Posting your rating...
English Harbour 5-Year rum

Rate English Harbour 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


127 English Harbour 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 6 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

There is burnt caramel, the smell of toasted coconut, a little vanilla, oak, a smokey edge and a slight fruitiness to the aroma. For me the taste is true to the aroma. It also has a lovely smokey finish with apricots and peaches. A nice bit of fire in its belly too.....and who doesn't like a kick in the ribs.

Posted about 2 years ago by Laurent Lapierre from Canada with 59 ratings

Ce rhum n'est pas rafiné dutout, l'alcool est trop présente, on dirait presque Un rhum agricole

Posted about 2 years ago by Dave Sharp from United States with 1 rating

Great rum. !

Posted over 2 years ago by Ian Storey from Canada with 18 ratings

Excellent 5 year rum - smooth Aftertaste conjures up image of Caribbean when you can't actually do the travel

Posted over 2 years ago by Tom Campbell from Canada with 8 ratings

This rum is good but not too tier. The finish bis too short and though carmel, molasses and vanilla are there theyre almost too light. For the price its good value but nothing I would keep for special occasions

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

I was reluctant to buy this one based upon all of these reviews, but after having been to Antigua just once, I owed it to myself to give it a try. It is very dry and apparently has no added sugar. The aroma and taste are next to nothing, but the after taste is slightly bitter. As usual, I let my sipping rums breathe for a while to remove the burn. At only $26, it is one of the cheapest dry rums that I have found. When this bottle is finally gone, I may miss it and could go looking for another one. I would not use it as a neat sipper, but it makes a fantastic rum and coke or served on the rocks. It is so neutral that it reminds me of the very good people that I met on the island along with some very bad ones.

Update: I have since found out that it has 15 gpl of added sugar, which is apparently the borderline between dry and sweet, so it is actually semi-dry. I have always considered dry rums as having less than 10 gpl of added sugar. So compared to one of my top rated aged rums being a 41 gpl sugar bomb, then no wonder this one tasted dry to me. By the way, flavored rums can range from 53 gpl to 99 gpl of added sugar.

And by the way, after six months with a half bottle remaining, it still tastes the same as the day that I opened it. However, it is rather boring as a sipper and there are many cheaper rums that make equally good rum and cokes. I would almost drop my rating down to a 6, but there is absolutely nothing offensive about this one. It also has no ill after effects whatsoever, so consider this one as a penalty free rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from Canada with 11 ratings

One of my favorites. All round great ru. Very enjoyable

Posted over 2 years ago by D. Ulriksen from Denmark with 23 ratings

Nose: sweet caramel and alcohol scent

Taste: watery/ no complexity

Aftertaste: alcohol
I would not recommend this rum!

Posted over 2 years ago by David from United States with 1 rating

Not bad for a five year aged rum. I was pleasently surprised. It was smooth and not too sweet, woody with a hint of spice. Really nice bottle as well.

Posted over 2 years ago by Bobanski from Denmark with 25 ratings

Never ever again. This is the most terible rum i have tasted yet.
Wouldnt recommend it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Shaun from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

I want to like this rum as Antigua is our favourite island...but it lacks something. The complex flavours are there i.e. a hint of vanilla and toffee..but it packs a little harshness on the throat...and I mean a little but enough to not want me to have more than couple. Even ice/water doesn't bring it out. A little enigma of a rum. Still too good to be a mixer.

Posted over 2 years ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

Not running out to buy this bottle again and again but was ok to drink ,
Nothing for me stood out good mixer
It’s just ok

Posted over 2 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

It's a bit oaky but not too bitter. It's sweet enough with a true rhum taste. Not spiced nor molasse. I also liked it with a little sprite

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried a bottle of English Harbour 5 year old when vacation in Antigua 2 years ago and what a disappointment. Should have gone for the 10 year old, but the 5 year old has a very strong alcohol smell and taste to it, and man the burn is harsh. You get the burn even through some Coke splashed to the glass. Real pity that the 10 year old bottle was no where to be found when I was there since that should have been better stuff.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

Definitely not scowl or gag worthy, but it's not making me say "Mmm"

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

Not as sweet as some other rums. It has a definite whiskey taste to it, smokey. It is enjoyable and has a a bit of a burn. I will mix in the future, not sure if I will save as a sipper.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Picked up a bottle of English Harbour 5 year when I was in Antigua. I had asked what would be a nice rum reflecting a fine rum made in Antigua. This rum does not disappoint! Not too sweet and not too inundated with oak, tobacco or burn going down. A nice sipper that I wouldn't advise mixing with anything. Looking forward to trying their 10 year old presentation next.

Posted about 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 131 ratings

Medium amber in colour; moderate aromas of caramel,flavours reflect the aromas with more brown sugar, wood spice, walnut, clove and ginger.

Posted about 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Not quite distinctive enough to stand out as a solid sipper, this 5 year rum is best reserved for punches and swizzles where a solid gold caribbean rum is called for. Not the most exciting rum, but certainly a solid choice to have on hand for cocktails.

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

This most reminded me of a much less syrupy version of Gosling's Family Reserve Old.

Posted about 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV. Supposedly a blend of rums 5–7 years old.

This is one of those rums that simply met (or just exceeded) my expectations; no real surprises. There is typical caramel/brown-sugar/molasses/oak on the nose. This rum is full-flavored, very smooth, and only lightly sugared. At 80 proof, it's a bit light on firepower, but overall it's a fairly well-balanced package.

This rum, I imagine, would be equally serviceable as a mixer or sipper, and for that reason is recommendable to those with limited shelf-space. (I would also recommend RL Seale's Finest 10-year.)

7

Posted about 3 years ago by Pavel Cech from Czech Republic with 48 ratings

Average taste, good on ice. Standard and average for me.

Posted about 3 years ago by Elanita from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Very nice colour, rich flavour, little bit more hard, full body.

Posted about 3 years ago by Gabor Ertl from Hungary with 28 ratings

Hirtelen felindulásból vettem meg. Nem volt drága és kíváncsi lettem mit tudhat. Nem vártam csodát és nem is lett, de az árához és a korához képest egészen jól iható, lágyabb, közepes testű rum. Az íze és az illata is csak az alapot hozza, de azt jól. Melasz, karamell és vanília, nem kirobbanó és nem is hagy mély benyomást. Kissé zavaró, kesernyés mellék- és utóíz. Opálos, nem szép tiszta.

Posted about 3 years ago by Rod from United States with 16 ratings

This is a nice mellow slightly spicy Rum. Great in Rum and Coke.