Posting your rating...
El Dorado Dark rum

Rate El Dorado Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


33 El Dorado Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by True2Rum from United States with 21 ratings

I use this in part in every rum based mixed drink I make (Mai Tais, Zombies, rum swizzles, Gun Club punch, Navy Grog, Siboney, Jet Pilot). It is reasonably priced and provides the Guyana smoke essence. This rum adds a unique taste in all mixed rum tiki cocktails. It is a staple. I use it daily in mixed tiki cocktails!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Remy from Netherlands with 42 ratings

I was pleasantly surprised with this 2yo. Not that refined, raisin and caramel taste. I like it with coke.
Paid €8.70 for 70cl, I think this is the best tasting cheap rum i have tried so far.
Because of the low price I would give a 9/10 but overall...
6.5/10

Posted about 1 month ago by Srod from Canada with 10 ratings

Ne jamais jugé un livre a ça couverture
Ce dicton est une belle métaphore pour se rum qui a l'air un peu banal a première vue
Mais en vrais c'est un très bon demerara d'un bon brun assez foncé
Aux nez sucre brun légère vanille
Sa goûte bon ni top sucré ni trop épicé un peu boisé ça se boit bien et ça se mix bien avec tout il est très bien pour faire des rum arrangé

Posted 2 months ago by vladikr from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

What to say for this rhum?
just cheap El doreedoo ;)))
but drinkable...

Posted 8 months ago by Fred from Canada with 11 ratings

Un bon rum de semaine qui n’est pas mauvais du tout. Un petit dessert de fin de soirée.

Posted 11 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of El Dorado Original Dark 3y Rum on a sunny Saturday. Very well priced. Just okay bottle and label design. Dark mahogany color. Strong oak, raisins and caramel to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong and dry burn at the end. Definitely much better when mixed with your favorite soda.

Posted about 1 year ago by Alainsdone from Canada with 5 ratings

Bought 4 different rums on way home and this one was suggested to make change for a mixing rum. Well...no great. Very much like bacardi gold. Will not purchase again.

Posted about 1 year ago by SickBoy82 from United States with 23 ratings

Found a single remaining bottle of this in a strip mall liquor store for less than $20. A great everyday mixing rum, but not easily found.

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

Its a light (probably mostly column-still) rum. Definitely has that demerara style of darker, smokey molasses and brown sugar (evaporated caramel when left in the glass). Not as sweet as many dark rums (which I really like). Its well balanced, and really not bad for the $14 I paid. Can be surprisingly hard to find for such a cheap one...

Posted about 2 years ago by Nick from Canada with 22 ratings

Taste really good for the price paid. Notes of molasses and brown sugar. Low price and largely available.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Had previously purchased an El Dorado 8 yr and somewhat enjoyed the taste but while it was not nearly as sweet as the 12 or 15, I still found it too sweet for my palate. I purchased an El Dorado Dark (2 yr) and rather enjoyed the taste as it is much drier than the other ED offerings. I only drink my rum neat and never thought I would enjoy ED Dark but it is different than most rums I keep on hand and a nice and diversion from my drier rums. Pleasantly surprised 👍

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

A bit too weak at 37.5% and too sweet for me. Guess for the price it's ok, but wouldn't buy it myself.

Posted about 3 years ago by Philippe from Canada with 3 ratings

Un ami est arrivé avec cette bouteille un soir. Je suis resté assez surpris par le goût et la texture malgré le prix (13$). Personnellement, je l'ai essayer avec du coke. Texture de melasse avec un peu de caramel. À essayer si vous ne voulez pas trop dépenser!

Posted over 3 years ago by Robert Valois from Canada with 1 rating

I like brown alcools since 40 years but not an off to invest too much. I tried almost all the brandys available in my province of Quebec in Canada and many affordables rhums. I buy 1 bottle each 2-3 weeks and most of the time I buy this one I tried many times other knowned affordable but less cheap brands in rhum and even if I appreciate it I always return to the eldorado dark buying often one even if I have an other one different to finish. Unlike others people that rated it for me it is a sipper I like its rough powerful aroma that confirms you that you have something in mouth. I am in Dominican Republica for winter months now and here the rhums are fine and very cheap but be sure that when I will be back to the north I will get an El Dorado soon even if I will have brung the best Dominicans rhums. An other excellent dark alcool that I like not costly is the St-Remy XO brandy. Cheers everybody !!!

Posted over 3 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 56 ratings

This is my favorite rum for mixing with cola. It's sweet and really adds a raisins flavor to the cola. Tried it as a sipper, but quickly added cola again. The price is very good too. So, not thinking about it as a sipper but only as a mixer, it's an 8/10.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

I would not buy this. If you like the taste of molasses then yore love this. Not complex at all.

Posted about 4 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 130 ratings

Pleasant aroma, mild alcohol. The aftertaste is not that I liked. Honest 5-6 points, would not be surprised if someone appreciate above.

Posted about 4 years ago by Vince from Canada with 57 ratings

À venir prochainement..............................

Posted about 4 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Er ist genau das was schon im Titel steht. Gut für Cuba Libre und Cocktails, nicht mehr aber auch nicht weniger, preislich echt ok.

Posted about 4 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

just for the coke. simple, not harsh. you can drink it neat, if you want. no sharpness of alcohol.

Posted over 4 years ago by LucMichaud from Canada with 20 ratings

Bon deal, bon gout de cassonade rôtie! Puissant mais final courte et douce.

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

commentaire a venir

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

As dark rums go, this one is a little light in color albeit a dark amber. Not a complaint just an observation. Some of the dark rums I enjoy are darker than this but not by much. I would say this is about the color of an over-steeped tea.

Got this from the local beverage store for just under $12 (before tax) and considering this is a blend of two year old rums the rum is distilled from fermented molasses it's a good bargain. It's not very smooth but the flavor is distinctly molasses. Bit of a burn but not too bad. Fades quickly on the tongue but stays in the throat a little longer. Not a sipping rum but a mixer and well worth it. I prefer it mixed with Coke Zero. One of my top two dark rums (the other being Cayman Reef Double Black).

Posted over 4 years ago by firsthuman from Germany with 25 ratings

A very young and light (thin) rum. Sweet smell of toffee and alcohol. Quite sweet taste of toffee and caramel together with harsh alcohol and some tangy fruit aromas. Short aftertaste. This is good in mixed drinks and makes not so much fun neat. It is however very inexpensive.