Posting your rating...
Marauda Steelpan rum

Marauda Steelpan

Caribbean | Gold

6.1/10(14 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
2
2
1
1

Rate Marauda Steelpan

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

14 Marauda Steelpan ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small profile 1

Posted 3 months ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United States with 111 ratings

Sweet grassy caramel nose. I wouldn’t call the taste overly complex, but a nice balanced spice and funny how it seems to start sweet and then quickly the finish turns dry. Some notes of leather and nuts, rubbery. I would drink alone often, but actually tastes great with Coke. That and the sweet to dry curveball moves this one up from 6 to 7. Maybe an 8 for whisky drinkers.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 72 ratings

Pretty straight forward with a little burn. Was hoping for some sweeter and mire complex flavours.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 181 ratings

A 5.5 on my scale. Pleasant enough both straight and mixed. Was hoping for a bit more interesting flavors when I saw the bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Potomaccadio from United States with 6 ratings

Before my first sip, I consider the fact that this Rum is a unigue blend of 3 Rum, Trinidad, Guyana Demerara and Jamaica heavy Pot still Rum each aged for 3 years in Bourbon barrels and all baring use of additives and colorings. No sugar after distilling is a good thing I look forward to in Rums. I'm not the greatest fan of aging Rum in Bourbon barrels. I don't want my Rum to taste like Bourbon which this does. However it's not bad, and for the price, at just over 20 in Maryland, I'll keep buying it. Bottle makes a great sconce for deck lighting too!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Swisslet from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

Now, when I’m drinking whisky, I can’t get enough peaty, smoky malts of the kind you might find in an Islay whisky. In a rum, not so much.... but that’s what you have here. There’s a rum-y aftertaste, but I get predominantly whisky. It’s not bad, but for me not a sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 83 ratings

Tiene un color muy claro, llamativamente amarillo. En nariz debo decir que personalmente no distingo nada, un aroma demasiado suave. En boca muy alcohólico, hasta el estómago. Algo ahumado. Será muy alcohólico pero en cuestión sabores muy pero muy rebajado, casi no se distingue nada. Definitivamente no me gustó. Quizás funcione con Coca Cola.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Harry Molema from South Africa with 26 ratings

Smooth and easy drinking. Don’t mistake the copper steel pan taste as glue. May be over bearing.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

It's got flavor and funk and body. It's not the most fantastic sipper, but it is dry, and it may please some whisky lovers. It's pretty fantastic for a flavorful cocktail base. Consider that the elements are similar in sourcing to the old British Royal Navy Rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2698 ratings

Marauda Steelpan is nasty! Awful rubbery smell and taste. Run away from this rum!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a 3cl sample of this from Master of Malt for £5.06 after reading about it in an article from the World Rum Festival 2018 with it winning best rum and some other awards. A blend of a Trinadadian column still, a Guyanese Demerara column still and a Jamaican Pot still.

The liquid is a fresh, golden yellow. The nose is tropical with mango and pineapple, and touches of coconut. Its quite smooth with a touch of firiness, more of those exotic fruits come through finishing on the Jamaican I believe with more pineapple.