Posting your rating...
Monymusk Gold rum

Rate Monymusk Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


8 Monymusk Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

92b6cd0d9a6848f27814658a06db5832.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by András Péter Balogh from Hungary with 41 ratings

A standard aged Jamaican rum. Nothing more and nothing less.

765d463d24808816e2ba832885f5695f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 387 ratings

This is a premium by any stretch of the imagination but it is a nice drop on the rocks . I imagine it mixes better but I prefer my funk on ice ... For the price it's a good Jamaican rum in the market

E5e3fcca2a52e2133736f492c3ec8492.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum has a nice dark amber / gold colour and when I pulled the cork for the first time I was enthralled with it's sweet and complex melon-like bouquet. This led to some high expectations which were quickly dashed when I actually tasted it. Sipping the rum straight was not a good idea - It had a strong alcohol taste - Period. It was ok when mixed with cola, although the rum was quickly lost in the soda. The rum had a Jamaican funky smell, but the flavour was not there to back it up.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 433 ratings

I'm not a big fan of most gold rums. This is no exception. It's not bad, but it's not great either.

Smells and tastes of oak, spice, molasses, and a hint of brine.

An ok gold rum, but nothing special to me.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2575 ratings

Monymusk Classic Gold has a nice and deep color, quite a strong alcohol smell to nose very similar to the cheaper Appleton's, and then you get the familiar Jamaican glue to your taste buds. Just awful. Struggles for a 4 score.

40107f31f99c8e7dc30b197416701624.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

The classic gold has a colour that lives up to its name. It's smells like regular rum, no spices, no other smell than what you expect. The taste is a bit stingy at first but the finish is oak. Light tasting all together. Its very good with ice and sprite on a hot summer afternoon.

Fa969755bbbd9b5a839d01b148e47644.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 135 ratings

The rum is presented in a stubby bottle with a cork top. The aroma is of a typical Jamaican pot still rum, a rich bouquet with notes of spice and fruit. The palate is rather delicate, making it quite unusual for a Jamaican rum. The initial taste is spicy on the front palate, developing into tropical fruit on the mid-palate with a smooth long dry finish. A truly unusual but impressive rum perfectly suited for cocktails and sipping.

5d1f70d0f079d64f0fa81db224502597.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Russell from United States with 2 ratings

A standard aged Jamaican rum similar in many ways to the aged Appleton rums. Flavors of allspice, vanilla and a bit of a very slight afterburn.