Posting your rating...
East London Liquor Company Demerara rum

Rate East London Liquor Company Demerara

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


9 East London Liquor Company Demerara ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Red-Rum from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Colour- light
Taste - high molasses
Uses - nice with ice or a great mixer
Tried this rum at the little bar they have at the distillary very nice straight ice really opens it up but mainly used as a mixer will be buying another bottle as this ones nearly gone

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Nice higher end mixer, not horrible straight up either.
Typical Demara rum flavor, but not aged long enough to get rid of the young alcohol taste.
Makes a very, perhabs too, easy to drink rum and coke!

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

My expectations were higher than they should have been. It is a demerara, but not all that fabulous. A bit bitteron the palate, the nose promises more than the palate gives. A weak Enmore.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

This is not long aged rum (3years), but it has moderate richness.
Good caramel flavor and easy to drink.
This is basis of Demerara, I think so.

By the way, is this spiced rum ? I think, it's not right.

Posted about 1 year ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

I’m surprised by how much I like this run, really nice sweet spice with hints of vanilla and nutmeg. Mixed great with coke and decent on its own if you can believe it. Only reason it wasn’t higher is a slightly unpleasant tangy finish that kicks in after a few seconds. Give it a try

Posted over 1 year ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

I quite like this. A nice pale colour and good smell and aftertaste. It reminded me of Abuela 12 only a little bit more laid-back and less sharp and with less alcoholic sting. Must give it more of a go and expand on this, but I did enjoy it.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 32 ratings

Kind of thick feeling. Plenty of alcohol on the schnozz, tastes a bit like brown sugar. Overall pretty nice rum but very sweet.

Posted about 2 years ago by mattrensa (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Still has that unique Guyanese flavour, the demerara background is there, as its young (3yrs) don't expect too many fireworks. Drink this at room temperature to fully appreciate its flavour, also great as a high end mixer.
Manufactured by DDL, the guy's in the Whiskey Exchange in Covent Garden went to the launch of this by the East London Liquor Co. and they were informed it uses the same stills as El Dorado.
Update - the guys at WE said it drinks best when the temperature rises, tried it first when it was 1c outside and thought it was OK, just tried it again at a balmy 11c outside and even though still nippy the taste is so different, lovely light bodied rum, enjoyed best when it gets warmer outside, roll on the summer.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the East London Liquor Company Navy Strength Demerara Rum and what a kick the rum gives you at 114 proof (57%). Color of the rum is very nice semi dark brown, and you get the pleasant Guyana based Demerara rum flavors, but since this is not aged long at all and bottled at such a high proof, it is a mixer only. Neat sipping this one is a challenge.