Posting your rating...
Abuelo Anejo Oloroso 15-Year rum

Rate Abuelo Anejo Oloroso 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


36 Abuelo Anejo Oloroso 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This a is a good rum. I'd rate it above the Abuelo 12, and below the Abuelo Centuria.

A semi-sweet rum whose taste includes sherry, spice, leather, oak, and cacao. Seems a tad harsh for 40%abv.

Definitely a good rum, but it's not quite top shelf for me. I think the Abuelo XV Tawny is better.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

... and very sweet Sherry as for that: This is one for you. I do like sherry, but this rum is too much. Too sweet. It is very agreable to the nose (plums and sherry), but then too sweet in your mouth. There is a hint of dark chocolate, though. Dark chocolate that lingers in your palate for a pretty long time.

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Napoleon cognac cask finish, ok, dobrej. .

Posted 4 months ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 173 ratings

skvělá verze abuelo 12. opravdu pokud cena zůstane ten rozdíl pár stovek je ok.
vyvíjí se při potí.
příjmená lehce ovocná chuť sherry.

Posted 4 months ago by One808 (PREMIUM) from Canada with 11 ratings

I'm getting a faint nose of licorice from this, similar to an El Dorado, albeit much less pronounced. The taste is deep and rich with a nice long aftertaste. Definitely recommended.

Posted 4 months ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

The best of the three in my opinion, heavy sherry character on par with Dos Maderas Luxus.

Posted 7 months ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Duft af bær og nødder. Sød i smagen, kirsebær og lidt fad. Virkelig en positiv oplevelse, da Abuelo plejer at være en lidt flad fornemmelse. Men god balance og dybde, dog lidt dyr (575 kr) i forhold til, hvad man får. (3. December 2018 MacY)

Posted 8 months ago by Rogier from Netherlands with 10 ratings

The smell and taste of sherry is very obvious in thuis rum. I like sherry and I like rum, but maybe this is a little bit too much sherry. This rum is very smooth and sweet, and has no burn at all.

Posted 12 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

Další výborné Abuelo, ostřejší, voňavé a chutné, top

Posted 12 months ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 86 ratings

Super lækker rom med dejlig duft, kunne sidde med snuden i glasset længe.
Meget anbefalingsværdig og noget bedre end sin lillebror 7 års udgaven.

Posted about 1 year ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Full bodied flavor and rounded rum. Another Abuelo smash hit.

Posted about 1 year ago by frankypoo from United States with 5 ratings

I wouldn't say this is the sipping rum you must have on your bar, but if you're expanding your collection it's good to have to show the different ways rum can be aged and ultimately taste. I love sherry aged spirits, and this one definitely brings it!

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

First sherry tones you can find in aroma. Taste is complex with nice hint of Oloroso, not covering the basic Abuelo rum character. Long aftertaste. Perfect fun is compare all 3 editions (Oloroso,Napoleon,Tawny) together :-)

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

when compared to the Luxus sherry cask, it pales in comparison. However, the nose is brown sugar and light sherry. Taste/finish is dry red wine, medium sweetish sherry. 80+

Posted over 1 year ago by Jacob Rasmussen from Denmark with 6 ratings

The notes of sherry is very strong, but in a good way. The taste varies from vanilla to sherry and the ride is exelent. I love this rum

Posted over 1 year ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Dark amber rum with a nose of burnt brown sugar and figs along with wet oak, tobacco and overripe cherries. A fairly deep character.
The taste is semi sweet at first and medium bodied with notes of orange, cherries, burnt sugar, oak and tobacco. It fills the entire mouth nicely with a lingering sherry finish. The sherry is perhaps a bit overpowering as others have noted, but it’s still a very nice product with character.

Posted over 1 year ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

Panamanian rum from Ron Abuelo's Finish Collection,
which has been given a finishing period in Oloroso Sherry casks!
-
Taste of:
caramel, vanilla, chocolate, a lot of Cherry, sherry cask....

Another Abuelo's astounding rum, sweet, aromatic and rich Aroma.

Posted over 1 year ago by Richard Sargent from United States with 1 rating

Thank God I'm not an expert... Just been drinking rums most of my adult life and fortunately my palate is not jaded with inteligencia. Therefore I rate this a ten... wonderful aroma, wonderful aftertaste on the palate, and fabulous to share with a close friend which I did. Sip slowly straight at room temperature no ice.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a sample from www.masterofmalt.com for £6.61.

Wonderful nose on this rum sweet sherry and oak. Flavours of chocolate and raisin with a touch of cherry and oak. Very nice!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Giancarlo from Peru with 60 ratings

In my opinion this seemed the worst of the 3 ABUELO XV, however it's not a bad rum, only that to my taste this has a lot of finish in Sherry, and takes away the rum itself.

En mi opinión éste me pareció el peor de los 3 ABUELO XV, sin embargo tampoco es un mal ron, solo que a mi gusto este tiene mucha terminación en Jerez, y quita protagonismo al ron en sí.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Ron Abuelo XV Oloroso Sherry Cask edition while vacationing in Amsterdam. I'm surprised Ron Abuelo team did not choose a slightly different bottle design from their regular rums. At least the label design is a bit updated from the usual. Color is very deep reddish brown. You get very strong sherry flavors to both nose and palate. Its very unpleasant for my palate. This is quite a sweet rum so hardly any burn at the end, but its simply way too sweet. My ranking for Special Edition Abuelo Rums is Napoleon (8), Tawny (7), Oloroso (5).

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Lush of hefty oak for up front aroma, dominant sandalwood lingers on with nutmeg and white fruits seeping thru. (19/25)

P- Burning jo-stick fragrant with tropical muskiness, sweaty ripe white fruits, tannin and moist wood. (18/25)

F- Short, compote of sourish dry citrus with under ripe fruit. Wet ligero cigar leaf and sandalwood. Highly oak oriented. (18/25)

Balanced- An mild aged rum that may be hijacked by a dominant and vigorous cask. (17/25)

Weighted Rate:- 72pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted about 2 years ago by Malei from France with 70 ratings

Un rhum particulier, sans rondeur ni longueur qui rappel beaucoup les tanins.

Posted about 2 years ago by Nonkel Danny from Belgium with 9 ratings

Mooie rijke en volle smaak met een lange afdronk. De rijping in oloroso vaten (sherry) heeft deze rum echt goed gedaan.

Posted over 2 years ago by Peter from Slovakia with 74 ratings

jedine XV ktore ma trochu oslovilo bolo Tawny, ostatne nic moc. nieze by tawny bol nejaky zazrak. za tie peniaze slabota 7/10. cisto chut 7,8/10