Has a really different taste but not my favourite

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by tortemd from Germany with 66 ratings

Anders als meine gewohnten Rums aus Barbados, aber richtig lecker und interessant

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 95 ratings

This rum with scent of banana was good, not to harsh alcohol, despite it was in aroma.