Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year rum

Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year

Panama | Aged

9.4/10 (52 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
19
27

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


52 Zafra Master Reserve 30-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Trully amazing rum, great aftertaste, great flavor, great finish and persistance.

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by Mujuru from United States with 53 ratings

I have bottle 2088 out of 6720. Here are my impressions:

Nose: Matured Oak, Fine Tobacco, Maple Syrup, Baked Apples
Palate: Matured Oak, Smokiness, Maple Syrup, Fine Tobacco, Tangerine
Aftertaste: Smoky Caramel, Oak

This is excellent - a fantastic rum -but the 21 year is actually more to my liking at about 1/4 the price of this rum. Perhaps this rum will grow further on me but right now it is just too expensive to be a full 10 in relation to the product, even if it is mostly excellent.

On the nose you get a wonderful deep and pungent combination of deep oak, tobacco, maple syrup, and something like baked apples. The oak comes through very strong but in a very matured way. Once you take a sip you get a lovely combination of that oak with a smokiness to it along with a hint of maple syrup and lighter notes of fine cigar tobacco and tangerine. It really is quite a pleasant combination. The aftertaste is drier with a slight burn with the smokiness and a caramelized oaky flavor lingering in the mouth. The aftertaste is not as impressive or long lasting as I would have expected, but it is still quite excellent. I think overall I am very slightly disappointed with the final product experience in relation to the price. It is a fantastic rum for sure, but I am not sure it is worth what I paid for it. If price is truly no object to you, then this is wonderful rum and a real treat...and maybe my experience with it will get better as I come back to it. That said right now Zafra 21 Year is a slightly more complex and enjoyable rum at 1/4 the price of its 30 year old brother. As I sip more on this one I will reflect further and this review may change but here is my initial scoring.

Nose: 10
Palate: 10
Aftertaste: 8
Smoothness: 10
Versatility: 10
Price: 6

Overall: 9

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 1 month ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 210 ratings

Right from the first taste you know this rum is from Don Pancho Las Cabras distillery. Very reminiscent on Dan Pancho 21 I rated from Sansibar but even smoother. Very dark mahogany color smooth rich sweet with great in lingering flavors. Definitely in my top 10. I wonder if it’s any different than Don Pancho 30, much more reasonable if you can find it.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 107 ratings

Best cigar rum in the World they say. What a shame i didn’t had a cigar!! When that is said, I can understand how these two would match perfectly together. I whish it was shared as cask strength and not only 40 ABV. No doubt a really good rum in overall. Great nose, powerfull taste with a bit spicy aftertaste. Well done!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 338 ratings

Aroma is nice smooth with sugar and wood tones. Taste is perfectly ballanced, smooth and complex. Sweet but not too much with caramel on palate. Aftertaste is long, going from sweeter to drier wooden tones. Clear 10 points - if you have chance, you should taste it.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Robert eisen from United States with 12 ratings

Delicious rum. More finesse then my standby diplomatico reserve just a bit pricy. Great with Habano cigar.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

Yes it is expensive and limited but if you can afford a bottle and find one I don't think you will regret getting one. I really like the standard Zafra bottling but this one is even better. This is a slow sipper for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Alban from France with 1 rating

Malgré le prix assez cher 250 euros la bouteille je ne suis vraiment pas déçu d'avoir craquer dessus je le conseille vivement !!!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Matt Roffe from Australia with 1 rating

This is a sweet & decadent rum that is well worth the money. The finish is smooth and long lasting.

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by LiamHM (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

It’s a beautiful, smooth rum. However A 21 year El Dorado is nearly as good at a better price.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

Jemná chuť, bezvadná barva, opravdu příjemné a stojí za to