Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year rum

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


42 Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

Possible the softess spirit I have come across. Reminiscent of the 21 year but more balance. The add time in the cask has dual up the oak and down the sweetness and vanilla that are overly strong in the younger version. It is not cheap but I challenge you to find another 30 year old for any less. It is a great option for a special occasion.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cameron from Australia with 19 ratings

Amazing rum - wonderful flavor with a long after taste, sweet. my bottle is 5600 out of 6720 bottled in 2015 so it makes it a rare specimen! Tasting as good as it does, this wont last very long!

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

Why "surprising"? Because I rate the Zafra 21 an 8 - this is a nice step up.

This is smoother than the 21, and more sophisticated. Smells and tastes of caramel, oak, and honey, with a hint of bourbon, and a nice light spice. I prefer this to the $500 El Dorado 25, which I knocked down to a 9 after tasting this (it was previously at the bottom of my 10's which are getting over-crowded ).

A delicious rum; I recommend this even if you're not a fan of the Zafra 21.

Posted 5 months ago by MDMIII from United States with 4 ratings

Out of 40 + rums that I have collected this is by far my favorite. A bit expensive so it only comes out for very good friends.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Trully amazing rum, great aftertaste, great flavor, great finish and persistance.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Giancarlo from Peru with 60 ratings

This excellent dark amber rum presents scents of vanilla, caramel, fruit and wood, which when you taste it, you can also feel on the tongue the bourbon present in the barrel where it was aged.

Este excelente Ron de color ámbar oscuro presenta olores de vainilla, caramelo, frutas y madera, que al probarlo puedes sentir en la lengua también el bourbon presente en la barrica donde fue envejecido.

Posted over 2 years ago by Honza Krum from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

Jemná chuť, bezvadná barva, opravdu překrásné pití děkuji Hedonist klubu

Posted over 2 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Ein guter Rum, leider für das was er bietet viel zu teuer.

Posted over 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

The color is a beautiful caramel mahogany. You get a hint of the barrel to the nose with a vanilla, syrup and woodsy smell that take you through the woods and a wonderful fire. The taste as it hits your tongue is a vanilla, caramel and subtle fruit with minimal burn from the bourbon barrel. Probably a bit pricey but excellent rum easily in top 5 percent. Great neat or on rocks. Would be excellent with cigar.

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

Bottle 3717 out of 6720!
Can it be any better then this?
Nose, mouth, afterburn - Georgius!
The best “Ron” I have ever tasted!
Picture: My top five shelf!

Posted over 2 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

Yes it is expensive and limited but if you can afford a bottle and find one I don't think you will regret getting one. I really like the standard Zafra bottling but this one is even better. This is a slow sipper for me.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Alban from France with 1 rating

Malgré le prix assez cher 250 euros la bouteille je ne suis vraiment pas déçu d'avoir craquer dessus je le conseille vivement !!!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Matt Roffe from Australia with 1 rating

This is a sweet & decadent rum that is well worth the money. The finish is smooth and long lasting.

Posted 19 days ago by Mark from Australia with 6 ratings

This is a truly a decadent pleasure - long savoured caramel aftertaste, take your time with this. Bought at auction and don’t regret it.

Posted 25 days ago by mprohr from United States with 2 ratings

This is a delicious sipper. Very complex but not "funky". The right amount of oak and smooth as silk. You pay for perfection, but it was worth it.

Posted about 1 month ago by Auriuman78 from United States with 15 ratings

Nice color and smell is very rich. Sugary sweet caramel and vanilla. Flavor has a lot of complexity, I'm not experienced enough to hit it all but definitely a caramel sweet molasses with vanilla and spice. If it wasn't 90 a bottle and rare limited at that, I'd drink it all the time.

Alas, I'm very slowly working my way through this one. I believe in enjoying good things. Sure, I could shelf this for a long time and be happy on cheaper stuff, and in between I sure do, but I definitely am enjoying this limited treat. Certainly should be enjoyed with a good friend that can appreciate a good complex treat like this one.

