Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year rum

Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year

Panama | Aged

9.3/10(59 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
6
22
28

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

59 Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

Trully amazing rum, great aftertaste, great flavor, great finish and persistance.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by mprohr from United States with 2 ratings

This is a delicious sipper. Very complex but not "funky". The right amount of oak and smooth as silk. You pay for perfection, but it was worth it.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Auriuman78 from United States with 15 ratings

Nice color and smell is very rich. Sugary sweet caramel and vanilla. Flavor has a lot of complexity, I'm not experienced enough to hit it all but definitely a caramel sweet molasses with vanilla and spice. If it wasn't 90 a bottle and rare limited at that, I'd drink it all the time.

Alas, I'm very slowly working my way through this one. I believe in enjoying good things. Sure, I could shelf this for a long time and be happy on cheaper stuff, and in between I sure do, but I definitely am enjoying this limited treat. Certainly should be enjoyed with a good friend that can appreciate a good complex treat like this one.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

This is one of the finest rums I have sipped. Wonderful nose with spiced and fruits all blended in and little to no alcohol hit. On the tongue you get the fruit first with almost a bourbon taste in the middle with a great spice finish. Limited or no burn this is a great rum that will never see a mixer at my bar.

Thanks to my wife, a great Christmas present I am just now opening and will keep for special occasions.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2697 ratings

Phenomenal rum tasting with Falcon91Wolvrn03 continued with a super rare Zafra 30y. Beautiful bottle and label design. Dark golden color. Cognac aging to the nose, mild Whisky flavors to your palate. No burn at all. Very well done indeed.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Alex from United States with 4 ratings

I generally add a drop or two of water to this rum for sipping. As discussed below, this rum has very little burn. Sipping this rum with zero water added would be no issue. It's really just a matter of preference here.

Medium brown, rich in color. Is certainly not as dark as it gets.

This rum has almost zero nose burn. You can stick your nose right up into the rum, and you will get almost no burn. The benefit of this is that you can fully appreciate the complexity of smell of this rum. The initial notes you get are the creaminess of caramel, vanilla, and sugar cake. You also get notes of wood - the barrel seems to come out in the nose experience. A bit of a smell of red wine. This is perhaps the best smelling rum I’ve had. Very pleasant.

Again, very little burn with this rum. You will get a slight tingle of the tongue, but it is noticeably less than with other sipping rums. The initial taste is a sweet caramel and honey that seems to coat your tongue. This coating gave the feeling that the rum was thick and cream like. The caramel is sharp at first, then smooths out into a well balanced tasting experience. The caramel is not overpowering, however; you can certainly taste the complexities of this rum. Some of the background flavors include oak, maple candy, cherry, cake, and dried fruits. The tastes of oak and barrel really linger on this rum in a more intense way than some other rums. The bourbon casks really come out here. Impressively, the length of the linger on the tongue is long, and the flavor remains intense for some time. After sipping, you taste and feel the flavors shift and evolve over time as the coating remains on your tongue. The only thing keeping this rum from being a 10/10 is, in my opinion, the short linger on the tongue. The flavors do not intensely remain on the tongue for a long period. In my opinion, the tastes die fairly quickly. Other top rums tend to coat the mouth for a longer period.

Overall, this is a great rum. The rum is top notch in terms of intensity, complexity, and overall experience. In my opinion, this rum is a unique experience. The low burn sets this rum apart, and gives a much different nose and mouth feel compared to other similarly priced rums that I've tried.

Small img 20201113 120852365

Posted over 1 year ago by DebiQue from Slovakia with 46 ratings

It is an expensive Rum, but very good for sure, I really enjoyed. Very smooth, perfect taste. One of the sweeter Rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Chavelo from Greece with 23 ratings

Good quality but a little over priced. Nice presentation.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 132 ratings

De notas dulces en nariz y en boca mucha canela y vainilla de color matizado este ron en una expresión mas compleja pero no lo venden en panamá siendo embotellado para mercados internacionales. Que lástima

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by cowboykidd from United States with 9 ratings

I really enjoyed this rum. It clings to the glass as you swirl it. It is sweet without being syrupy, spicy without too much bite. It has a nice smooth flavor.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 49 ratings

Deep mahogany color. Old oak over dark fruit followed by dark caramel and vanilla. Echoes of sherry and bourbon. Long balanced finish. Bottle number 1739. I wish I had 100 more. The master 21 is also good especially at the price point.