Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Botucal Mantuano rum

Rate Diplomatico Botucal Mantuano

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


35 Diplomatico Botucal Mantuano ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

My review for this is the same as my review for El Dorado 8.

Pay the extra for Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva if you want a sipping rum.
Get this if you want DIplomatico with coke etc..

Posted almost 2 years ago by Myrthe from Netherlands with 31 ratings

The smoothness makes this rum very drinkable. The taste of alcohol is very single. The taste of vanilla is prominent and makes this a sweet rum.

Posted 2 months ago by Steve from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Sweet dry fruits aroma- almost well aged twany port. Not how it tastes though..... starts sweet, dried fruits (dates, raisins) and caramel then moves to a woody (oak) caramel, slight cocoa and very slight spices at the end. Flavour fills your sense but does not last long which is disappointing. I like it but it’s not fantastic.

Posted 3 months ago by Sousou85 from France with 36 ratings

Diplomatico sympa avec goût de vrai rhum. Mais trais léger...

Posted 3 months ago by methyus from Slovakia with 5 ratings

The taste is not so good. There are some rums with better taste in this price cathegory

Posted 3 months ago by Philinarium from Russian Federation with 22 ratings

В аромате - карамель, сухофрукты и дерево. Аромат насыщенный, но, в то же время, мягкий. Вкус приятный, с доминирующей карамелью, более резкий, чем Reserva Exclusiva, спиртуозность сильнее. Послевкусие, к сожалению, очень короткое и жестковатое, но, в целом, приятное. Хороший ром без затей.

Aroma: caramel, dried fruits and oak - rich and smooth. Taste is nice, caramel dominates, but it's more harsh than Reserva Exclusiva - spirit bitterness is stronger. Aftertaste is, unfortunately, very short and harsh, but nice overall. A good simple rum.

Posted 3 months ago by plastre from Slovakia with 12 ratings

Comparing to Diplomatico 12 years, it is not even close to this taste. Maybe good for drinks, but not for shots.

Posted 3 months ago by gordzilla from Poland with 2 ratings

...as for a rum's newbie fan. I really love it, one of my favorite!

Posted 3 months ago by JoeyKistemaker from Netherlands with 6 ratings

One of the rums that I always have in my home. Great for nipping on a regular evening

Posted 4 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

After i tried the well knowen reserva exclusiva i thought lets try the cheaper version, that was not a good idea

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

The little brother of the Botucal Reserva is less sweet and exudes a nice aroma in the glass.

Not bad, but not good enough for me. Would prefer the older brother Reserva Exclusiva.
But if Reserva Exclusiva is too sweet for you, you should try the Mantuano. He has also a bitter touch.

Smell: vanilla, burned sugar, fermented fruits, dried fruits, wood
Taste: some caramel, vanilla, intensifying, wood and earth, spice.
Nice burn.
Bitterness in the aftertaste, after that fruity aroma.

Sweetness: 2/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

Posted 5 months ago by chris009 from Poland with 20 ratings

Maybe taste is not so rich but very nice for everyday drinking :)
Lidl - 70pln/0.7

Posted 6 months ago by JT from Germany with 21 ratings

Da ich bisher nur den Reserva Exclusiva kannte, hatte ich nicht gedacht, dass der Mantuano nur ansatzweise an den „großen Bruder“ herankommen könnte. Natürlich nicht so intensiv im Aroma, aber ein schöner Rum.

Posted 7 months ago by Harry Molema from South Africa with 22 ratings

Smooth but a bit to sweet... ones enough then I hit the next bottle.

Posted 9 months ago by Schultem from Canada with 6 ratings

For the price difference. Go with the older brother

Posted 12 months ago by Tommaso from Italy with 13 ratings

I tried this rum in Germany where the Diplomatico is called Botucal. Here you can find this rum for cheap and it tastes great. It seems like a slightly less refined version of the Reserva Exclusiva, with the same sweetness and taste. I highly recommend it if you want a good rum for a cheaper price or you don't find others. Goes well with chocolate

Posted almost 1 year ago by marcdeerenberg from Netherlands with 8 ratings

A decent rum but absolutely not comparable with the reserva exclusiva.

Posted about 1 year ago by Kasper Meijer from Panama with 29 ratings

This is a nice sipping rum, but could be used for mixing also. Not fantastic but decent.

Posted about 1 year ago by Diogenes the Rumantic from AF with 37 ratings

Bon rhum d'entrée de gamme. Manque tout de même de rondeur...

Posted about 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

velmi slabý bratříček mého oblíbené Reservy Exclusivy

Posted about 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

This is a very good rum. Great flavor, no burn, smooth across the tongue. Great price for what this rum brings to the table. If you haven’t had Diplomatico before, try this one.

Posted about 1 year ago by Svehloun from Czech Republic with 15 ratings

Stejně chutný jako Reserva. Trochu méně hladký a sladký. Za mě více vyvážený.

Posted about 1 year ago by Kekso from Slovakia with 28 ratings

I am really impressed bough it for 20€, fragrance very small, nothing special, sharper then reserva Exclusiva but for that price very drinkable

Posted over 1 year ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Na mňa príliš veľa aditív, karamel, sladký, viac ako 2-3 poháriky za sebou som nezniesol.

Posted about 2 years ago by Mephisto from Germany with 36 ratings

Nose sweeter than taste, well done. Very spicy with roasted nuts and aroma of full-bodied wine. Further, dark, mature fruits and berries. Cacao and vanilla, short finish.