Posting your rating...
Abuelo XV Napoleon Cognac Cask Finish rum

Abuelo XV Napoleon Cognac Cask Finish

Panama | Aged

Looking beyond Panama for inspiration, Napoleon is expertly finished in Cognac
casks from France for a deep explosion of ripe autumn fruit with elegant hints of
oak and dark chocolate.

8.2/10 (61 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
9
31
16
4

Rate Abuelo XV Napoleon Cognac Cask Finish

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


61 Abuelo XV Napoleon Cognac Cask Finish ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

Last one of the finish collection I have tasted.
In glass, it looks sugary and leave streaks but once you taste it, it is more dry ( not too much ) as expected on the noze specially if you have tasted the Olorosso and/or the Tawny Finish before.
Again, like the 2 other ones from the collection, the Abuelo Napoleon is fruity and the kind of finish is easy to find. The aftertaste is quite short but well .. nothing is perferct , right ?
Good job from Abuelo.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is my least favorite of the Abuelo XV's. My favorite is the Tawny, then the Oloroso, then this. But it's good, and to me it beats the Abuelo 12, though none of the Abuelo XV's match the Abuelo Centuria, imho.

Smells and tastes of cognac, spice, leather, oak, and cacao.

Again, a pretty good rum, but if you only try one Abuelo XV, I recommend their Tawny.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Cognac and oak are very present with some fruits notes like peach. Very sweet in mouth with floral aroma on final. Short aftertaste. A good rum to discovery special finish. Plantation will always be my favorite for this kind of work but a good job from Abuelo.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

Ron Abuelo XV Cognac Cask Bottling Note
An interesting expression from Panamanian Rum range Ron Abuelo - a well-aged expression which has been given a finishing period in casks that previously contained Napoleon Cognac!
Ought to be a fascinating tipple...
-
Taste of:
caramel, chocolate, apple, vanilla, berries, cognac cask....
-
Awesome rum, sweet, aromatic, rich flavor,
one of my favorites.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Ron Abuelo XV Napoleon Cognac Cask edition while vacationing in Amsterdam. I'm surprised Ron Abuelo team did not choose a slightly different bottle design from their regular rums. At least the label design is a bit updated from the usual. Color is deep brown. You get a strong banana flavor to both nose and palate. It is very close to the Plantation 20th Anniversary rum both in nose and palate tests. Hardly any burn due to large sugar contents. My ranking for Special Edition Abuelo Rums is Napoleon (8), Tawny (7), Oloroso (5).

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Richard from Sweden with 67 ratings

A touch of fruits, a touch of spices, a touch of sweetness. A tasty combination but it gets a bit sharp and lacks some fullness

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by GroumpH from France with 32 ratings

Un nez boisé qui peine a cacher l'alcool.
Un palais un peu plus riche, pas si fort en alcool.
Très intéressant. invite à le redécouvrir.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by zaks from France with 40 ratings

D’une belle couleur ambrée, il est sur des parfums de vanille et cacao

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 54 ratings

There are two reasons I was reluctant to try this one. First I am not a big fan of cask-flavouring as too often the styles of spirit are too different and the result ends in a bit of both but never as good as they are apart. Especially rum and cognac don't go well together (Plantation...) in my book. Secondly it is sweetened and I prefer my rums dry; in a way sweetening cask-flavoured rums is a confession that it doesn't really work I think.

On the nose the cognac is omnipresent; hard oak and grape are just as much there as the vanilla and tropical fruits and more present than other typical rum flavours. On the palate it isn't as bad as I feared when the fruit gets stronger and a leathery note comes through; it smells more like cognac but tastes more like rum. A bitter coffee appears too but all in all it lacks a bit of complexity for a 15yo. It is not terribly sweet but I think that is because of all the tannines from the oak suppress the sugar. Bitter and rather simple aftertaste of sweet oak.

I think the quality of the rum (before putting it into cognac casks and sugaring it) is really nice and deserves better but to each his own.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 34 ratings

This rhum has a very attractive nose and a great cognac taste.
Maybe in the same style as the Plantation XO 20th anniversary but moe straight to the cognac point.
Very warm kiss on the whole. A good daily pleasure