Posting your rating...
El Dorado Dark rum

El Dorado Dark

Guyana | Dark

5.9/10 (34 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
5
11
2
2

Rate El Dorado Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


34 El Dorado Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2659 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of El Dorado Original Dark 3y Rum on a sunny Saturday. Very well priced. Just okay bottle and label design. Dark mahogany color. Strong oak, raisins and caramel to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong and dry burn at the end. Definitely much better when mixed with your favorite soda.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 87 ratings

Its a light (probably mostly column-still) rum. Definitely has that demerara style of darker, smokey molasses and brown sugar (evaporated caramel when left in the glass). Not as sweet as many dark rums (which I really like). Its well balanced, and really not bad for the $14 I paid. Can be surprisingly hard to find for such a cheap one...

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Nick from Canada with 22 ratings

Taste really good for the price paid. Notes of molasses and brown sugar. Low price and largely available.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 164 ratings

Had previously purchased an El Dorado 8 yr and somewhat enjoyed the taste but while it was not nearly as sweet as the 12 or 15, I still found it too sweet for my palate. I purchased an El Dorado Dark (2 yr) and rather enjoyed the taste as it is much drier than the other ED offerings. I only drink my rum neat and never thought I would enjoy ED Dark but it is different than most rums I keep on hand and a nice and diversion from my drier rums. Pleasantly surprised 👍

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

A bit too weak at 37.5% and too sweet for me. Guess for the price it's ok, but wouldn't buy it myself.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Philippe from Canada with 3 ratings

Un ami est arrivé avec cette bouteille un soir. Je suis resté assez surpris par le goût et la texture malgré le prix (13$). Personnellement, je l'ai essayer avec du coke. Texture de melasse avec un peu de caramel. À essayer si vous ne voulez pas trop dépenser!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Robert Valois from Canada with 1 rating

I like brown alcools since 40 years but not an off to invest too much. I tried almost all the brandys available in my province of Quebec in Canada and many affordables rhums. I buy 1 bottle each 2-3 weeks and most of the time I buy this one I tried many times other knowned affordable but less cheap brands in rhum and even if I appreciate it I always return to the eldorado dark buying often one even if I have an other one different to finish. Unlike others people that rated it for me it is a sipper I like its rough powerful aroma that confirms you that you have something in mouth. I am in Dominican Republica for winter months now and here the rhums are fine and very cheap but be sure that when I will be back to the north I will get an El Dorado soon even if I will have brung the best Dominicans rhums. An other excellent dark alcool that I like not costly is the St-Remy XO brandy. Cheers everybody !!!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 59 ratings

This is my favorite rum for mixing with cola. It's sweet and really adds a raisins flavor to the cola. Tried it as a sipper, but quickly added cola again. The price is very good too. So, not thinking about it as a sipper but only as a mixer, it's an 8/10.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

I would not buy this. If you like the taste of molasses then yore love this. Not complex at all.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 148 ratings

Pleasant aroma, mild alcohol. The aftertaste is not that I liked. Honest 5-6 points, would not be surprised if someone appreciate above.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Vince from Canada with 57 ratings

À venir prochainement..............................