Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 21-Year rum

Appleton Estate 21-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Distilled using small-batch copper pot stills uniquely designed for Appleton Estate, this rum is a blend of several rums aged 21 years in American oak barrels. Once blended, the rum is re-casked for two years to marry the flavors.

Appleton Estate 21-year rum is produced in Jamaica on one of the country’s oldest and most renowned sugar estates. Each bottle is individually numbered and comes with a signed aging certificate by master blender Joy Spence.

8.2/10
269 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
14
36
83
99
32

Rate Appleton Estate 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

269 Appleton Estate 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Cel mai bun Appleton dintre cele băute până acum. Vechimea își spune cuvântul foarte clar în acest rom deosebit.

Ffffff

Posted 7 days ago by Kevinpitts from United States with 3 ratings

Decent, but too much of an alcohol flavor and not enough other notes to rate higher.

Ffffff

Posted 21 days ago by Ajt95 from United States with 15 ratings

This rum is oh so oaky and smooth reminds. Reminds me almost of a scotch. Absolutely recommend!!

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 2 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 150 ratings

Really good balance between sweet and dry. Nose i sense dried fruit, coconut and matured banana. Deep taste of fruit, spices (pepper) and oak. Classic Appleton and lots of Jamaica feel. Good glass !!

Small img 1323

Posted 3 months ago by Simson from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

I have quite a little experience with Jamaican rums and the Appleton brand is not one of those typical "funky" products. I am probably not ready to acknowledge the various Hampdenes, Long Pond, etc. yet. So how does it taste?

This is rum of a higher price category, where it has been the youngest ingredient for 21 years, ie no solera! It was stored in small American oak barrels. The alcohol strength is 43%. Rum should not be sweetened or colored.
The bottle looks really luxurious. My bottle number is 16160 and it was bottled in 2017. It has a large wooden cap with a real cork. Inside the tube is still a seal of authenticity of the rum with basic information about the product.

Color: Honey to copper
Smell: In a word, amazing! Probably one of the best I've had the opportunity to test so far. I smelled overripe fruits (bananas, a little orange), cocoa, honey, baked nuts, dry berries (blackberries), lacquered wood, a wooden barrel from a bourbon.
Taste: Drier and slightly pungent at first, although I let the rum stand in the glass for about 10 minutes. After drinking I could smell vanilla, cocoa, overripe fruit (bananas and oranges), oak wood from a spirit barrel, slightly bourbon. After another sip, the taste became very soft and slightly sweeter.
Aftertaste: Long, drier, although slightly sweet and first of all very fine.

Conclusion: The more you taste it, the finer and more tasteful the rum is. Although I still like sweeter (not oversweetened) rums, I am turning to those delicate and drier types. Especially the smell really appealed to me and I definitely recommend tasting of this rum at least.

Overall rating: 9.5 points from 10

Small 3136f450 fba0 49d6 b236 49db4cd74120

Posted 3 months ago by RumGuy1 from United States with 42 ratings

Appleton 21 year is rum boogie pirates would probably drink. Tastes of dried fruits, ginger, molasses, tobacco, apples, and a little jamaican funk. If i could, Id fill my closet with it.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 325 ratings

I bought this bottle for Christmas. Bottled in 2018, bottle no. 563.
The rum was matured in ex-bourbon barrels. It is a blend of several barrels, each barrel is at least 21 years old. Unfortunately only in 43% strength.

Smell: This rum needs time in the glass, after that it is quite balanced and pleasant on the nose. It combines sweet and heavy flavors. First I notice a mix of wooden barrel aromas and dried fruits with a nice caramel sweetness. At first it develops sweeter and then woody. There are some typical Demerara fruits with a viscous impression.
After that I smell wood polish, orange zest and some leather notes. Some earthy aromas can be found deeper in the glass.
This is a beautiful and complex nose, which at the same time seem dry from the amount of wood. It has also some similarities with the Hearts Collection.

Taste: The taste is heavy and mild at the same time. I get tobacco first, dried fruits like raisins and some caramel sweetness. The tannins develops stronger and stronger, they increase the bitterness. Then I perceive oak with vanilla, which is typical for bourbon cask aging and orange peel with some grape seeds.
The orange zest develop very dominantly and take over the taste, the mouth becomes dry. You can still easily perceive leather notes. The finish is spicy with lots of wood notes, some wood polish, dried fruits, tannins and orange zest.

Aftertaste: dried fruits, wood, orange zest

Conclusion: It is a complex rum that still works well despite being diluted. It is also well suited for beginners to get to know an old, matured rum without being overwhelmed immediately.
This rum has typical aromas of a long tropical aging. Because of this balance and complexity, I would give it 90 points.
I would give more points if it were in barrel strength.

Overall rating: 90 points

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 3/5
Spice: 2.5 / 5
Complexity: 4/5
PL (75 €): 5/5

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by George from Canada with 31 ratings

By far the best rum I have had and great value for the dollar. Smooth, savoury, oaky, nice after finish and a distinctive note of its fine age.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Jason from United States with 77 ratings

I’ve been wanting to have this one and finally got the chance. Beautiful amber color, wonderfully light and fruity nose, fantastic blend of fruit/spice/sweetness. This is a great sipper, hands down. Looking forward to getting my first bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by thechosen21 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

Perfectly balanced and not too sweet like cheaper quality rum, you'd hope the bottle never ends

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 150 ratings

Zatiaľ najlepší Appleton aký som pil. Ani by som nepovedal,že je to typická estetická Jamajka. Je tam uhladený,vyvážený ,že sa pije skutočne ľahko. Jeden z top rumov v cenovke okolo 50-60eur.