Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year rum

Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year

Panama | Aged

9.3/10
61 ratings
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
6
22
30

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

61 Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Auriuman78 from United States with 15 ratings

Nice color and smell is very rich. Sugary sweet caramel and vanilla. Flavor has a lot of complexity, I'm not experienced enough to hit it all but definitely a caramel sweet molasses with vanilla and spice. If it wasn't 90 a bottle and rare limited at that, I'd drink it all the time.

Alas, I'm very slowly working my way through this one. I believe in enjoying good things. Sure, I could shelf this for a long time and be happy on cheaper stuff, and in between I sure do, but I definitely am enjoying this limited treat. Certainly should be enjoyed with a good friend that can appreciate a good complex treat like this one.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Cameron from Australia with 19 ratings

Amazing rum - wonderful flavor with a long after taste, sweet. my bottle is 5600 out of 6720 bottled in 2015 so it makes it a rare specimen! Tasting as good as it does, this wont last very long!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by MDMIII from United States with 4 ratings

Out of 40 + rums that I have collected this is by far my favorite. A bit expensive so it only comes out for very good friends.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 471 ratings

Why "surprising"? Because I rate the Zafra 21 an 8 - this is a nice step up.

This is smoother than the 21, and more sophisticated. Smells and tastes of caramel, oak, and honey, with a hint of bourbon, and a nice light spice. I prefer this to the $500 El Dorado 25, which I knocked down to a 9 after tasting this (it was previously at the bottom of my 10's which are getting over-crowded ).

A delicious rum; I recommend this even if you're not a fan of the Zafra 21.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 4 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 27 GPL. I found no official number but this rum is very close to Abuelo Centuria in sweetness therefore I am using the same sugar rating. I bought this in February of 2020 and was going to wait for something special. Since 2020 was such a bust I decided that I wasn't going to wait any longer for a positive occasion and I opened bottle number 0164. This is my 200th rum and it is a special rum for sure.
Nice Mahogany colour and the aroma is just wonderful. Caramel, vanilla, aromatic pipe tobacco, and the wood smells that come from this are like that of new furniture. Super smooth, sweet, and so well balanced with the tastes of vanilla, burnt sugar-caramel, oak, a touch of smoke and a hint of baking spices. A masterpiece of rum. It's pricey at $180 USD, but I have to say with the crazy world we live in now...go for it! You won't be disappointed.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 218 ratings

Bottle 3717 out of 6720!
Can it be any better then this?
Nose, mouth, afterburn - Georgius!
The best “Ron” I have ever tasted!
Picture: My top five shelf!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Hector from United States with 62 ratings

Truly fantastic rum from Zafra, I rate it an 8 only because I think is overpriced, yes it is delicious and very easy to drink , it comes in a nice box, it has the 30 years age statement but if dropping 200 dollars for any bottle it has to completely blow
me away and this didn't. I would rather buy 4 bottles of Zafar 21 instead, great but not worth the money.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Ein guter Rum, leider für das was er bietet viel zu teuer.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

Trully amazing rum, great aftertaste, great flavor, great finish and persistance.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 73 ratings

I have bottle 2088 out of 6720. Here are my impressions:

Nose: Matured Oak, Fine Tobacco, Maple Syrup, Baked Apples
Palate: Matured Oak, Smokiness, Maple Syrup, Fine Tobacco, Tangerine
Aftertaste: Smoky Caramel, Oak

This is excellent - a fantastic rum -but the 21 year is actually more to my liking at about 1/4 the price of this rum. Perhaps this rum will grow further on me but right now it is just too expensive to be a full 10 in relation to the product, even if it is mostly excellent.

On the nose you get a wonderful deep and pungent combination of deep oak, tobacco, maple syrup, and something like baked apples. The oak comes through very strong but in a very matured way. Once you take a sip you get a lovely combination of that oak with a smokiness to it along with a hint of maple syrup and lighter notes of fine cigar tobacco and tangerine. It really is quite a pleasant combination. The aftertaste is drier with a slight burn with the smokiness and a caramelized oaky flavor lingering in the mouth. The aftertaste is not as impressive or long lasting as I would have expected, but it is still quite excellent. I think overall I am very slightly disappointed with the final product experience in relation to the price. It is a fantastic rum for sure, but I am not sure it is worth what I paid for it. If price is truly no object to you, then this is wonderful rum and a real treat...and maybe my experience with it will get better as I come back to it. That said right now Zafra 21 Year is a slightly more complex and enjoyable rum at 1/4 the price of its 30 year old brother. As I sip more on this one I will reflect further and this review may change but here is my initial scoring.

Nose: 10
Palate: 10
Aftertaste: 8
Smoothness: 10
Versatility: 9
Price: 6

Overall: 8.8

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 6 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 276 ratings

Right from the first taste you know this rum is from Don Pancho Las Cabras distillery. Very reminiscent on Dan Pancho 21 I rated from Sansibar but even smoother. Very dark mahogany color smooth rich sweet with great in lingering flavors. Definitely in my top 10. I wonder if it’s any different than Don Pancho 30, much more reasonable if you can find it.