Posting your rating...
Fortress Gold rum

Fortress Gold

Canada | Dark

6.9/10 (17 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
5
4
2

Rate Fortress Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


17 Fortress Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

Great rum! Nice amber colour with a great bouquet. Initial sip was a bit strong but let the bottle breath several minutes and it has mellowed. Nice oakey flavour and hint of molasses and caramel. It originates in Cape Breton. Hard to find because it is so new but worthy purchase.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Admiral Tyler from Canada with 5 ratings

Tried this at the recommendation of the liquor store owner. Smaller distillery but I qanted to give it a try. Very nice smell and on tasting a hint of vanilla and some sweetness. Not overpowering but just a nice smooth slightly sweet rum. Well worth picking it up.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

Fortress Rum

Received this bottle of Fortress Rum as a birthday gift from my daughter from Nova Scotia. To my knowledge the rum originates from Jamaica but is bottled in Nova Scotia and the Fortress on the label is that of the “Louisbourg Fortress” in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. I must say that the bottle presentation and label are “First Class” are very appealing.

My first impression from the nose was disappointing in that I did not detect much other than a faint smell of molasses. My first sip was also reminded me that this rum is very young and hasn’t had the opportunity to age for any length of time yet it is much better than many young rums I have sampled. The more I sipped on this rum, the more I enjoyed the experience. Fortress Rum is by no means on par with many aged rums that I keep on hand but nevertheless is very enjoyable.

I would rate the rum itself a 7 BUT must admit the presentation warrants an extra point, therefore an 8 it is. Well Done. 👍

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Josh Osborne from Canada with 4 ratings

Once uncorked, my first reaction was to the pleasing aroma of oak and apple. The taste is remarkable, strong at first like the other two reviewers noted, but balanced and flavourful once it breathes. Very impressed and proud to see such an excellent spirit come from the province next door.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Andrew Lantz from Canada with 10 ratings

Being from NS we haven't had a number of great local rums until now. Over the last 2-3 years there have been some great local rums being produced here at home that rival the big boys. Great taste, like the other rater said, rough on the initial sip, but once it breathes it's much better.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by Philip from Canada with 23 ratings

not bad but leaves me with the sensation of cognac instead of rum. It is rum, no doubt there but the finish is strange to me. Pleas try.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 33 ratings

The nose is quite nice, if somewhat simple - molasses, vanilla and I get a faint marzipan note. But on the palate I found it a tad rough, which admittedly, smoothed out with a few more sips. It’s a good rum in progress. Could be either a simple sipper or a nice mixer.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by cK from Canada with 63 ratings

My expectations were low as I haven't come across many Canadian sipping rums, but this has to be up there with the best of them. It's not as smooth as some of the high-end sippers, possibly as a result of the higher alcohol content, but it makes up for that with a very complex and enjoyable flavour.

It's an excellent choice if you're looking to buy Canadian.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Pollux from Canada with 138 ratings

Rhum qui a bon goût en dégustation. Il a une finale très alcoolisé mais il a bon goût en bouche.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 193 ratings

Sugar Estimated at 5 GPL. Had this at a friends house and I found it a bit harsh overall with flavours of Vanilla, Oak, and a hint of caramel apple. Not good for sipping if you like it neat. It's a young rum and needs to mellow out, and I suspect that this distillery may produce a smoother version in a few years. For now it's on the high side of a mixer.