Posting your rating...
English Harbour 5-Year rum

English Harbour 5-Year

Antigua and Barbuda | Aged

6.5/10 (136 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
8
12
29
55
25
4

Rate English Harbour 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


136 English Harbour 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rumaniac from Greece with 7 ratings

An honest & robust, but not harsh rum, although with no special character or something really remarkable about it (but, hey, we are talking about a 5-years old rum, right!?). Spicyness & oakiness in right measure give this rum a warm aftertaste, and its price is a definite plus! A nice surprise!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by asloper6001 from United States with 9 ratings

Good rum for the price. Worth a try for sure if you need some rum

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 167 ratings

Definitely not a sipper. Harsh. No depth. Might make an ok mixer. Might not. Fairly forgettable really.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by mjlanger (PREMIUM) from Canada with 16 ratings

This rum tastes nice. It is quite drinkable but it does not have any real unique taste.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Jim Chamberlin from United States with 10 ratings

Sherry and caramel nose. Its a little light for mouth feel, smoky caramel tasting notes and the finish is quite short. A little longer in the barrel would probably add more character to this young rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

This was one of my go to mixer rums very tasty but cruzan single barrel kinda won.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Stonge1954 (PREMIUM) from United States with 3 ratings

First tried this whilst on holiday in Antigua, I really enjoy the balance of this rum, great for summertime sipping neat, or with a decent ginger ale and ice. No added sugar, etc makes this an honest rum!

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 28 ratings

Pleasant, whisky-like dry English-style column still rum. Butter, caramel, oak. Worth keeping on your shelf as an excellent gold rum for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by CSG from United States with 28 ratings

It’s light as advertised with some undercurrent of aging in barrels. But sometimes the alcohol is too much for sipping, and as for mixing, it’s just bland and the sweetness doesn’t shine. Not worth the ‘value’ play others are suggesting, but it’s not like you have to avoid it either. Drinkable for sure but not special or specifically enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 64 ratings

Great price on this rum. This island produces some great sweet flavours.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by coolkayaker from United States with 16 ratings

This rum was my first experience with an aged rum. My wife and I purchased a bottle on our honeymoon in Antigua back in 2012. Since then, on every anniversary we pour a little from the bottle. We just finished it.

As far as taste, sure there are better rums and more expensive rums, but this rum has a special place in my heart.
That being said, there are plenty of better runs out there. If not for the sentimental value, I'd rate a 5.