Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 21-Year rum

Appleton Estate 21-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Distilled using small-batch copper pot stills uniquely designed for Appleton Estate, this rum is a blend of several rums aged 21 years in American oak barrels. Once blended, the rum is re-casked for two years to marry the flavors.

Appleton Estate 21-year rum is produced in Jamaica on one of the country’s oldest and most renowned sugar estates. Each bottle is individually numbered and comes with a signed aging certificate by master blender Joy Spence.

8.3/10
284 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
14
37
85
106
35

Rate Appleton Estate 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

284 Appleton Estate 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by netswitch from Belgium with 12 ratings

I was disapointed...
I had a lot of expectation of this 21 years old rhum and it fell some how short even taugh it is a good one, you migh expect more from a 21 year old beverage.

I have tasted the 12 years since then and I would prefer it to this one. The price tag is probably playing a role in the deception.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Ryan Rosebush from United States with 36 ratings

As the title states, I found this to be surprisingly enjoyable. Warm, sweet aroma, full-flavored & a nice, smooth finish. I really can’t complain much here other than to question if it’s really worth the price.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Acutulus from United States with 12 ratings

I took my five boys to our squash club and I told “Harry” to serve us the best rum he had. The nose is amazing, the warm pallet is “just right”, alcohol levels are perfect. It was a unanimous 6 vote “top of the heap”. Pricy, but worthy of special events. Buy, but don’t have it on display so you can reserve it for close friends & family.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by jwbono from United States with 11 ratings

I want to like this rum because it’s hard to find and expensive but it finishes with that same plastic taste of mass produced liquor. The oak flavor and mellow heat are good but I can’t get around the aftertaste. I couldn’t recommend spending the money on it, but if someone offers you a sample try it for yourself.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

I had a 2 ounce pour of this rum at Bahama Breeze - if you ever go, their price of $11 is just above cost (this is in NC).

Honestly I found the wood in this to be a little strong, and I actually prefer the 12 yr which is better balanced. But this is definitely one you want to try if you have the opportunity. The empty glass smelled so wonderful that I wouldn't let our waitress take it away until we were done with dinner.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 3 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 238 ratings

This is the best rum I have tasted from Jamaica so far. If it wasn’t for Appleton Joy, which I have but haven’t tasted yet, I should have given it a 10.
The aroma is full of dried fruit. In the mouth it’s quite dry but also full of fruity sweetness, species.
As a summary it’s complex, deep taste and a fantastic balance between sweetness and dryness.
Picture: My Appleton shelf

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

Beautiful color, nose is oaky, caramel, citrus.
Taste is aged oak, nutty, with a dry finish.
Oak taste lingers. This is my first Appleton. Look forward to drinking more of this rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 192 ratings

Well this is an excellent rum. No sweetie it is not sweet so Men Only Please. Great up front flavor. Dried fruits, light hint of Carmel and leather. Very smooth and goes down real nice. Excellent finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Lots to enjoy here - oak and toffee primarly - plus some mild scent of vanilla. Very smooth and dry. Not sure it's worth the price, however. Better-tasting rums abound at half the cost.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Jonathan from Puerto Rico with 13 ratings

The Appleton 21 is quite simply the best rum I've had. I prefer it over whichever Zacapa or other premium rum. It is exceptionally smooth and the taste is fantastic.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 482 ratings

This rum smells great, though it is a bit dry and strong. It's better than the low end Appletons as it has a light sweetness and it's smoother, but I actually prefer the Appleton 12 and especially the 12 Rare Blend which are just a tad sweeter, whereas this is a bit more oaky. Smell and taste includes vanilla, almond, cocoa, molasses, nutmeg, and oak. I bought a 2nd bottle after I emptied the first, and I still prefer the 12 ever so sligthly.