Posting your rating...
El Dorado Dark rum

Rate El Dorado Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


33 El Dorado Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Nick from Canada with 22 ratings

Taste really good for the price paid. Notes of molasses and brown sugar. Low price and largely available.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

You've had the El Dorado 5? 8? 12? 15? 21? Well, this is El Dorado 2. Yep, 2 years old, and pretty raw. There's some molasses and toffee, but the mouth feel is really thin and watery, and the alcohol is distracting. It's very inexpensive, as it should be. I drink it neat and not often, but I can imagine it doing okay in mixed drinks. For a few dollars more you can get ED 8 and live a happier life.

Posted over 4 years ago by IceBear from Germany with 22 ratings

Straight up this one simply tastes very empty and harsh, not that I really expected anything more for that price.

Posted over 4 years ago by Trevor from Canada with 3 ratings

Noticed this at a local store today and thought I'd give it a shot since it's the cheapest on the shelf and I enjoy all other El Dorado rums I've tasted.
Poured this up a few minutes ago and was immediatly treated to a rich toffee smell. Taste is sweet, toffee and rich like most dark rums but a little harsh on the throat.
Added a few ice cubes and a splash of cola and it's a pretty good drink.

Posted over 4 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

Flot skip som går igen på mange af deres flasker. Da jeg er en tosset samler måtte jeg også hade denne i samlingen og er en af dem som der vil blive drukket og mikset med cola

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tommy from Australia with 15 ratings

Delicious notes of banana - sweet and easy to drink. My go to mixing rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ben from Canada with 58 ratings

My every day mixing rum. Gose well with any recipe,anytime. El dorado is always a sure shot. I give it an extra point because of the price.

Posted about 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

This is one of the first rums I started paying attention to. I had a Cuba Libre in a restaurant and was told it was made from this. After tasting from the bottle, I knew it was not the rum used in that drink. This is much heavier and sweeter with the burnt sugar taste. It has always been my wife's favorite. I have come along way over the last five years since trying to find that particular rum that was in that very tasty Cuba Libre. I'm glad I started this journey. This is my first review of many in the coming days/weeks/months/years.

Posted about 5 years ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

Det finns toner och aromer av vanilj och kola, men det känns att den är kortvarigt lagrad. Funkar dock fint med Cola.

Posted over 7 years ago by James from Greece with 11 ratings

Dark Caramel colour, strong caramel smooth taste, good value-for-money.