Posting your rating...
Havana Club Anejo Classico rum

Havana Club Anejo Classico

Puerto Rico | Aged

5.6/10 (33 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
8
4
11
4
3
1

Rate Havana Club Anejo Classico

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


33 Havana Club Anejo Classico ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Steve from United States with 23 ratings

Good caramel smell. Smooth start finishes kinda harsh. Not too bad peobably better as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by abel4us from United States with 7 ratings

I love the Cuban version when I had it in Mexico. Thought I'd try the Puerto Rican Havana Club. Does not taste similar. This is a good mixer. Nothing terrible, just not great.

Color - Light Golden
Aroma - Perfumy, alcohol
Flavor - Black licorice
Finish - Black pepper
Mouthfeel - Thin syrup
Balance - Slightly harsh

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

About a year ago, I saw a bottle of this at Hard Rock Cafe. Since Obama was still President, I figured some of the Cuban products were finally allowed into the USA. Wrong! So I did some research on it.

Way back in 1959 when Fidel nationalized Cuba, the owner of this secret recipe fled back to his native Spain. Meanwhile, the beginnings of the Bacardi rum family fled to neighboring Puerto Rico. Eventually, the man with the original Havana Club Rum recipe hooked up with the Bacardi family. This rum was born. And then the Cuban version of Havana Club sued them, which is why these USA bottles must label it as "Puerto Rican Rum". As far as I am concerned, since soil and climate conditions are similar on both islands, the one with the original recipe has every right to call it Havana Club. Meanwhile, back in Cuba, they are stockpiling Havana Club Rum with new labels called Havanista. They are waiting for the USA embargo to be lifted to export Havanista Rum to the mainland USA. Guess what? That won't happen in the near future. This whole story sounds like, "What came first? The chicken or the egg?". Who cares! I am just glad that this rum is available in the USA for only about $20.

I would describe the taste as being fruit forward with nothing offensive. It is okay on the rocks, but not as a neat sipper. I like to mix it with various tropical nectars such as guava, mango, guanabana, or tamarind. I also have bought quite a few bottles since I tried it, but most merchants in this area call it a slow seller because bourbon drinkers do not know what to do with it.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Troy from United States with 27 ratings

Makes my brain feel nice. I don't know if it's actually good, but I like it

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 2 ratings

Nothing objectionable here, just a nice smooth mellow rum with no strong flavors. It may not be deep, rich or complex but it's good.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by David from United States with 7 ratings

Only good for mixing with a coke . Dont waste your money .

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 47 ratings

This be the spiced version of Havana Club's Anejo Blanco, which be a surprisingly decent rum! There be similarities and some differences 'tween the two though. This rum smells sweet like the Blanco with hints of vanilla and oak, but there barely be banana and no tobacco. As for taste, she also be not as sweet, but while there be some vanilla, tobacco, and wood, there also be a distinctive raisin taste. She seems spicier, but there be no specific spice flavors that jump out at me. Aye, you could make a sipper of this, but I would not recommend it... arrgh!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by 908pride from United States with 2 ratings

Solid mixer enjoyed the taste and price point honestly cant complain. It is what it is . Grab a bottle and enjoy

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Fishyjoe from United States with 5 ratings

I bought a bottle in a rush thinking i was grabbing Cuban Havana Club. On its own it was very harsh and had cheap rum taste to it. The only way I was able to drink it was heavily mixed with coke and it still had that rubbing alcohol taste to it. I will admit I have become a rum snob over the years and I personally did not care for this rum. However, it is not the worst rum I've every had, in fact its not even in my bottom 5.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Anthony C from United States with 118 ratings

I really like this "all purpose" rum. Goes well with most things and by itself. Little bit of cheaper bite, but still good.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by butWHYistherumgone from United States with 14 ratings

This rum has character without resorting to a funkiness or sweetness that is usually there in a non-Cuban style Caribbean rum. It won't wow you. It won't make you want to pull out your cigar, blast some Son Montuno, or anything like that. It will provide you with a Cuban-Style rum that you can buy in the US to make any type of mixer you like, adding a spice and straightness of a lot of Cuban rums that is freaking hard to find in America at a decent price point. I recommend making a rum old-fashioned as the bitters plays very well with this rum. All this, at $20! I mean, come on, hard to beat that.