Posting your rating...
English Harbour 10-Year rum

English Harbour 10-Year

Antigua and Barbuda | Aged | 40.0% ABV

7.8/10
52 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
18
18
10
2

Rate English Harbour 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

52 English Harbour 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by Quilty from United States with 11 ratings

Best of the available English Harbor rums (save for the no longer available 1981 I suppose which I have never tried). Not as complex as other Caribbean rums and not a lot of weight to it, but it's not thin, and the flavor profile does come through. Aroma is very pleasant with caramel overtones, but is probably better than the actual drink. Very easy to drink, though, and very good in a cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This is a delicious rum for sipping neat because it has an abundance of warm flavors...toffee, coffee, vanilla, burnt sugar and some spice. It's mighty fine and perhaps worth a nine rating but the price (US $95) knocks it down a solid notch. I can buy 4 bottles of Seale 10yo rum for less than the price of just 1 bottle of this rum, also 10 years old. No contest.

Small 1612468679129

Posted 3 months ago by Montana from Germany with 63 ratings

A smell of vanilla, oranges, cinnamon.
A well balanced taste of sweetness and bitterness, a little bit fruity.
The finish is long and mild, later on it gets sweeter.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 3 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 224 ratings

I’m a fan of English Harbour and this one doesn’t disappoint me.
Today there’s only one remaining distillery in Antigua which is the Antigua Distillery Ltd (ADL). It was founded when some local rum shop owners got together in 1929 mainly to streamline purchasing and management of the molasses and to get better control over the production, and three years later the company saw the light of day.
1933 they moved to the new built distillery on Rat Island in St. John. Then they had a 4-column copper Savalle Still. At that time the molasses was bought locally.
In the beginning the owners blended and bottled the rum under own label to sell in their shop. It was first in 1947 they released a joint rum, the Cavalier.
In 1991 they replaced the Savalle still with a new 3-column copper John Dore still, and just three years later the English Harbour Rum was released named after the harbour in the south of the island which Admiral Horatio Nelson and the English fleet used during the 18th century.
Today there’s no sugar cane plantation in Antigua instead the molasses is bought from Dom. Rep. and Guyana. After arrival it’s fermented in open-top fermenters were the added yeast marries with wild yeast.
This rum is after distillation aged in former used bourbon barrels of American oak which are charred inside for between 10 and 25 years. To enhance the oak taste is a handful of oak chips added to each barrel. After the aging it’s blended and bottled at ABV 40%.
In the aroma and in mouth and palate I recognize vanilla, sugar, oak, toffee, vanilla and a hint of black pepper. The finish is balanced and very round.
Overall it’s very dry and oaky.
It can’t compete with the 1981 but it’s a fantastic rum which I always enjoy when I find the way to the bottle.
Picture: My ADL shelf.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 154 ratings

Rums under the English Harbour label are produced from fermented molasses via copper pot distillation. Maturation takes place in small 220 litre x-whisky and bourbon barrels. This 'Reserve' bottling has been aged for a minimum of 10 years, with components up to 25 years of age included in the final blend.
Taste like EL15

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

Purchased this due to my love of English Harbour 5 year. I is better than the 5 year but only slightly. Would give it an 8.5 if i could. Surprisingly, not very sweet but has a great finish of vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Rsvec from Austria with 80 ratings

Wow very nice - give me more please. Bit pricey though.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 5 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

Solid full bodied rum, taste pure with nice aged depth. My kind of rum, look forward to trying some of their other offerings $65 in Atlanta. Very nice.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 50 ratings

The light colour of this rum somewhat belies a substantial nose and even weighter mouthfeel. On the nose is toffee, raisin and a bit of orange. Really nice. The palate has a beautiful, full mouthfeel, with flavours of taffy apple, butterscotch and a touch of peppered heat on the finish. This is a really lovely rum! Worth searching for.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted 7 months ago by Jagsroy from Canada with 184 ratings

The English Harbour Reserve 10 yr rum is a new addition to the Rum lineup available in my area, which retails $62.48 in Nova Scotia, Canada. This is a dry rum (as many have expressed) and it is indeed very tasty. Definitely a rum I will keep in my cabinet

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by scottlalib from United States with 13 ratings

Had the pleasure of trying this in Antigua. Light and smooth enough for a warm afternoon on the beach. It held up well to the ice and lime, but went down well neat later in the evening.