Posting your rating...
English Harbour 5-Year rum

English Harbour 5-Year

Antigua and Barbuda | Aged

6.6/10 (129 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
9
12
26
52
24
4

Rate English Harbour 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


129 English Harbour 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

This rum has reached a fine quality in 5 years on used bourbon barrels. Considering there's no added molasse, the balance is great. The nose is mild and a little tannic with notes of figs, molasse and caramel. These notes also appear when you take a sip, followed by a little oaky spicyness and a fairly smooth finish.

031c1c2b99f70b2a2db23160950a0574.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 45 ratings

Bought this in a 50ml bottle, just to expand my rum horizon, and let it rest for about 30 minutes in a (covered) tasting glass before trying. It doesn't really open up but I get some fudge and wood on the nose, not unpleasant but it also shows very little character. On the palate nothing really changes, (soft) influences of wood and a light fudge-like taste, enhanced by sugar. It is not a really sweet rum but it is just barely semi-dry. Goes down easily and drinking this is no punishment but the taste is also very forgettable.

When you can buy this for around €20,= I understand that this can be a go-to rum though I think nicer ones are available for even less. What I don't get is that after drinking this anybody is still willing to throw €60,= at this destiller to try their 10 year old version. This rum does not invite you, let alone seduce you, to try their 'better' rums. There is no ambition to shine in this one so why try?

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Sherry and molasses nose, but watery, simplistic taste with zero mouthfeel and no follow-up. There is nothing terrible about this rum, but these days there are so many excellent choices out there that you needn't settle for something as mediocre and undistinguished as this. Too dull to be a decent sipper, and not enough character to stand out in cocktails. A give-away rum for sure.

8a3440989e6150ea036189ad561e71ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Craig from Canada with 16 ratings

Probably not a great idea but I am writing this review after drinking another rum (Bacardi 8). I just reviewed that rum here at rumratings.com . These rums are quite comparable and given this is aged 5 years to 8 for the Bacardi that's pretty decent. I found the English Harbour easier (smoother) on the palate than the 8 which was better mixed as in an Old fashioned. Comparing these products a day apart is a little strange. On its own merit the English Harbour has a nice smokey overtone. I think I'll enjoy this even more in a mixed drink. For now I'll have to say "on the rocks". Update to follow!!

1b67a699396339508eb2f9f293049b5b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Rumnoobie from United States with 4 ratings

I think it has a very pleasant nose. Lots of molasses and vanilla. Spicy, but not artificially spicy. Taste wise, I'm not sure that I'm capable of picking out the individual notes, but it's very pleasant. It has a fairly long finish, pleasant as well. My feelings on this one may change as I mature, but I've spent more on rums that I enjoyed a lot less!

5736b98563126b5be6823bccebf3d250.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

I like this rum. I think a few people are being a little overly critical on this one. Good dry whisky like taste at first and then undeniable rum finish. Not my very top shelf but the next shelf down from that.

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alcohol: 40%
Origin: Antigua and Barbuda
Aroma: The aroma is heavy, buttery, with the impression of caramel, sweet and spicy, a little lacquer. Clearly recognizable coconut tones. (88 b)
Taste: The taste is no doubt that drinking rum. The sweet-spicy, distinctive. (86 b)
Summary: This is a dense, heavier style of rum, suited to cooler weather, I got him to such a Christmas feel. Nice rum that warms the body and soul.
Points: 87/100.

80be7e9723e9073a50ab23f7ec9ae43d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

This is my vision of what i think the pirates from the good old days drank. Dark taste and a bit of alcohol taste to it. Not the best i have tasted but still.. The feeling..

08b14143c83a1917732c69b788b98c79.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by shemy from Antigua And Barbuda with 1 rating

This rum is awsome, its smooth and its great for a party and hangout. It is also great to mix with coco cola soda

7c872109ad49fcded011f6ea2619b0f0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

For a five year aged rum I was quite surprised. It was smooth with a hint of spice; woody and semi-tannic with good legs and nice body. Definitely one I seek out.