Posting your rating...
Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize rum

Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize

Caribbean | Aged

7.2/10 (93 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
2
11
35
31
9
2

Rate Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


93 Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Myrthe from Netherlands with 31 ratings

A lovely rum with woody notes and a bit of a sting. The green apple taste makes this rum truly unique and enjoyable!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by J. E. Clapham from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

This is a very enjoyable sipping rum. The flavour has complexity, though I must agree with other reviewers: the bourbon casks haven't left much elbow room for the subtler, tropical rum flavours. In fact, I'm planning to get some of my Jack Daniels-drinking friends to taste this stuff blind, tell them it's Tennessee whiskey, and see whether they smell a rat. Having said that, the bottle doesn't seem to be lasting all that long, which always seems to happen with Plantation rums in my cabinet...

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2662 ratings

Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize offers a lot of exciting flavors and very clear but sweet flavors like raisins, hardly any burn at the end, but a very long and lingering sweet taste in your mouth. I think this Plantation rum would have been spectacular if it would have been aged a few more years. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize is still a very long distance away from the amazing Barbados XO 20th Anniversary rum, but comes as a good second best Plantation rum in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 307 ratings

Směs rumů, které zrají nejdříve ve své domovině a pak dozrávají v sudech po koňaku ve Francii.
Alkohol: 42 %
Původ: Guatemala a Belize
Aroma: Med, rumové pralinky, staré dřevo, trocha laku. Sladší kořenitost, taky něco málo kokosu, vanilka. Taková klasická rumová vůně. (86 b)
Chuť: V prvním dojmu mě překvapil výraznou sladkostí. Dřevo, čokoláda, med, sladké koření, z něj je tu vanilka nejvíc patrná. (90 b)
Body: 88
Shrnutí: Ochutnal jsem díky českolipskému podniku Kavárna/bar Kocour, kde mají velmi pěknou nabídku rumů. Veskrze příjemná záležitost, hlavně v chuti mě oslovil a určitě časem pořídím celou lahev.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

This is the new version of the Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala available since 2015. Matured in casks for 3 years in Guatemala, and finished in ex-cognac caks in France. Vanilla is very present with almond, marzipan and honey. Well balanced with cocoa, woody vanilla notes. Elegant finish.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by Mr Coone from Belgium with 7 ratings

Opened the bottle 15-20 min before tasting

Light intense gold-copper yellow with a big water edge
Medium intense, but very complex in the nose. Aroma's of vanilla, baking dough, bourbon, orange peel, sherry oloroso and some brown sugar.

A soft start on the palate, immediately followed by a burning hint of the alcohol.
Alcohol softens up after a while and the rum became more accessible.
Aroma's of brown sugar, smoke, vanilla, slight banana hint and bourbon.
Long finish.

The aging in bourbon casks is noticeable in it's flavours, but is not too dominant.
This is a very good and nicely balanced rum.
score: 84/100

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by tobiasz from Poland with 16 ratings

Smooth, full bodied with some almonds and tropical fruits. Awesome balance.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Hodně ovocný, lehký, hezky zabalený a překvapivě levný rum.
Osobně mi přijde výrazně zajímavější, než třeba rovněž guatemalská Zacapa (do 23y včetně - dražší jsem nezkoušel), ale to jistě může být čistě věc vkusu.
Podobně jako Relicario jsem i tuhle flašku lehounce nadhodnotil s ohledem na poměr cena (momentálně cca 600 Kč) / výkon + adjustáž. Vynikající a originální dárek - v hezké krabičce, chutově nepochybně vcelku obecně přijatelný a přitom neběžný (= v Tescu to nemají).
Avšak i zcela bez ohledu na cenu má tenhle rum pro mě zdaleka nejlépe vybalancovanou chuť vanilky ze všech vanilkových rumů, jaké jsem kdy pil. V kombinaci s příjemně nahořklým koženým pytlem plným tropických dobrot skrývá spoustu postupně se rozvíjejících a překvapivých tónů, z nichž ani na okamžik nevykoukne nějaká nepříjemná pachuť (jaká na mě kouká třeba z Presidente úplně furt).
Prostě ideální společník na celý večer...
A v každém případě experimentujete-li s produkty firmy Plantation, tenhle je prostě povinnost!

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by Jagged from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Tákúto vôňu si vačšinou predstavým keď sa spomenie rum. Vanilka, drevo, karamel, čokoláda, med, nejaké ovocie. Chuť na prvý dojem sladšia, ale jemne poštípe a zahreje. Veľmi príjemný rum, v priatelnej cene a veľmi peknej krabičke. Vhodný na popíjanie a určite poteší aj ako darček.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by BingChen from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 19 ratings

At first you get some sherry notes but when you let it stay on your tongue the classic rum flavors come out along with soft oak aromas. I like the tangy feeling in the tongue... this is almost like a more refined version of Havana Club 7yrs except it’s does have a sweet finish (not sticky)... now one of my favorite (and quite affordable) rums.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by GaryGary from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

This doesnt do much for me, its ok , Ive not had Havana Cub Especial for a while but I think its similar ?

I prefer the cheaper basic plantation double aged dark because of the Jamaican banana flavoured funk.
I felt the same about the barbados 5 year too.