Posting your rating...
Havana Club Anejo Classico (PR) rum

Havana Club Anejo Classico (PR)

Cuba | Aged

5.5/10
39 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
9
4
14
6
3
1

Rate Havana Club Anejo Classico (PR)

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

39 Havana Club Anejo Classico (PR) ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small jessica for rum ratings

Posted over 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 420 ratings

About a year ago, I saw a bottle of this at Hard Rock Cafe. Since Obama was still President, I figured some of the Cuban products were finally allowed into the USA. Wrong! So I did some research on it.

Way back in 1959 when Fidel nationalized Cuba, the owner of this secret recipe fled back to his native Spain. Meanwhile, the beginnings of the Bacardi rum family fled to neighboring Puerto Rico. Eventually, the man with the original Havana Club Rum recipe hooked up with the Bacardi family. This rum was born. And then the Cuban version of Havana Club sued them, which is why these USA bottles must label it as "Puerto Rican Rum". As far as I am concerned, since soil and climate conditions are similar on both islands, the one with the original recipe has every right to call it Havana Club. Meanwhile, back in Cuba, they are stockpiling Havana Club Rum with new labels called Havanista. They are waiting for the USA embargo to be lifted to export Havanista Rum to the mainland USA. Guess what? That won't happen in the near future. This whole story sounds like, "What came first? The chicken or the egg?". Who cares! I am just glad that this rum is available in the USA for only about $20.

I would describe the taste as being fruit forward with nothing offensive. It is okay on the rocks, but not as a neat sipper. I like to mix it with various tropical nectars such as guava, mango, guanabana, or tamarind. I also have bought quite a few bottles since I tried it, but most merchants in this area call it a slow seller because bourbon drinkers do not know what to do with it.

Small img 20210101 wa0019

Posted 9 months ago by Craiglee from Netherlands with 77 ratings

I'm not sure if this is sold outside the United States. Background is debatable to say the least. Grabbed a couple of miniatures, among many others, for the flight back from Miami. One of the worst tested that night.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Jason from United States with 92 ratings

I was surprised with this one. The color looks a little watered down and the nose is almost straight alcohol, but the flavor was a nice surprise. Notes of sweetness and some spice but a little rough on the finish. It’s not the best sipper but can be done in a pinch. However, this would make for a very good mixer. Either way, can’t go completely wrong either way.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by abel4us from United States with 9 ratings

I love the Cuban version when I had it in Mexico. Thought I'd try the Puerto Rican Havana Club. Does not taste similar. This is a good mixer. Nothing terrible, just not great.

Color - Light Golden
Aroma - Perfumy, alcohol
Flavor - Black licorice
Finish - Black pepper
Mouthfeel - Thin syrup
Balance - Slightly harsh

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Troy from United States with 27 ratings

Makes my brain feel nice. I don't know if it's actually good, but I like it

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 2 ratings

Nothing objectionable here, just a nice smooth mellow rum with no strong flavors. It may not be deep, rich or complex but it's good.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by David from United States with 7 ratings

Only good for mixing with a coke . Dont waste your money .

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by dzheyden from United States with 10 ratings

mixes amazing with coca cola. would be a great gift for somebody.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Alabamacoffeebean from United States with 2 ratings

This, to me, is a very basic aged rum. Tastes fine on its own and also makes pretty good daiquiris and old fashioneds. I feel it’s a better mixer than a sipper

Aroma is woody vanilla with a noticeable alcoholy scent.

Taste is caramel, wood, and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Jesse Mora from United States with 14 ratings

It's definitely not the greatest rum of all time but if it's on sale id be more inclined to purchase this one, personally on a bind type of deal id buy Oak heart over this but if Oakheart wasn't available and I want something light, this would probably be the buy.