Posting your rating...
English Harbour 5-Year rum

Rate English Harbour 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


127 English Harbour 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Elanita from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Very nice colour, rich flavour, little bit more hard, full body.

Posted about 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

This rum has reached a fine quality in 5 years on used bourbon barrels. Considering there's no added molasse, the balance is great. The nose is mild and a little tannic with notes of figs, molasse and caramel. These notes also appear when you take a sip, followed by a little oaky spicyness and a fairly smooth finish.

Posted about 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Sherry and molasses nose, but watery, simplistic taste with zero mouthfeel and no follow-up. There is nothing terrible about this rum, but these days there are so many excellent choices out there that you needn't settle for something as mediocre and undistinguished as this. Too dull to be a decent sipper, and not enough character to stand out in cocktails. A give-away rum for sure.

Posted about 4 years ago by Craig from Canada with 16 ratings

Probably not a great idea but I am writing this review after drinking another rum (Bacardi 8). I just reviewed that rum here at rumratings.com . These rums are quite comparable and given this is aged 5 years to 8 for the Bacardi that's pretty decent. I found the English Harbour easier (smoother) on the palate than the 8 which was better mixed as in an Old fashioned. Comparing these products a day apart is a little strange. On its own merit the English Harbour has a nice smokey overtone. I think I'll enjoy this even more in a mixed drink. For now I'll have to say "on the rocks". Update to follow!!

Posted over 4 years ago by Rumnoobie from United States with 4 ratings

I think it has a very pleasant nose. Lots of molasses and vanilla. Spicy, but not artificially spicy. Taste wise, I'm not sure that I'm capable of picking out the individual notes, but it's very pleasant. It has a fairly long finish, pleasant as well. My feelings on this one may change as I mature, but I've spent more on rums that I enjoyed a lot less!

Posted over 4 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

I like this rum. I think a few people are being a little overly critical on this one. Good dry whisky like taste at first and then undeniable rum finish. Not my very top shelf but the next shelf down from that.

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alcohol: 40%
Origin: Antigua and Barbuda
Aroma: The aroma is heavy, buttery, with the impression of caramel, sweet and spicy, a little lacquer. Clearly recognizable coconut tones. (88 b)
Taste: The taste is no doubt that drinking rum. The sweet-spicy, distinctive. (86 b)
Summary: This is a dense, heavier style of rum, suited to cooler weather, I got him to such a Christmas feel. Nice rum that warms the body and soul.
Points: 87/100.

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

This is my vision of what i think the pirates from the good old days drank. Dark taste and a bit of alcohol taste to it. Not the best i have tasted but still.. The feeling..

Posted about 6 years ago by shemy from Antigua And Barbuda with 1 rating

This rum is awsome, its smooth and its great for a party and hangout. It is also great to mix with coco cola soda

Posted about 6 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

For a five year aged rum I was quite surprised. It was smooth with a hint of spice; woody and semi-tannic with good legs and nice body. Definitely one I seek out.

Posted about 1 month ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 36 ratings

Bought this in a 50ml bottle, just to expand my rum horizon, and let it rest for about 30 minutes in a (covered) tasting glass before trying. It doesn't really open up but I get some fudge and wood on the nose, not unpleasant but it also shows very little character. On the palate nothing really changes, (soft) influences of wood and a light fudge-like taste, enhanced by sugar. It is not a really sweet rum but it is just barely semi-dry. Goes down easily and drinking this is no punishment but the taste is also very forgettable.

When you can buy this for around €20,= I understand that this can be a go-to rum though I think nicer ones are available for even less. What I don't get is that after drinking this anybody is still willing to throw €60,= at this distiller to try their 10 year old version. This rum does not invite you, let alone seduce you, to try their 'better' rums. There is no ambition to shine in this one so why try?