Posted about 2 months ago by je_farley from United States with 101 ratings

This is one of the finest rums I have sipped. Wonderful nose with spiced and fruits all blended in and little to no alcohol hit. On the tongue you get the fruit first with almost a bourbon taste in the middle with a great spice finish. Limited or no burn this is a great rum that will never see a mixer at my bar.

Thanks to my wife, a great Christmas present I am just now opening and will keep for special occasions.

Posted 3 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Phenomenal rum tasting with Falcon91Wolvrn03 continued with a super rare Zafra 30y. Beautiful bottle and label design. Dark golden color. Cognac aging to the nose, mild Whisky flavors to your palate. No burn at all. Very well done indeed.

Posted 5 months ago by Alex from United States with 4 ratings

I generally add a drop or two of water to this rum for sipping. As discussed below, this rum has very little burn. Sipping this rum with zero water added would be no issue. It's really just a matter of preference here.

Medium brown, rich in color. Is certainly not as dark as it gets.

This rum has almost zero nose burn. You can stick your nose right up into the rum, and you will get almost no burn. The benefit of this is that you can fully appreciate the complexity of smell of this rum. The initial notes you get are the creaminess of caramel, vanilla, and sugar cake. You also get notes of wood - the barrel seems to come out in the nose experience. A bit of a smell of red wine. This is perhaps the best smelling rum I’ve had. Very pleasant.

Again, very little burn with this rum. You will get a slight tingle of the tongue, but it is noticeably less than with other sipping rums. The initial taste is a sweet caramel and honey that seems to coat your tongue. This coating gave the feeling that the rum was thick and cream like. The caramel is sharp at first, then smooths out into a well balanced tasting experience. The caramel is not overpowering, however; you can certainly taste the complexities of this rum. Some of the background flavors include oak, maple candy, cherry, cake, and dried fruits. The tastes of oak and barrel really linger on this rum in a more intense way than some other rums. The bourbon casks really come out here. Impressively, the length of the linger on the tongue is long, and the flavor remains intense for some time. After sipping, you taste and feel the flavors shift and evolve over time as the coating remains on your tongue. The only thing keeping this rum from being a 10/10 is, in my opinion, the short linger on the tongue. The flavors do not intensely remain on the tongue for a long period. In my opinion, the tastes die fairly quickly. Other top rums tend to coat the mouth for a longer period.

Overall, this is a great rum. The rum is top notch in terms of intensity, complexity, and overall experience. In my opinion, this rum is a unique experience. The low burn sets this rum apart, and gives a much different nose and mouth feel compared to other similarly priced rums that I've tried.

Posted 7 months ago by DebiQue from Slovakia with 32 ratings

It is an expensive Rum, but very good for sure, I really enjoyed. Very smooth, perfect taste. One of the sweeter Rums.

Posted 7 months ago by Chavelo from Greece with 11 ratings

Good quality but a little over priced. Nice presentation.

Posted 7 months ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 133 ratings

De notas dulces en nariz y en boca mucha canela y vainilla de color matizado este ron en una expresión mas compleja pero no lo venden en panamá siendo embotellado para mercados internacionales. Que lástima

Posted 10 months ago by cowboykidd from United States with 5 ratings

I really enjoyed this rum. It clings to the glass as you swirl it. It is sweet without being syrupy, spicy without too much bite. It has a nice smooth flavor.

Posted 11 months ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Deep mahogany color. Old oak over dark fruit followed by dark caramel and vanilla. Echoes of sherry and bourbon. Long balanced finish. Bottle number 1739. I wish I had 100 more. The master 21 is also good especially at the price point.

Posted 11 months ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

I have had probably more rum than one should have and this is the best that I’ve had. The Zafra 21 might be the best value rum around but this is truly special. It’s everything that an aged rum should be. The sweetness level is perfect, it has an abundance of flavors and very little burn. I can only find one more bottle online and unfortunately I’m going to buy it