Posted about 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

This rum must be the best you can get to this ridiculous low price. I haven’t found anyone that can compete so far. It’s an everyday rum to an exceptionally low price.
Picture: My English Harbour shelf.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kristof from Belgium with 36 ratings

This rum goes well with cola and I drink it straight up all the time. Simple but good taste!

Posted 12 days ago by Jim Chamberlin from United States with 10 ratings

Sherry and caramel nose. Its a little light for mouth feel, smoky caramel tasting notes and the finish is quite short. A little longer in the barrel would probably add more character to this young rum.

Posted 24 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

This was one of my go to mixer rums very tasty but cruzan single barrel kinda won.

Posted about 1 month ago by Stonge1954 (PREMIUM) from United States with 3 ratings

First tried this whilst on holiday in Antigua, I really enjoy the balance of this rum, great for summertime sipping neat, or with a decent ginger ale and ice. No added sugar, etc makes this an honest rum!

Posted 3 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 23 ratings

Pleasant, whisky-like dry English-style column still rum. Butter, caramel, oak. Worth keeping on your shelf as an excellent gold rum for mixing.

Posted 3 months ago by CSG from United States with 23 ratings

It’s light as advertised with some undercurrent of aging in barrels. But sometimes the alcohol is too much for sipping, and as for mixing, it’s just bland and the sweetness doesn’t shine. Not worth the ‘value’ play others are suggesting, but it’s not like you have to avoid it either. Drinkable for sure but not special or specifically enjoyable.

Posted 3 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 32 ratings

Great price on this rum. This island produces some great sweet flavours.

Posted 4 months ago by coolkayaker from United States with 16 ratings

This rum was my first experience with an aged rum. My wife and I purchased a bottle on our honeymoon in Antigua back in 2012. Since then, on every anniversary we pour a little from the bottle. We just finished it.

As far as taste, sure there are better rums and more expensive rums, but this rum has a special place in my heart.
That being said, there are plenty of better runs out there. If not for the sentimental value, I'd rate a 5.

Posted 4 months ago by scottlalib from United States with 12 ratings

A surprisingly tasty sip at this price point. I found it in the BVIs and came to enjoy the light weight on a sunny afternoon.

Posted 4 months ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

As far as a 5 year old rum goes, it is rather standard. On the sharp side due to the immaturity, otherwise quite bland.

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This one actually tastes a bit nosed to me amd to others that I blind it on. No real finish buy there are some red fruits, chocolate, and caramel throughout it.

Posted 6 months ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 61 ratings

Whether you mix or sip I think this could appeal. It's light colour does not elude to much. The smokey whiskey aromas hides a naturally sweet fruity taste hit that quickly fades back to that dry woody aftertaste making you go back for more quicker than usual. It's much smoother than any other 5 year that I've ever had. It's elegance in simplicity and would go well in most situations

Posted 7 months ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

Do 500 Kč dobrá volba - pil jsem dost dražších a mnohem horších kořalek. Celkový dojem je vskutku takový britsky koloniální; pro sledování Pirátů z Karibiku jako dělané. I lahev je taková starosvětsky lodnická; bakelitové víčko to sice drobet kazí, ale pod ním se překvapivě skrývá poctivý korkový špunt.
Dobře vymyšlený, lehký a příjemně pitelný, jen jaksi pořád stejný rum - což ale v téhle cenové kategorii nepřekvapuje. Kupodivu ale obstoji i v bezprostředním srovnání s dvakrát dražšími kolegy, což z těch levných zvládne málokterý (rozuměj - ne, že snad byl stejně dobrý, avšak nejenže nepůsobí jako úplně hnusný, ale dá se jím neurážlivě, ba dokonce vcelku uspokojivě pokračovat).
Nějaké zralejší flašce z ostrova Antigua v podobně rozumné relaci bych se určitě nebránil, opakovat tuhle už ale nebudu - Plantation Grande Reserve, ale dokonce třeba i Pampero Aniversario zahraje za stejné peníze přeci jen podstatně lepší bigbít.